He's an Aspin

Avatar for Jinifer
3 years ago

AsPin (A dog breed) is a shortened word for Asong Pinoy or Filipino Dog. Sometimes it's also called "Askal", Asong Kalye, or Stray Dog.

 


We were on a road trip with my dog, Kookie, and he's an Askal. I saw him on the road when he was still a puppy. He looked so small and skinny. When I saw him, I didn't hesitate to adopt him. I also have two dogs in the house and they're all Aspin. They are Max and Slogo, and they're both adopted too. Ever since I was a kid, I have really liked dogs and cats. My father was a cat lover too. I really love animals, but except for snakes, I hate animals that crawl lol. But sometimes I find them cute too.

While we were enjoying our road trip with Kookie, I noticed the clock and it was already 1:10 pm, so we decided to stop over and have our lunch. We couldn't find a restaurant that allowed dogs to enter, so we ended up eating in a "karenderya" instead or a mini restaurant. While I was eating, I put kookie on my right side and he was just right there patiently waiting for me to finish. He was so behaved and didn't make a fuss. He didn't bark at other customers. He allowed other customers to pat his head and pet him.

While I was enjoying eating my lunch, these three Karens or Marites arrived at the karenderya. They sat near us, one table away from us. They knew that the dog was being tied up and the dog couldn't surely get near at them. When they walked passed us, I heard them say "Ew, eating with a dog beside him. It looks so disgusting " I can tell by the looks of them how disgusted they were. At first, I didn't react to what they said to me. I didn't mind and I just continued doing my business.

I didn't get mad at first, but not until I heard them saying this line that triggered me. "Ano ba yan, nagdadala ng aso e wala namang breed"

English translation: "What the heck, bringing a dog that doesn't have a breed".

At first, I thought of Kookie. What if he could also understand what these people have been talking about? What if he's a human too and he heard those words? What would kookie feel right after hearing those words? As an owner, I feel sad for Kookie because he doesn't have any idea that these people have said something about him. I love Kookie very much. He's not just a dog, he's part of the family and he's my baby.

Instead of getting mad at them, I stayed calm and pretended I didn't heard them.

 

When they finally finished, and so did I, I saw them heading to the motorcycle. There were 4 of them riding on a motorcycle, including the driver. Imagine one motorcycle and there were four people riding on it. The motorcycle looks like it's about to give up lol.

I headed back to my Chevrolet and I was just observing them. I saw them heading off. I secretly followed them and waited for them to stop. When they finally stopped, I slowed my car and I intended to pull down the window so that they could really see us. When I passed by them, I looked and smiled at them. They were shocked when they saw the dog that they had just disgusted earlier sitting in the front seat of a Chevrolet. I can tell by the look on their faces how surprised they were.

And I was like, look at you, overloaded on a single motorcycle while the dog you just called "ew" earlier was sitting and relaxing in an air-conditioned car. But I only said those words in my mind. Sometimes, you don't have to fight back to prove that you're better than them. You just got to act cool and calm and just let them realize that they're all wrong and that dogs are way better than them.


 

Honestly, it's not about the breed. It's all about love, the bond and the connection between the two of you.

Love your dogs or your pets no matter what their breed is. Because they deserve to be loved. Even if it's not your dog, learn to show love towards them too. They may look like a stray dog or you might think they look ugly. You don't know how much their owners love them too.

# DontShop.Adopt

Lead image source

08-05-21

My previous Articles:

Bonjour! Augustus

If Walls Could Talk

Girls Day Out


Author's Note

Thank you guys for passing by and reading my article today, I really appreciate it. I hope you're having a great day.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe button if you want to. 🌻

Arigathankyougozaimuch ❣️

11
$ 5.09
$ 4.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 5
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Bat parang ang cool nung nangyari haha parang mga nangyari sa pelikula haha

Even if walang breed yung aso namin koce ko parin sila kasi mabait rin naman sila saamin at alam rin nila umintindi minsan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I really love the way you acted and even slowed down so they could see what they were looking down on the dog. Some people can be so mean. I believe that is how they behave with humans too. They easily criticize and nice that you didn't retaliate but you let them know their foolish behavior through an action. What is more greater now? The dog in an AC car or them overloading a motorcycle?🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Natawa ako dun s term na Karen and Marites😂. May mga tao talaga na ganyan, gusto nila un may breed. Tapos self proclaimed dog lover kuno, breed lover tawag sa knila. Ako i have 4 dogs, un isa may breed pero equally love sila.. Uun mga aspin pa nga eh mas mababait at masunurin kesa sa may mga breed na aso..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung iba talaga self proclaimed dog lovers pero mapili sa mga asong nagustohan nila. Dog lover lang kapag maganda yung breed 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Korek sis,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lahat ng aso may breed kaht yung asong askal pa yan. 🤣 Taray ng chevrolet madam. Pwd pasakay? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga po, pero yung iba they prefer a breed of dog worth a thousand peso.

Charot charot lang yang Chevrolet HAHAHHA hanggang imagination lang muna tayo 🤣🤣

Ps: Thank you po ate Jane sa sponsorship. May you receive lots of blessings ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

grabe naman yan. aspin owner rin ako nyeta nila la ngako paki sa breed e

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Marami talaga ganyan, breed discrimination 😔 yung iba self proclaimed dog lovers pero sobrang choosy at maarte sa stray dogs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw a lot of very similar stories to pet owners of Aspin.. They also experienced discriminations and received different treatment as compared to other non aspin dogs.. I don't wanna say that aspin don't have a breed cause they actually have.. Yung iba sinasabi na aspin lang daw eh bakit dog food ang pinapakain, like in my own experience.. Hehe.. Pero ang masasabi ko lang, ke aspin yan or not, pareho pa din yan tumatahol at pareho pa din yang man's bestfriend.. Ang pinakaloyal na friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, they're both dogs. And it's not a about the breed. Yung iba kasing dog owners pa feeling classy and sosyal eh especially if they have those kind of dogs that worth more than a thousand pesos 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What the! Those three Marites made me pissed! Ang sarap tahiin ng mga bibig gamit yung kinakalawang na alambre. And yeah, it is not about the breed. ♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What can you expect from a Marites 😒HAHAHAH skills na nila yan. That's what they're good at

$ 0.00
3 years ago

LOL reminds me of the viral video about they said they are rich and sardines are only fed to the dog. seriously? the real rich won't allow dogs to eat sardines instead they will be fed by dog food right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trueee 🤧 they can afford sardines but not dog food lmao 😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago