Sometimes it's good to be stubborn

38 44
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Hello everyone, how are you all doing today? My day was looking like it was going to be stressful, but it turned out ok. The stress I was talking about was in school, we were suddenly called in today after nearly 2 weeks of staying away from school.

You all remembered I talked about doing my outstation field training some weeks back, I was part of the first batch that went for it and after the 3 weeks of the training, we were supposed to go back to the university and resume the in-station training at my departmental fish farm.

The thing is, we all agreed amongst ourselves that we will take one week break before we resume activities at the fish farm, but this is the second week now and most of us haven't resumed πŸ˜‚ I said to myself that I will start going to the farm on Monday, but when it finally arrived I postponed it to the next day (which didn't happen as well πŸ˜†).

Image source

There's actually little to nothing to do at the farm, so that's why a lot of us are finding it hard to resume, coz we are just going to spend the whole day discussing with each other and being unproductive. A few of my classmates that have been going to the farm once in a while have told the rest of us rebels that the place is usually devoid of people and even the farm manager is on leave, and that's the motivation we needed to stay back home.

Yesterday, I was at home as usual just chilling out and watching a movie, then something pushed me to open my WhatsApp and go through the different groups (I usually mute my groups and only open them when I really want to check on them), and that was when I saw a message sent by my class rep in the class Whatsapp group.

He said the head of the department and our coordinator wants to see all of us in school tomorrow by 9am, that there's a task for us to do and he is going to take attendance of people that are around (just great 😩). I would have ignored the message but the attendance got my attention. That message just ruined my plans of staying home throughout today and just doing nothing.

Image source

The class rep sent the message late at night and I knew not a lot of people will see it, which just mean a lot of my classmates won't show up, so maybe I shouldn't go as well? I was in a dilemma, so I just put it off till the next morning, at least by then I will know what to do based on the way I woke up.

I woke up in the morning and my brain was already screaming; "don't go!" But a friend of mine was already pestering me that we have to go, so I obliged. I was still in the bathroom when she was already screaming my name that I should hurry up, and I found that very strange, how so?

She's usually someone that doesn't take the activities we do at the farm serious, and I was even thinking I will be the one to talk her into going today but it was the other way around; she was now the one motivating me to go πŸ˜†

I got out of the bathroom and truly, this lady was all packed up and ready to go, and it was still 8:30am! Where was the stubborn girl I thought I knew? I told her there was no way in hell I will be leaving the house at 8:30, coz I know nobody will be there at 9am, all thanks to African time.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

African time is a concept we usually use to mask what it truly means; a simple lack of punctuality. Whenever people say an event will be starting by 9am, just know that the real time the event will start would be around 10 or even 11am.

We left the house at 9am and arrived at the farm at 9:30am, and there was nobody there! Not even the class rep has arrived, I looked at my friend and said "I told you so". After about 30 minutes, the class rep arrived as well as some of my other classmates, but we were just 5.

An hour later, the assistant farm manager arrived and told us that the task we were supposed to do has been put on hold 🀦 at that point I was already regretting why I had to come, I should have just listened to my instincts and remained at home, I should have remained stubborn.

Image source

According to oxford languages, stubbornness is having or showing dogged determination not to change one's attitude or position on something, especially in spite of good arguments or reasons to do so. So in this case, what was the good reason for going to the farm? πŸ€”

I ended up just having a conversation with my classmates, and that itself was a distraction that kept me away from readcash all morning. That is the reason why I have always been reluctant about going to the farm, I wouldn't have the time to do anything online because I will be distracted, and that would've been a good reason to be stubborn 😁.

I still have a lot to talk about on this topic but I don't want this article to end up being a 10-minutes read, I will just cut it short here and continue tomorrow.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Thursday February 3rd, 2022

19
$ 4.50
$ 4.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

How many times have we found ourselves in such an irritating situation. Class rep will announce in the WhatsApp group that a doctor who had never taught us since the beginning of the semester would be coming first thing the morrow morning. Olny for us to come as early as we can, some would even skip breakfast even the ones staying off k will rush and come sef for fear of the being very strict since we have been hearing alot about him, only for class rep to report to us that the man called again and said he wouldn't be able to make it. That's after we had spent over an hour under sun. The cleaners wouldn't want to open lecturer theater for us until they see the doctor.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That rubbish has happened to me so many times, but the major difference is that I am always in school so I am usually happy when a lecturer says he is no longer coming πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! It is good to listen to what our guts tell us 😁 But it's okay though, at least you bonded with your classmates :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, that bonding resulted in me sacrificing my time for interaction on readcash, but I guess we all have to make sacrifices sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wanted to decide if you'd go according to how you wake up πŸ˜‚ You must have been pissed when the whole thing was postponed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing really pain me sha, I just wasted my time for nothing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I know the feeling, it's so annoying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is more I can't wait for it. As a student I see that being stubborn sometimes pays ooh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, so you also have yhat african time, coz we do too Filipino Time. Some will even say that they are on the way already on the meeting place but the truth is, they are not even taking a bath yet, l. Arghh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣 a lot of people do that in my country as well, and I have done it in the past too πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with me, I did it because I know them as a late comer always gahh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kinda thing happens to me always and it works for me. During school, whenever there's a scheduled sluggish activity and the moment of leaving, nepa bring light. I just take it as it's a sign of "DO NOT GO" and I'll stay. And the people that went usually come back with regretsπŸ˜†

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did that a lot back in secondary school, especially when I got to SS3, I was a chronic latecomer and it favored me most times πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

initial confusion which of our female classmate Don dey our hostel and since when? What have been happening in my absence? πŸ‘€πŸ‘€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 there's always going to be that one person, so na that one you pick up from everything wey I write? Anyways sha, your absence has been a blessing πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leave am, he won know he unknown. Anyways, them no con do the work at last

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The whole thing just tire me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My absence has been a blessing to who? 🌚 Because I know you have your own room, abi na my own una don turn to old people home? 🌚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ exactly 🚢sha no come back from A and B, just remain there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wondafuuuuuu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should have listened to your mind and don't go,but it's a good thing you attended,what if they actually marked the attendance and you know attendance carries mark.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most times all those attendance don't even carry any mark sef, it's just a way for them to scare us into coming to school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right..they just need to use that to bring you to school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree with you. I have such an experience. Which works for me. So i really feel your writing. good experience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Mazekin 😊 I am glad we are on the same side on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I can say, it's good to be stubborn sometimes Kushyzee. I feel you. I experience that too. The moment when you go to the event at school but when you go there, no one was there then someone saw you then request you for a task.

We're the same here in our country Kushyzee. They said that the event will start at 8 but the truth they will 9 - 9:30.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, I guess African time doesn't just happen only in my country, it seems to be everywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true Kushyzee. It's everywhere.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha well sometimes it is really good to be stubborn hahaha depends on your situation just like what you are in hahah if I'm in your position I will became frustrated hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to be stubborn only when it's for a good cause 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… the person that set the time nor come early πŸ˜‚ Africa will be Africa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ The thing just weak me....I know say na wetin go happen, that's why I left home around 9

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well from that point of view, if it had been better to be a little stubborn. Not everyone is usually punctual many times, they usually say an hour and it turns out that they arrive two hours later... But hey, you already have that experience, you will see that you learn from it... Greetings!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have already learnt my lessons, next time I will just listen to my instincts and do what it says

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a naturally stubborn person, I can vouch for that. Could it be that they put it on hold because the turnout was poor?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It wasn't because of the low turnout, the task we are supposed to do was still being deliberated on by the HOD and other lecturers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols.. it is honestly good to be stubborn at times. Being stubborn to do what is right will bear fruit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, the person pushing you to do something might think it's good but you might have seen something else that will make you to hold your ground and refuse

$ 0.00
2 years ago