Things I Thought Were True When I Was A Kid

16 22
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Our parents tell us stories when we are still young so that we will sleep earlier or drink our medicine. They will tell you a scary story or fantasy story for you to believe that it is true. 

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

In my experience, my aunt told me that I do not sleep, the “mama” will come for me and will take me in the middle of the ocean. Of course, I am scared to be in the middle of the ocean and then eaten by the shark. Now that I am an adult I realized that these are just make believe stories so that I will obey or behave.

1) Do not consume too much vinegar or else your lungs will burn. 

I use to buy 1 pesos snacks on the nearby sari-sari store in our house. I buy the Bida cornice. I will then put vinegar on it. This is my favorite snack! One time my aunt saw me that I put too much vinegar on it. In fact I drank the vinegar. My aunt scolded me because she said, it will burn my lungs and I might get sick or worst, you know what’s next. I am scared that it will happen to me. So, from that day own, I am cautious of the vinegar. Up until this day, I am not sure if it really burns your lungs. I know too much vinegar is bad, but not to the point that it will literally burn your lungs.

2) “Sige, ka! Kukunin ka ng pulis!” (The policeman will get you!).

Probably the most common way to behave a kid is telling them that the police is coming for you if you continue to misbehave. Now that I am an adult, I just laugh on or I even use the trick to my nieces and nephews. 

I always see videos on Tiktok that the mother or an adult is pretending to call the police station just for the kid to behave. I know it is funny but just make sure it will not be in the point that the kid will be traumatized.

3) Throw your milk tooth to the roof so that the mother rat then wish for a new tooth. 

 Adults are creative on this part. When I was a kid it genuinely messed my mind because first of, the rat does not eat tooth but instead, cheese. Why do they need a tooth for? What I saw in the cartoons is cheese not tooth. And why in the roof instead of holes on walls or in garbage where rats are mostly seen? I have lots of question but I still believed the adults. I think, in my best memory, I only did this twice. Luckily, the mother rat exchanged it with nice teeth haha!

4) Do not swallow the seed of fruit or else a plant will sprout in your head. 

I was so scared to accidentally swallow a seed when I was  a kid because of this. Especially with watermelon and orange, it is hard to pick out the seed when you are eating. I am afraid to go to school with oranges dangling in my head. But I was thinking, what if I ate the seed, then I will have a forever orange in head, free oranges! 

5) Do not swallow a piece of gum or else you will have a tummy ache.

The adults say that if you swallow a gum, your intestines will stick on to it and then you will have a tummy ache. I was watching cartoons once while chewing a gum. I laughed and accidentally swallowed the gum. I was so worried that I will have a tummy ache. So what I did is I drank a lot of water so that it will be flushed away from my body immediately.

Final Thoughts

SORRY MY ARTICLE WAS DELAYED BECAUSE OF NO ELECTRICITY HUHU!

I think Filipinos are very creative in general. We are so good in making stories so that our kids are disciplined and well behave. For me, now that I am adult, I just laugh whenever I remember it. Now, I am applying some of these to my nieces or nephews that misbehave. Also, this is better than spanking or cursing the kid. Just make sure that when make stories, it will not be to the point that will affect their mental health also.

Thank you for reading my article!

Lead image edited on Canva, Images from Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

🥳 Ways To Politely Decline An Invitation https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/ways-to-politely-decline-an-invitation-a942f518

🥳 Smiling Is Not Just About Being Happy https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/smiling-is-not-just-about-being-happy-fb1dc6d2

🥳 Movies That I Will Never Get Tired Of Watching Over And Over https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/movies-that-i-will-never-get-tired-of-watching-over-and-over-487fe376

7
$ 2.25
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @yhanne
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
+ 3
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

hahaahahah lagi na lang talaga ako nakaka relate sa mga articles mo jijisaur eh. Yung totoo? kabaabta ba kita? or kalaro ata nung bata? hahaha

Ako naman don lagn ako natakot talaga dati sa buto ng mga fruit kasi alam ko naman na tumutubo talaga sila eh hahaahah kaso naisip ko katagalan, wala naamn lupa ung loob ng tyan ko so san sila tutubo? ahahah maniniwala pa ko if munggo ung madalas ko ningunguya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka BFF tayo nuon in last life sis! OO nga e, sabi ko pa naman uy free fruit kahit san ako magpunta. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung police talaga eh, hanep hahha. Dati nong elem ako, tinamad nako pumasok ng school kaya sabi ko sa mama ko na mag sstop nako, tassabi niya na huhulihin daw ng police yung parents kapag mag stop yung anak sa pag aaral WAHAHAH kainis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAhahaha! Dami talagang kwento mga parents natin madisiplina lang tao. Ngayon, tumatawa na lang ako pag naaalala ko mga kwento nila.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We think a lot in childhood. Because we live in a sea of ​​thoughts in childhood. Some things are true, some are false. But the Thought are really funny dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

these belief are very similar to ours ! We were told that a child should throe his milk to on the roof else, when a lizard sees it, It will never grow back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha! This is kinda funny! I would love to hear more about others beliefs of childhood.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate with you, when I was kid my mom used to tell this things specially 2,3,4,5 number points. You forced me to recall my childhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stove of these are hilarious especially the seed of fruit one... I still told it to a child last month... Lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung swallow the seed of the fruits talaga eh haahha. Sobrang nakakarelate ako jan sis HAHAHAH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice story hehe some of those are true when you take vinegar to much it could make your body saturated and that will makes you sick. This story of yours reminds me to the things that I've been through before..thanks to you ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andami talagang mga ipinapasang kwento² mga pasakin dila na pinasa pasa na na magpahanggang ngayon ay nanatili parin, halos halat naman cguro ng kabataan biktima niya lalo nayang wag kainin yung buto baka tutubo sa ilalim ng tiyan hahah andami biktima na kabataan diyan at diko ma itatanggi na isa ako sa mga naniniwala jan hahah.

Tapos yang tatakutin tayo sa pulis para tumahan sa oag iyak o nakagawa ng konting kasalanan hahah bata days talaga andaming pinaniniwalaan na narealize natin ngayon na mali pala talaga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! Mga pananakot sa atin nung bata para lang magbehave tayo. Natatawa na lang ako ngayon.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha totoo yan. Ung hindi pinapakain ung buto sa mga prutas baka nga hindi na lalabas at tutubo na dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Super relate sis, tayo namang mga bata paniwalain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I seriously believed the 4th and was scared everytime I accidentally swallowed a seed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago