The Wedding Announcement

25 47
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Humor, True Story

Hello virtual friends and read.cash community! How’s everyone! I had a fun chitchat with my colleagues over lunch today. I was thinking of leaking out the fun part of our conversation in noise.cash, however, while typing it, I noticed that it had gone long enough fitting for an article here, so, yeah okay, let’s do it here.

Just a heads up, this is not my wedding announcement, lol! That might sound exciting, but, regrettably no, not now unfortunately. Maybe I need a shotgun to make it happen, haha!

So, moving on. Just a short overview about the Roman Catholic weddings here in the Philippines, it’s a tedious process. Mind you, when my sister got married, I never imagined that it could be a very long task, from acquiring some requirements and legal documents, file it to the civil registrar, then sit for a seminar. After that, there is another seminar in the Catholic church, they call the Pre-Cana seminar, from there the couple have to wait for a few more weeks for the wedding announcement. That lengthy process, you have to go through to get married, and if the odds went unbearable living together in one roof, getting a divorce or any forms of legal separation is one long, painful and expensive undertaking. Gosh! So, you might get another shotgun, eh? Lol! Just kidding!

Back to the chitchat, my colleague had a friend working in the office of the Barangay’s Local Parish Church, she is one of the people assigned in processing documents for weddings and all sorts. 

It was a common practice that a month before the wedding day the names of the couple will be mentioned every after mass for 2 consecutive Sundays.

 After the mass, this worker from the church headed to the podium and began announcing the list of couples getting married, 

 “Announcing again this morning that Mr. Robert Reyes filed her intent to marry Ms. Marie Cruz (not their real names) this coming November 28, 2021,” then she continued, “and we would like to apologize that we announced the wrong woman for him last Sunday.” 

And all the people inside the church laughed. This must be so awkward, LOL!

Funny, but at least they apologize, haha! Whatever, that was just a mess.

Anyway, workloads must’ve gone crazy for the church personnel in charge to make those mistakes. No one is perfect as they say, so what can we do?

For the couples, especially for the bride, who of all people wanted to make this special moment perfect and memorable, must be a bit disappointing. They can only laugh about it, and pray that hopefully no more jinxes on her parade on the actual wedding day.


Oh well, something light and funny for tonight. I have a slight headache that I try to ignore the entire day. I had a short nap before dinner and when my niece woke me up to eat, I sneak on my computer to write something for tonight. Then, I have to get some more sleep. Good night and good morning, wherever you are in this universe! Stay safe and God bless!


Lead Image/ Photo by me. First posted in my IG.

All Original Content (unless stated otherwise)

11/117/2021

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles, earn BCH. Join us! Click read.cash

Earn BCH by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me on Twitter @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard



19
$ 8.01
$ 7.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 15
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Humor, True Story

Comments

Ano kya reaction ng bride-to-be? For sure they will have a good memory of it and laugh it out in the coming years when they reminisce it... Kelan din kaya itong author?😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Bili muna ako ng shotgun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd be furious if that happened lol! Good thing they had a good laugh about it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very refreshing your content, it reminded me when reading how complicated it can be to meet the requirements of a wedding. Regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha that reminded me of something that happened to my couple and sister-in-law.

They play at events, parties, weddings, etc. Wherever they are called they will bring the music.

We were invited to play at a children's party, after many songs my sister-in-law said through the microphone "Thank you very much to Mr. Jesus and Mrs. Rebeca for inviting us to your son's party", she had confused the name Rebeca was not the name of the child's mother.

At the end my sister-in-law apologized for the name mistake, but the lady was not upset, she took it as a joke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah

"we announced the wrong woman for him last Sunday."

Buti tuloy pa din ang kasal hahahha.. na shock din siguro yun groom.. sa isa siya nag propose iba ang imemeet niya sa altar hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaahahhaha ang dami ko tawa sis.. kawawa naman si bride napalitan ng wala syang kamalay malay hahaha pero buti na lang din nag public apologize sila pero still grabeng comedy nun hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hala grabi, what id biglang nagkaroon ng komusyon because of it halaaaa ahahaha. And kulit lang pero nakakakba wari pag ganon. Pero at least naman nag apologize. Anyways, ang haba haba ng process ano tapos ung iba maghihiwalay lang, anodaw un. Kaya ako pass muna sa wedding. Ayt wait, wala nga pala me juwaaaaaa ohendeeee. Ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha kaloka yun parang wrong announcement lang ng Miss U. Ang lakas maka steve harvey haha. Madami nga din ako naririnig na madaming process ang church wedding. Yung friend k odin nabusy ng husto nung ikakasal sya kasi ang dami nilalakad. Pero tyagaan lang kasi minsan lang yan. After ng wedding naman happy ang couple sa milestone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awit! Hahaha nakakatrigger yung sa babae onti kung masyado siyang seryoso hahaha lt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Epic fail ang announcement ate hahaha ayiee 28 kasabay ng birthday ko ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was like, omg! Hahaha. Naglibog na guro ang tig announce tungod sa kadaghang buhatunon. 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wahaahahahah maski ako magkatawa jud...pag ka demalasa sa bride

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha That would be memorable kasi sa nangyari. Congratulations sa kanilang dalawa in advance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kakapagod talaga isipin yung mga paper works pag ikakasal na, andaming dapat gawin. Natawa ako sa maling announcement, pero no one is perfect ika nga naman.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have to be pretty sure to get married, who puts up with all that. Hahaha... they're not going to divorce either, it's too much.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Poor girlfriend at the time of the announcement, hehe. But with the years, they will have a funny anecdote to tell.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much protocol. I don't know how couples don't get disappointed and arrange not to get married. With so much fuss. When I was very young I wanted to get married but then I had no illusion of getting married. I think I gave myself too much to my work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're so workaholic, my friend. I might follow suit haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go on a well-deserved rest, good night and take some headache medicine

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, dang I would be so ashamed for doing that, at least this will always be memorable.

Gooo and get some rest, I hope that you're not too stressed out. I also hope that your headache won't go away. Anyway, hope that you have a great remainder of the month

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehee bat naman ganun maam lyca.😁 Yun na dapat yung best moment tas ganun pa. Hehehe. Na shocked ako. Dami na siguro nangyari na ganyan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha omg kakahiya! yung name ng girl totoong nag eexist in real life? haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for sure, na mix match yata haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago