Almost.

Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

When I was still a kid, when someone asked me what I want to become when I grow up, my answer was always the same. I want to be a SOLDIER or POLICE. People were always surprised knowing that this little malnourished girl wants to be a Woman in uniform. I don't know, I was always fascinated with that thought. Maybe because two of my Uncles were in the military. That desire of mine grows more because of what I had been through during my teenage years. I hate being weak.
I was supposed to take BS Criminology when I was in college but due to financial issues I ended up taking BS Education. Yes, you heard it right, I was supposed to be a teacher. Hehehe.

I was somehow frustrated as I was unable to take the course I wanted. Yet I was delighted when I found out that ROTC (reserve officer training course) was offered in our school as choices in NSTP. Without hesitation I picked up that choice and even applied as an ROTC officer. I am not that tall. I almost got declined because of my height, thanks to the current Group commander that time as he gave consideration to us.
Applying for an officer was never easy, aside from I need to excel in my academics too. Being physically fit was one of the requirements and I even ended up having a hard time walking due to muscle pain especially after the reception. Reception for civilians means feast, eating. Thus in the military it means endless exercise!
There are 3classes or levels in ROTC officers, from bottom, 3rd, 2nd and 1st class. In order to move in 2nd class there should be an "ACCEPTANCE" and it is somehow related to " RECEPTION". You need to pass a theoretical and physical exam. To move as 2nd class, you need to undergo RSCT (regional summer camp training). All officers in every unit under a certain RCDG (Regional Community Defense Group) will undergo military training for 21 days. Yes, it was a rigid training but little bit less compared to those applying to be part of the Military.

THE RSCT training.

As a requirement we need to submit medical certificates as proof we are physically fit and I even had a hair cut back then. Yes, I got a military haircut once in my life! We arrived at the military camp and the first day was really hellished. It was summer time so indeed it was humid. The ceremony started at 1:00 PM and the sun was striking hot. We were arranged per platoon alphabetically and since my family's name starts with the letter "Y" I am in ECHOE company. During the reception I almost fainted as I have my menstrual cycle that time so my body was weak. But gladly I survived!
Being in a military camp was hard as we are not allowed to walk, you need to jog and must have someone with you "Buddy -buddy system". I remember one time I got caught jogging alone because there was an emergency that time. I was hit with a paddle on my butt and demn it hurts! What I have learned? Always follow the rule or make sure not to get caught!

The training only focuses on theories related to the military of course and Physical strength. Not mentioned is the attitude to be developed in order be an effective military officer. We always remember that motto " the mistake of one is the mistake of all". So we are always conscious not to create a mistake. Yet this selfish trainee ( a female) was caught drunk by one of the training Officers. We don't know how she managed to have some liquor. As punishment while all men were sleeping soundly at their tent we ladies were having our "Hell night". Lying on our back, rolling to the left, rolling to the right. Performing different exercises until we all almost dropped as our body could no longer take it. Our punishment did not end up there as one of training the officers took our platon flag. They only gave us 48 hours to retrieve it back. Failure to do so means another hell night. This made us realize teamwork + formulating a planned = SUCCESS. Yes, we were able to get it back through the help of the darkness. We manage to accomplish the mission. We did it at night with the help of our fellow trainees. The training officers were glad and congratulated as it was indeed part of the training. Which means no one was drunk, it was just a set up in order for them to know how we are going to react. See? In times of trouble, having someone to blame will not help, instead think of a RESOLUTION.

Aside from those things I have learned what I could not forget when I had my first "FIRE" using armalite "M16". Yes we are taught how to assemble and disable guns and you need to pass at allotted time. That was the time I discovered I had a great pulse upon checking my target paper.is is what happened during the training, it's our video but I doubt if you can find me due to poor quality.

This is me, during my college years.

Closing Thoughts

I decided to write about this as @Amjad_Ali_Waince mentioned me last night in his written article about "Most memorable Day of his life". He asked if I could share mine.

Aside from the day when my husband asked me if I wanna marry him, which I don't want to share for some reasons, that days during my military training were indeed memorable for me. Why? Maybe because somehow I had proven to myself that I was strong physically. Many male students decline to choose ROTC and here I am manage to be an officer. It is something that I could tell to my future grandchildren that somehow once in my life I've been part of the military .
If you're gonna ask if I pursue to be part of it? Sadly I didn't, which I somehow regret. It was one of the wrong decisions I made.

Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my generous sponsors, feel free to visit their profiles as their articles are worth to read too.

How about you @Pachuchay , @Olasquare and @Lucifer01 can you share with us what was the most memorable day of your life?

You can connect with me here;

Noise cash

Telegram

21
$ 6.10
$ 4.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.50 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Growing up I wanted to be a doctor, that's until I did grow up and realised I couldn't stand the sight of animals or people bleeding and knew I has to change course. I have changed my mind a couple of times since then, but being in the military was never something I considered, I attended a military secondary boarding school, so I got a bit of a feel and insight as to what the real military training would look and feel like, knowing myself and the fact that I don't have the energy or the physical stamina to go through all of that I never put it into consideration. Well done to you, you must be really strong to have gone through all the training and everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

opposite on your dream before, it never crossed my mind to be a doctor, hehehe. I don't know why military attracts me before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this all sounds so difficult but I'm sure it must have felt fulfilling whenever you completed a task. Kudos to you for joining this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes it was Daria and indeed fan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, that's one od my dream din, thanks sa kakabasa ko ng pocketbook na puro action ang tema. Pero diko nasunod yun at ang bagsak ay Sa ITnamaan ng magaling aguyyy. Nagustuhan ko rin naman yan pero gusto ko talaga matutomg humawak ng baril at yung hand to hand combat ba Kaso, yon na nga kilang din ako sa conviction ee wala tuloy nangyari sa mga yaan. Panahon namin noon wala na ata yang rotc na ysn,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang saya noong nag firing kami sis! Saka sa 45 at m16 dati pabilisan ng assemble at disassemble. Pero grave ang nakuha kung sakit sa katawan pati pasa dati promise😂😂 Iyon ang hand to hand combat ang gusto ko din matutunan dati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have great respect for you ma'am. Being in the military is something I can't even thi k of doing because I don't have the stamina and strength required. I'm hyoertensive hence my health cannot allow... I'd simply hear a gunshot and my body will begin to shake...lol..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks, yeah it really requires a great stamina to be in military as there's a physical exam. Glad I just "almost drop on my knees" but never dying one during my ROTC days. It's okay for me to hear gunshots if during firing only but on that one in violence, I might ve shaken too😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... the military isn't for me. I cant even go for war.. I don't wanna die now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha, same here that is why I did not pursue as I want to have a normal life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hello, my force lady. Is this the part where I have to salute you? Hahahaha. Wow. You are really tough to have taken that on. I applied for the military here too but I didn't even make the list because the powerful people always put their people in the slots, hence most of us weren't chosen. Imagine, in a state with over 2 million population, 30 were chosen 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahah yeah it sometimes happened, applying in goverment position it matters if "to whom you know" the job vacancy. It also happenes here . Though you will have chances to be included in a quota if happened to excel. Though exams can be manipulated sometimes. I regret I didn't pursue it Ola.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am really sorry about that, my friend. 🤗🤗🤗 I hope these hugs make you feel better a bit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Ola,😁, It's okay, I guess it is normal to have regrets because we have that thought we made a wrong decisions. But then I believe it was God's will and I was just redirected to what he wanted me to be. If I pursued miltary, means I won't met my sweetheart😄, and who knows I might dead now. Simply because I was sent to wars😂😂. If that happens, I an not here at read cash and I wasn't able to meet amazing people like you😁😄.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha speaking of looking at the bright side. I love that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang galing naman mo naman sis, yung generation ngayon takot na takot sa mandatory military eh para naman sa kanila yun eh para disiplinado. Naalala ko tuloy ang cat years ko nung high school.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, ang saya kaya mag drill , saka magtraining.ramdam ko ang paging pilipino ko noong nag graduate ako sa training

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know na nag training ka din, for sure nakakapagod Yan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes pero masaya naman ako. Gusto ko kasi talaga sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was impressive, you did what you wanted. Total respect to you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po , hehe Just a little bit of regret I didn't pursued to be in military

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh well at least you did it for a while

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang hindi ko naisio mag astronaut sis. Pero ang galing, may mga babae na now, unlike before na parang sa male lng siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, nagulat ako dito sis, like what, napagdaanan mo pala to, hehehe. I was amazed, kasi ako baka di ko kayanin. Nun CAT nga lang nun high school lage na ako absent, hahahaha!

I will share mine sis.. Thanks for the mention..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pangarap ko pa nga mag scout ranger sis. Dami ko din pinagdaan na sakit sa katawan at pasa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto na kita maging bestie, feeling ko safe ako kapag ikaw kasama ko sa zombie apocalypse, hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah bili tayo ng roller blade shoes sis, para glide-glide na lng basta pantay daan😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, di ako marunong nun sis, hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag aralan na natin sis! para mas mabilis makatakas,,,waaaah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahhaaha, jusko kaloka.. What if magkazombie apocalypse nga non

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mentioned me & now I have to take the challenge. I will definitely share it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We would be glad to know your memorable days too Devil

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing mo sis pero nangarap talaga akong maging police pero due to may kaliitan di ako pumasa hahaha. 5'0 ksi ako non at 5'2 ang required. Dios mio ang unfair nmn nila non pero ngayon may 4'8 na, ano ba yernnnnn. Pero after few years naging 5'2 ako sis pero married na ako non. Ala na time mg aral at may alagain ng anak.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dati talaga sis is mahigpit sa height requirements. Lately lng naging maluwang na. Kaya unfair kapag mahal ng lupa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaiztt tlaga sis. Hanggang pangarap n lng tlga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm CWTS though, haha. I can't take part of ROTC because I don't have courage to take part in military exercises. Hihi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha it was fun! I'm tellint you, such a grear experienced!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga din po sabi sakin ng mga classmates ko na nag ROTC pero di talaga keri haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, mahirap kasi paga hindi mo gusto. Hindi ka mag enjoy at mahirap sa tingin mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po ate. Sa CWTS chill ka lang tas report ng konti. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago