5 amazing facts that are false

13 52
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Discovery, Facts, Myths

17th of March 2022

Lead Image

Get ready to make some discoveries and debunk some age-old myths because today we're taking a look at true facts you thought you knew.

5. Bulls hate the colour red

Bulls are mostly colour blind, so the colour red doesn't actually stand out to them. Instead, Bulls charge because they feel challenged by an aggressive stance or a big object in their way. So next time you go to a rodeo or the Running of the Bulls, feel free to wear whatever colour you want. Just you know be nice to them. Do Bulls hate the colour red?

4. Orange colour

A lot of people think the orange was named after its colour but it's actually the other way around. This is probably shocking but it’s the truth. Until the colour was named after the fruit around, 1512 it was just referred to as yellow and red.

So, you can thank that delightful little citrus fruit the next time you come across it. You don't have to refer to your orange juice as red and yellow juice, it just sounds dumb. Ha-ha.. Origin of the orange colour

3. There's no such thing as a sugar rush

Kids who get hyperactive after eating candy are likely acting wild because of something called the placebo effect. That's when your brain tricks your body into thinking that something is affecting you even though it isn't.

So, if your mom says not to eat too much candy because of a sugar rush, your mind will convince you that you're hyper. That doesn't mean sugar is healthy for you because it's not. It means you just need to find a new excuse for acting crazy at your friend's birthday party. Lol! The sugar rush myth

2. What do you think of Vikings

I know you probably picture Vikings as deadly and extremely dangerous people. Movies haven’t helped with this either. Vikings didn't actually wear horns on their helmets like we think. That rumour is based on old paintings that were exaggerated to make Viking warriors look extra tough and scary.

Historical evidence shows that real Vikings would wear simple practical round helmets made of leather or metal and that's only if they wore a helmet at all. Vikings- origins and history

1. Gum in your stomach

Every kid heard the warnings “if you swallow your gum it's gonna take years to digest” but that's actually not true. In fact, you can't digest gum at all because your body can't break it down. Like other foods, the gum will work its way out of your system very quickly, but you still don't want to fall asleep with gum in your mouth or you’d have insects crawling in especially if you leave your mouth open. How gum is ingested

 

For some honourable mentions- fortune cookies aren't Chinese at all they were invented in California. “Fortune cookies are often served as a dessert in Chinese restaurants in the United States, Canada and other countries, but they are not Chinese in origin. The exact origin of fortune cookies is unclear, though various immigrant groups in California claim to have popularized them in the early 20th century”. Source

The Caesar salad is named after Italian chef Caesar Cardini and not the Roman Emperor of the same name. The History of Caesar salad

Jellyfish aren't fish at all but are invertebrates.

Disclaimer: This article and all material used in this content is used for entertainment and educational purposes only. No copyright infringement is intended.

All images used have been cited

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

13
$ 1.54
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Success.1
+ 5
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Discovery, Facts, Myths

Comments

That red color thingy really traumatized me lmao. Because they said that if you wear a red colored shirts and if there's a cow nearby, it will charge at you and attack you lol. And also they said that if you swallowed a seed it'll grow inside my stomach 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The color orange part is mind-blowing all my life I believe that it was the fruit that has its name from the color, and the gum is swallowed I hold into this myth for so long haha funny how I didn't even bother to do research about it before. These ones are great thanks for sharing this piece of information with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also a believer if all this things....and I heard from childhood that bulls hate the colour red...but I didn't know the reason

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can the orange colour be cleared off our brain? No!🤣. See how the name sticks so fine and unremovable. During secondary school while learning fine, we learn a lot about this color and the teacher never mentioned another name🤷.

Vikings, c***ltists are enjoying the vibes with this name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was a believer in all those myths, my dear. My favorite color is orange and I honestly didn't know why it didn't have a name except because of the fruit. By the way I keep telling my brother that no eat so much candy because you get hyperactive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Excess sugar doesn't make us hyperactive. It's nothing but an imagination and a made up excuse... hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Kristoffer, you have presented some very interesting and cool facts. When I was a child, I was always afraid of swallowing gum. I thought I was dying for it now... 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I too was always afraid until recently when I realised it was otherwise.. at some point I used to think that swallowing a seed will make a tree grow in my stomach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually find out that Bulls don't hate red in the animated movie "Fernando".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know about an animated movie called Ferdinand... is that what you're referring to? Pardon me if I'm wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know that it is not true when gum was swallowed by children is dangerous to them. Thanks so much friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to think it was dangerous too as a kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago