Installing BCH Payment Channel on my Blog (and eStore) A Success!

11 89
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

One of my goals for 2021 is to set up an online store that accepts Bitcoin Cash as payment. It is not enough that I am just blogging about Bitcoin Cash as a peer-to-peer payment system but I know I have to do my part in spreading its functionality. Incorporating Bitcoin Cash as a payment channel for my digital goods is a good start.

The Idea

I have been writing for more than a decade now - mostly for newsletters and blogs. I even write manuscripts for preaching as well as discipleship materials. But perhaps my writing break came when I am given the chance to contribute to a youth devotional book "Kaya Ko Pa Bes! And Other Lies I Tell Myself" which was published by OMF Literature in 2019. 

With most of my manuscripts and articles taking space in my laptop storage, I thought "why not create an ebook out of it?" Before, I just give downloadable eBooks to increase my blog reach, but lately, I realized, "hey why not earn a little amount from what you're passionate about!

The Process

While I know how to write, I don't know how to sell, much more how to sell digital files. Moreover, I am not well-versed in any programming language so the easiest way for me to navigate what I need for my website are downloadable, easy-to-use plugins. 

I researched about possible payment platforms and I stumbled upon prompt.cash. Though it claims to accept instant Bitcoin Cash payments directly into a Bitcoin Cash wallet (non-custodial), it has no WooCommerce plugin yet for WordPress. So until they have fully developed the plugin, I have to check for other alternatives.

Which led me to GoUrl Bitcoin plugin. There were other plugins such as Bitcoin/Altcoin Payment Gateway and BitPay but I went with GoUrl Bitcoin plugin because it has better reviews and I think it offers the simplest payment navigation for the customer. 

After two days of customizing, testing, and making sure that the payment is working and pushing through, I am now ready to load up my online store. 

The Items

As of now, I have two eBooks available for sale:

  1. Magplano Kahit Walang Planner - I wrote this eBook on a New Year's Eve, would you believe that! The premise of the book is simple: even without a pricey planner or organizer, you can still make a plan and make it work. (Php50 approx $1).

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com
  1. Beyond Current Realities - I wrote this eBook as an encouragement for people who are losing hope and trying to make sense of life amid this pandemic. The goal is to look beyond the current realities to see the bigger picture. (Php50 approx $1). 

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com
  1. Bundled eBooks - I added an option where I bundled the two eBooks at a discounted price. (Php90)

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com

Note:

When you have chosen the item you wish to buy, you must: Proceed to Checkout >> Select Bitcoin/Altcoin as payment option >> Place Order >> Scan the QR Code for Payment >> Confirm payment by clicking the box that says "Click Here If you have already sent Bitcoin Cash"

Disclaimer:

The eBooks are written in Taglish and are seasoned with Christian themes and topics. It is only a few pages long so one can read it in one sitting. Manage your expectations. Also, I am planning to add more items shortly. 

The Store:

You can access my eStore at martsvalenzuela.com, hover your mouse at the upper left of the screen (if you're using desktop/laptop), and click on the STORE menu right after BLOG and before CONTACT.

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com

If you're using mobile, you can access the store by clicking the arrow above the blog header

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com

And clicking STORE between BLOG and CONTACT menus.

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com

The Purpose

My idea of selling eBooks on my blog site is two-fold:

First, as an additional income for my wedding goals. Since I am working on a fully-funded BCH nuptial, I need to be more creative with my ideas. So I'm putting my passion for writing into work. 

Second, as my way of spreading BCH awareness. While I included other payment channels such as GCash, GrabPay, Paypal, and Bank Transfer in payment options, I only used Bitcoin Cash for crypto payments. When my friends will ask me about Bitcoin Cash, I am more than glad to assist them.

Bonus: Send me some love!

I also included a Donate Bitcoin Cash on my blog's sidebar courtesy of PayButton. I happen to discover this while I was researching for a donate button and it really works! You can check their site out and make a QR code widget for your website.

If you happen to visit my website and you are generous enough to support my humble site, feel free to scan that QR code and send me some love. 

Screen capture from my blog, martsvalenzuela.com

My Other Ruminations on Bitcoin Cash:

Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people. 

10
$ 4.52
$ 4.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Glez
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Your conceptual ideas are good. Go ahead and achieve your goals. Your website looks dynamic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations, Sir! More success for you in learning how to sell!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Saw your link posted by @laurenceuuu and indeed you are brilliant! Sana all! Hmm you better have noise.cash to add up for your earnings :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! I do have noise.cash @Marts. Hanapin kita 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Got it! Thank you! 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

People need to see this! I'm amazed to be honest. It looks like I also want to become a blogger, build (or buy) my own website, then accept BCH as a payment and sell my e-books! I'm happy with this. Ask langpo kung ano yung news letter hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe thanks! Pwede ka na magstart kahit di ka muna gumastos ng for website, just go to WordPress.com or Blogger.com

Newsletter, parang mini-newspaper usually ng mga offices, organizations, etc. It contains news, updates, featured stories, etc. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately, writing is my weakness but doing my best to improve.

Ay akala ko pwede dun magpromote ng articles natin saan kaya pwede magpromote para madami makabasa ng articles natin? Gusto ko kasi may nagbabasa sa article ko😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kung for promotion, social media talaga and forum sites like PinoyExchange. Reddit din pwede :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Salamat po hehehe try ko dun😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago