I Am A First Time Voter

23 43
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Happy Tuesday! The election is over, and the count is almost over. I think someone has already won. In this article, I will try to summarize my first experience of voting. So, let's go!

Before the election day, we agreed that we will vote around two in the afternoon. My sisters and I are first-time voters so we were very excited. In the night, my father called for a meeting so that we will not be lost in the precinct. Also, we brainstormed our bets. I write them all on a piece of paper so that it is easier when it is our turn to vote.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, beloved sponsors!

May 9th, 2022

Before two pm, I put the things that I will be needed in my bag. What I brought were these:

Alcohol and face mask - The covid is still here. I am vaccinated already but I do not like risking my health and the health of my family. I brought it for my protection. Though there is an alcohol station and free masks, I still brought them for assurance

My cheat sheet- My list of people who I am voting for is on a piece of paper. I also took a photo of it on my phone in case I lost it. I try not to be seen by others because I do not like them judging my preferences, haha!

Identification card- I brought along with me my UM-ID so that they can find my name easier. It is also my proof that I am that individual. It is very handy and very helpful.

My umbrella- the voting area is just a walking distance from my house. I have to bring my umbrella because the sun is frying my skin haha! Also, the UV rays are very harmful to you.

Cellphone- This is for communication purposes and if ever I get bored on the line, I have offline games on my phone. Also, I took a screenshot of my cheat sheet in case I lost it.

In entering the school where we will vote, there are police officers at the gate and an alcohol and temperature check station. We checked our temperature and it turned out normal. We also used the alcohol for disinfection. We passed by many people sitting. I think they are already done voting, or some are just making "tambay".

We found our precinct at last. Ours is the third to the last classroom. There is just a small line. We lined up for about 10 minutes. While in the line, I am observing the people and the environment. The school is surrounded by big trees. I believe that these trees are Nara, which are about 100 years old. Thank God it was windy and not that too crowded or else I will be sweating balls.

It is our turn to vote. Before entering, we were given a number to locate our names easier.

We took a temperature check again and sanitized our hands. It was less than a minute and my name was found.

They gave me the ballot sheet, folder, and a pen. I sat in the last row because it was the only one available. I was seated next to my sister. It took me just 5 minutes to shade my preferences. Thank God that I have a kodigo. After that, we lined up to put the sheet on the machine. We were given a receipt. I double checked it and it is correct.

To seal my vote, I got my finger inked. Up until know, the ink is still there. My father said that it will take a week before the ink will be removed.

Over all, my experience was smooth and fast. The watchers and coordinators are very accomodating and friendly. The materials such as the ballot sheet and the machine are all working smoothly.

I am very happy that I have a positive experience for my first voting.

"Voting is the expression of our commitment to ourselves, one another, this country and this world."
- Sharon Salzberg


That is it for today. Thank you for reading. I will see you at the next one.

Banner edited from Canva. All photos are mine.

Please follow me on my new NC account. Thank you!

Date publsihed: May 10, 2022

My other articles:

🌺 Q and A: Traveling Edition https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/q-and-a-traveling-edition-bbcb37db

💓 Q And A: Sleeping Edition https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/q-and-a-sleeping-edition-5fe79565

🍡 My Met Gala 2022 Rating https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-met-gala-2022-rating-83c3d8bb

10
$ 2.38
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayaan258
$ 0.03 from @yhanne
+ 4
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Comments

Same. A first-time here as well and so glad to have a smooth experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well done dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! It was a smooth sailing experience on my end! Hoping for better for our country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations as an early voter, you have become an important part of giving your voting rights to build your country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! I indeed had a very pleasant experience. I am happy that I exercised my right to vote!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations with that, I am also a first time voter and a watcher at the same time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your service as a watvher. My experience with my first vote run smoothly and fast. It took me just 20 minutes to finish all the process.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great dear you have voted the right candidates. Yes I think there was already a winner.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are winners already. I am hoping for the countrymen to support who every won because we are one as a nation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I am very happy also. We hope that the other side will concede to their loses and accept reality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana ol mabilis ang process, hahaha! Di ako makagetover sa 4 hours of waiting. Next election uli:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe yung four hours, sis! Hapon ako pumunta kasama ko mga kapatid ko. Mabilis lang yung flow kasi kokonti na mga tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ironically nagpunta ako maaga para maaga matapos kaya lang halos sabay sabay kami ng ibang tao aun ending tagal tagal namin nag antay, ung hapon ata nagpunta eh natapos ng maaga😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas madali talaga matapos sis kung may kodigo hehe, ganyan din ginawa ko, 😅,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, very effective hehe! Buti na lang may kodigo ako sa papel at sa phone incase na mawala ko sa papel. Ang saya ng first experience ko kasi mabilis lang tas mababait yung mga tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also a first time voter and I can say that it's really a memorable one ahha. Yung ink ko sis ang bilis natanggal dahil sa kakahugas ng pinggan ahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apir! Andami pala natin na perst taym voters. Nawawala na rin sakin kasi naghugas ako kanina haha! Ang saya ng first ko kasi smooth lang. Mabilis lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwn, I can also remember vividly when I wanted to vote for the first time, I was nervous and eager to vote at the same time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did not feel nervous at all. I was excited to have my first vote. It was a smooth voting system. This will be memorable for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naks, dami natin palang first voter and alam kong ang special neto para saatin. Yung ink sa kamay ko color brown na siya kasi naglaba ako agad nong pagkauwi ko. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Special talaga sis hehe. Nawawala na rin sakin kasi naghugas ako kanina. Hoping for the best for our country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is great work now you are a permanent citizen ☺️...I hope you have given your votes to the right person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I voted for the candidate that I feel that there will be a big impact on leadership on this country. God Bless our country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago