Ways To Politely Decline An Invitation

20 32
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

December to January is the time when invitations to where and what is all over the place. We have parties such as Christmas party, Year-end party, New Year, etc. It is time for celebration!

Receiving an invitation means, they remember you but not all the time we want to go because of personal reasons. We do not like to go because we do not vibe with the people invited or you are just too lazy to get out of your bed because you are watching your favorite movie.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, @BCHouseVE for renewing your sponsorship. Thank you, sponsors!

In this article, I will list down tips on how to be not rude or on how to politely decline an invitation. This is to avoid conflict or awkward moments with the parties.

1) First, when invited, always respond to it. Do not ignore the invitation.

We still need to respond to the invitation even though we do not intend to go. This is to let know if you are coming or not. Some celebrations are budget tightened and so, they need the number of people coming to adjust the food or chairs needed in the venue. It is very rude not to respond because first of, you are remembered to be invited and it means you are an important person for them.

2) Be grateful that you are invited.

Include in your reply that you are extremely thankful that you are one of their invited guests. Out of many people, they thought of you to be included in their list. Some people might be wishing to be on that list but instead, they choose you. Also, you should respond immediately. If unable to go, you should tell them immediately.

3) Be honest about why you are unable to go.

This is the critical part. You should be honest about why you cannot come to celebrate. The best way to put your excuse is in a short format. Do not try to over-explain it. Just letting them know that you cannot go is enough.

I know this is awkward but sometimes I do white lies because of personal reasons but I make sure that those invitations that I decline are not major celebrations. I decline some invites like drinking sessions or just hanging around because I have better things to spend on my time. I do not like drinking too because of the taste. I drink like twice a year and I make sure that I have my sister with me. I do not like being intoxicated with alcohol with nobody around me that I trust. We should all be always careful.

4) When you cannot come, you might want to send a gift to the celebrant.

To let them know that you received the invitation and are truly sorry that you cannot come, you might want to send a gift. It is a gesture of saying thank you that you are chosen as one of the people invited. A simple gift is okay, but if you want to go big, why not, right? The important thing is you are sincere in your gift whether how big or small it is. You might also include a card on the gift and say that you wish you were there to celebrate with them.

Here is an example of how to write it:

Hello, friend!

Thank you so much for inviting me to your birthday celebration. Sadly, I already have plans for today that is why I cannot attend. Wishing you a big blast!

Your friend, Jijisaur

Another example:

Hello, Sis!

Good morning! I am happy about your career growth. Unfortunately, I cannot come to celebrate with you because I will be out of town this week. Hoping you to have a wonderful celebration.

Best, Jijisaur

Final Thoughts

We have different reasons why we decline invitations. It is not hard to say no because if you truly cannot come, you can decline it politely. There is nothing wrong with declining unless you have a bad reason. We do not like to experience friends not coming to our party for bad reasons, do we? I know for sure they will understand your situation. It is just a matter of good communication.

Thank you for reading my article!

Lead image edited on Canva, Images from Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

🥳 Smiling Is Not Just About Being Happy https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/smiling-is-not-just-about-being-happy-fb1dc6d2

🥳 Movies That I Will Never Get Tired Of Watching Over And Over https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/movies-that-i-will-never-get-tired-of-watching-over-and-over-487fe376

🥳 Jijisaur's Learning Journey - Every Thursday! Blog #6 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-every-thursday-blog-6-c6c93320

11
$ 4.89
$ 4.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
+ 3
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks to you my friend,,, I'll probably look less rude now as far as invitations go... Lol... (:

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mostly our gifts for the meantime are all cash or transfer money from gcash. I seldom give gifts because I don't get out . I only go from house to work and work to house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, true technology life is easier. We can send money real time. We do not need to go out of the house just to give money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This sure will help, I can't say No to people without offending them haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I'm just too lazy that could get out of my favorite anime series like hunter x hunter I don't know why but when ever I watch the anime I feel like amused because the author of the anime make the story great. So I tend to refuse any invitation of my friends because I don't want to cut any episodes that I've watch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have watched Hunter x Hunter too! One of my childhood anime. After school, we will sit in front of the tv to watch together with my sisters. My favorite though is Killua

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really watched that anime ...which version do you prefer the 1999 version or 2011 version , for I prefer to watch 2011 because it improves the quality of the video and much more vivid than the older..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag nakakatanggap ako ng invitation parang it means i am special and that person is thinking about me. In my case po if the i have something to do with the given date ill just say it to them because we're mature already maiintindihan nmn nila kung hindi tayo makakapunta for some other reason. And ill just arrange some coffee date maybe when I'm available and just catch up. Hehehe Good morning po😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got invited to a wedding tapos ginawa pa akong ninang. I wasn’t able to attend kasi nga pandemic and isa pa election outpost and churvas kaya madaming harang, wala akong driver’s license. Lol! So yun nga, I just sent a cash gift and wish them a happy married life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, yung pandemic rin yung parang barriers between invitations and celebrations. Good thing may nasend kang gift hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa mga earning from noise. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Receiving invitation somehow shows how special you are, in my case somehow I was busy with something upon the date mentioned, I always let someone substitute me for that day. Never ever says No to invitation especially food is ready haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. Everytime we decline invitations dapat maging honest tayo para aware naman sila. Alam nila yung reasons at maintindihan ka. Dapat mag rerespond ka talaga kasi I know they've been waiting your respond kung ano talaga decision mo. Yes sis sending gifts kahit di makakapunta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, but I do white lies sometimes kesa ma hurt ko yung naginvite saki nhehe. Pero usually inuman sesh kaya di ako pumupunta hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis yung inuman talaga ayaw ko din. Di talaga ako uminom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan jijisaur. Pero ako naaman kapag hindi ko talaga feel ung celebration, I would simply message na lang ung taong nag invite tapos sasabihin ko na busy ako. some times kasi okay lang mag white lie ka as long as di naman makaka apekto don sa nag invite saiyo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. I do white lies instead Naman na present ako pero mentally absent. Saying na may plans na ako for the day or busy ako hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess ganun nga. Minsan kasi di ko din bet mga invitations saka pag ayoko taalga pumunta, kahit sa bahay lang ako eh sasabihin ko na lang busy..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I get invited to parties, I most likely don't decline because I don't wanna miss it out. It's not that I feel FOMO, but I enjoy it most of the time. Finding outfits are just the hardest part. Hahaha. These are nice ways if I ever wanna decline future invites. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice of you! I decline only when it is about drinking out. I am not fond of alcohol hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago