You won't finish this article

62 86
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Most users don’t read to the end - Six in 10 users will view, like, and even comment on this article without reading.

Many users only have a passing engagement with posted articles - By glancing through article excerts/previews, instead of reading the full piece, many users overestimate their understanding of an issue. A little bit of knowledge can go straight to their head, and may not in a good way.

Image by memegenerator

The problem is that without reading articles, users are more susceptible to fake news and misinformation, and the comments rarely reflect in any way the actual contents of the article they discuss.

(If you’re still reading, thanks for sticking with this one!)

Myth: We read what we've clicked on

Most publishers have been chasing article views, the metric that counts the number of times people load the article page. The more views an article gets, the more people are reading, the more successful it is. Or so we thought. A research carried out by Chartbeat found that most people who click don’t read. In fact, a stunning 55% spent fewer than 15 seconds actively on a page

 Few of the users who view articles are active commenters, and most read and perhaps like, but never read or share their thoughts in the comments.

Maybe this is just our cultural lot: We live in the age of skimming. I want to finish the whole thing, I really do. I wish you would, too. Really—stop quitting! But who am I kidding. I’m busy. You’re busy. There’s always something else to read, watch, play, or eat.

OK, this is where I’d come up with some clever ending. But who cares? You certainly don’t. Let’s just go with this.


What to do? we need to do a serious and time-consuming work on building reading and active commenting community by motivating readers to users to read and post useful comments. Not vile commenting that leads to cesspool of primitive discourse but constructive comments that will encourage interaction.

The begging question is How do we motivate and nudge users into reading articles they are about to like (give thumbs up)? I don't know at the moment.

Definitely not like this;

Image by memegenerator

We can start with brainstorming and sharing suggestions and ideas.


Liked that? Try these!

 

33
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

I encountered comments that are not even related to my articles. Just for the sake of points. Many Read Cash users glance on the title without even reading the whole article. It's sad that this platform is deemed to failed but I'm still hopeful it will be change and users will read the articles completely before giving their comments, response, opinion and feedback.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

The platform will be on for long. Unless, the earning is removed, then many users will surely leave. The only thing keeping most users active here is the earning. Take it away and ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The platform or the website will be here. But when the developers decided to stop rewarding the users for sure many will leave because they thought Read Cash as earning site only.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Well, I hope it doesn't happen anytime soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm hoping the same Sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To me.reading An article too long and well explained, i'm just 🙄. I couldn't think of something to say because it would be a redunduncy on the writers part if i will repeat what he says even in another word. So i just support them by clicking like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, to be honest, I always read the articles all the way to the end (given that it is interesting to read) I always say to myself that this is great training to boost my reading comprehension and vocabulary.

Right now, I can see improvements to my school essays. I can write english sentences fluently.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I found here really communicative people with having such an great opinions and interests,I did not on any of my previous platforms. But also those who are just hunting for points. It is sad that someone puts a lot of effort into the writting of high quality article and there are people who are not abble to appreciate its value by only reading the whole article. I know not everybody is like interested in sharing their juicy thoughts, but anyways. I think it is because of everything is going so fast, people have no time to sit down a read and discuss, They demand fast info, fast fashiob, fast foods, fast money, fast knowledge, fast experience, I could go on for eternity. But it could also be caused by uninteresting article, long article, bad written article, these are possibilities too. It is very individual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, true. a lot of possibilities. I hope we get to improve and be more interactive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope so, or at least atract as many interactive people as possible, cause it is joy sharing opinions and feedback in comments

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subcribe me back bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woo its soo nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sure won't be an easy feat to get people to read. To put it bluntly, some here are just lazy and hoping to make a quick buck. They don't care about quality writing, much less reading them. But I do not deny that it may also well be a generation thing. Newer generations are used to scrolling, flipping, short sentences, shortcuts, wanting and getting information fast. Age of skimming, definitely. How about age of texting? Writing traditionally in English and genuinely reading, are hard to find nowadays.

The only hope is that we have more genuine writers and readers on this platform. As the saying goes, you can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink unless he wants to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. At least let's take the horse to the stream and see if it will take or not. If it doesn't go to the stream, we can as well go fetch some from the stream. If all fails. we let it be. We have done our part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Most would read the top paragraph, skim through the middle and skip to the end. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the order of the day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a little guilty, because I sometimes don't read an article if it's really long, I dont leave a comment too I just click the like button and that's it, it's not that I am not interested, it's just that i don't know what to say, especially if it's english, I'm not really good in English, that's why sometimes I just like their Article. But sometimes even if it's a long Article and that Article has an interesting topic , I read first the comment of the others, I just read all of the comments then read the article, at least there I can have an idea of what the topic is, then that's where the time I can comment now, 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand dear. Well, at least you make an effort to find an alternative towards getting a glimpse of what the content is really about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my opinion a catchy headline is important to bring the reader in to view an article. It may includes words and thoughts designed to catch someone's attention and be interested in reading what follows the headline. Like me for example If I saw a headline that is so common I won't have the interest of reading the article coz It feels like I already knew whats writen on that article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A catchy title encourages them to click. But it doesn't keep them reading. Some may open, read the first paragraph and decide they already no the content.

Some are just interested in earning point fro commenting not in the content of the article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh well, i never thought of that coz I was speaking only on my behalf. I forgot the main issue here in RC that most people only focus on points and earnings. Unless the author has enough budget to give tips in every good/relevant comment to the articles maybe these people who's only after for points would be encourage/forced to read the article, but again I think its not a good idea coz they are only reading because of what they are going to get. 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not good. How long will such authors keep giving tips? Reading should be for the fun, not the fund. because immediately the tips stopped coming, the comments will stop too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know, thats why I said it not a good Idea.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Macronald you sure do have a way with words. Any one who begins this article with a genuine interest to learn something will surely read it to the end. On a general note reading culture is literally dying due to social media et al. It even reflects in the way some persons write. They can barely make complete sentences without abbreviating at least word or two which ordinary should not be abbreviated.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I agree. Reading culture is dying. What can we do to revive that, even if its a little impact.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For the current generation of young adults I don't see much we can do for them as their reliance on technology is something else. We can start working on the children to ensure that before they become teenagers reading to learn and not to pass exams is a part of them, one hard back book at a time and not from any devices.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

The analog world is fast making way for the digital. In no time, there may be none left.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dread the day when hard back books will be no more . I wonder what would happen to reading if we have an event that shuts down or wipes all digital devices .

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Obviously it is very annoying to get comments without relatable in that article. Actually new users do it most. But I think after some days the user try to read a few sentence. After this when I usually get 100 subscribers and go on a level of maturity he read some selective articles but fully read it then put his opinion. So we should more aware of new users.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Most of us joined for the money and we will be eager to earn more, we rush through post and then click like. Some even copy part of the article and paste it as comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sometimes mstters to the interest of a person. If the article is interesting for them they'll surely read it until the end. Other thing is or should I suggest the use of images to cut the paragraphs, people get tired and bored reading long paragraphs. Maybe we should make our articles more friendly and enjoyable by posting or using memes like this article. I know some serious articles also need to be serious in it's contents and its choices of images. But being too serious is boring y'know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. But some users don't even read it. They just look at the title of the post, click on it and move down to like it. Some even comment without reading.

Sure we have to make our article catchy and interesting, but what happens when a user doesn't even take a look at the content of the article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have mentioned that some users don't really read an article from the start up to end, and I agree with that. But me, as a writer too, felt what you are feeling. The lack of effort of the readers on finishing reading what we have written is something to be upset for, just a little. Sometimes they miss the awesome part of our work, or the climax of the story we are telling them and just jump out to the comment section talking about the part they have just read. And sometimes I find it funny because I love putting the plot twist on my written work in the end, lol. I caught them on that. 😁

By the way, this is a great article, indeed! And the answer to your title is NO. NO, I FINISHED READING YOUR ARTICLE. 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. A good thing you did. I also like putting some twist at the middle and towards the end. Also sometimes when I offer bonus, I do that too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I really did finished it. Glad you noticed my comment, hihi. 😍🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww, no problem! 👍🏻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not only on the article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely right! With hundreds of subscribe only few users will leave a valuable feedback or comment related to the article. Most of them will even leave a comment without reading it first.

I can only think of one reasons why this happened. The article is not attractive to the readers. Readers may find the article too boring or lousy to read. Well, we can't blame the writers, 'cause even I myself is having a hard time creating an attractive article. And also I observed, most of the readers will surely read the article if it is about "earning higher points".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure. Arguably, the main topic that interest most users is about earning and point. They can read it to the end to get the trick. But when you discuss of something else even more important they just scroll through and move on to the next

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As much as I'd like to say this is such a broad generalization, it's still a truth. Besides the skimming though, if the text gets way too overwhelming, people will just stop midway. Then if it doesn't really pique their interest then there's that too. That's why so very few actually comment relevantly to the topic. Though i try to read but those that just post one article after the other really don't catch my attention

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have noticed. Aside the BCH related articles, articles on pints, earning giveaway earns more engagement than others.

Many users are more interested in articles that gives tips and tricks on how to earn more points/increase ones payout.

That doesn't mean we don't have a few percentage, who are open minded, and are ready to read interesting article, no matter the genre.

Have you heard about the 1-9-90 rule? Don't know if it really useful in this context.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That 1-9-90 rule has certain and specific applications though, and it definitely doesn't apply here. This is why the site probably won't be moving forward that much but it's progressing back to how it was little by little though and i think that's what matters for now. As soon as the spams became manageable

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Managing the spam should be the focus.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i guess you are right, sometimes I fall victim of that especially when the articles are too long, but i think the best way to help this is by organising a comment upvote for those who give best ideas on a post so they will have to finish it so as to make good comments capable of an upvote or what do you think

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, reading should be for the fun not the fund. For how long will one keep rewarding users yo comment. When the reward stops, the commenting will likely stop too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am just saying but that would be difficult to carry out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right but I don't think so...you don't have to make it a regular one...let me go practical, you can do a giveaway for three consecutive days then you begin to give somedays interval and then weeks and finally stop it and by then, more than 50% of them would have made that a habit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Believe me, such doesn't last. After some weeks they will relapse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's also true... Then what do you think can be done about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tell me about it. There's no way to motivate users to read till the end. I am testing it out since a few days. They respond on the title of or the first line. I build in a giveaway, mentioned my birthday and more but except for @gertu13 no one noticed it. A bad reader will always be a bad reader. Most here are no writers and only good writers invest time in reading. If they would read they had plenty to write about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have thought so hard but couldn't come up with any. Some just look at the title and the first line and rush to comment.

I was thinking of a feature twitter is trying out. Whereby users won't be able to share/retweet a post without reading or spending certain time on the post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

80% would still not read this post before leaving their comments, it's their tradition😀😀. Most people actually complaint of long article get them tired to read. And so long they have opened that article, because they want to earn, they have no choice than to skim through and drop a spamming comment all in the ne of earning. Like you said, maybe an article that contains more of interaction would be nice so people can engage acutely 👌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Perhaps that figure is exaggerated. All the comment I have checked so far are all useful and related to the content. Which means 80% of those that commented actually read to be end. I hope so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got a point, giving advised to someone to read and even other user have dont actually read some articles,was so a wrong move to do, to be able to understand the content and have some relevant.comment on it,we should.consider the fact that we must read the article or story, and whats the purposed of that article, as you said just leaving a thumbs up cant help an author to have motivation on writing more article ,sometimes relevant commetns helps a lot to author that shows appreciation and truly read the article and have an opinion about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not only on the article you must focus to read you must also read some of the comments so you can see the update of the whole information about what did you read

$ 0.00
3 years ago