Benefits Of Living With Parents

21 52
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

In the Philippines, it is normal to live with your parents until you get married. In the west, at the age of 18, you already have to leave the house.

It is normal and not awkward for Filipinos to live with their parents. In my case, I am still living with my parents because I am not yet married or choose not to live alone. I like being around my parents because I like a home with my loved ones. It is hard to be alone and have a house but feels empty.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors.

In this article, I will be writing about the benefits of living with parents. This is what I experience and this is how our household is.

1) Eating home cook meals.

I do not cook good meals. When I cook, it always ends up so-so or not that good. I only know how to fry and boil. Maybe I do not have the cooking hands. But someday I want to cook. When I am with my parents, I am always full because they cook so good! When I am away, I am always dependent on fast food meals or not eating at all. This is also what I am always looking forward to when Summer comes because I study in the city 8 hours away from our province where my parents live.

2) Good ol' conversations.

Whenever we eat together, we talk about mostly our childhood. We talk about our every Summer trip when I was still in my elementary days. When we were younger, we also go to Baguio to travel. This is also our bonding time as a family. Sadly, we grew up and things changed. We do not do this anymore because we are now busy and our time cannot meet. For now, we just talk about the good and also not-so-good memories.

3) The happiness of helping my parents.

Our parents are not that young anymore, meaning they can weak every year. They are not that strong anymore physically. I do not like them to grow old faster because of working hard. Instead, I am the one together with my sister who do chores when we are at home. We clean, wash dishes, take care of the house, water the plants, any physical doings. When we were young, they are the ones who took care of us and so, as a return, we will take care of them also.

4) When I am sick, someone will take care of me.

When we are sick, we are at our lowest point. We cannot do anything but just lay down and sleep, and try to get better. We need someone to take care of us because we cannot do it alone to ourselves. When I am with my parents, they really make sure that I take the proper medicine, well-rested, and I am at ease. They are the best care in the world, not doctors or nurses. Yes, professionals are there to help you heal, but the moral support and care of parents are irreplaceable and unconditional.

5) Just being with them.

At some point in our life, we will be longing for our parents. There is no permanent thing in this world. One day, our loved ones will be away or will be gone forever. As much as I could, I want to spend time with them. I want them to be near to me. I do not like them to be hurting or suffering. They have a lot of sacrifices for us their children. One day I want to give back to them. I just wish that humans can reach 500 years of age, but this is how God designed us. Time will never stop. All I can do right now is make good use of the time.

Final Thoughts

There are pros and cons of living with parents but this time, I am highlighting the pros. This is only based on what I know and experience. I have a good relationship with my parents and I am grateful for that. Not all of us have a great relationship with them and it is a case-to-case basis. I know that there will be a time that I have to grow my own family and be away with them. So for now, I am enjoying their company.

Thank you for reading my article!

Lead image edited on Canva, Images from Unsplash

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

My other articles:

🥳 I Want To Skip... https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-want-to-skip-90946039

🥳 Jijisaur's Learning Journey - Every Thursday! Blog #8 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-every-thursday-blog-8-00dd1615

🥳 How Much Was My Allowance($$$)? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/how-much-was-my-allowance-c2c5cd67

11
$ 3.66
$ 3.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jinifer
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
+ 7
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

You laid them all down. I also prefer living with them as long as my partner and I haven't decided yet to get married and make our own family. Di na kasi mababalik ung moments na di mo nakasama sila pag tumanda na tayo so better cherish the moment na kasama pa natin sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo sa totoo lang I can also agree sa lahat ng mga nabanggit mo sa sa article. Napaka swerte pa din natin mga Filipinos kasi tsyo ung may pinaka strong bond sa family natin. As in ito ung isa sa mga bagay na magaganda sa mga Filipino, may iba pa din na nakaka appreciate ng essence ng family ties. Kaso these days kasi dami ng toxic fam eh. Pero kaya naman yan masolusyunan. Kasi more on psychological naman ang mga iyan. Kayang mai-normalize ung mga bagong ugali na dapat talaga eh dati pa tayo meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have my father but I stay with my mother and she is my parents.She always keep me focus in my life and give me suggestions and help me in every situations whenever I am in trouble

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever I'm alone, I tend to not eat goof food, and mostly cook nothing but crap since I'm not very good at cooking. I mostly eat junks and spend time in restaurants. Unlike when I'm home.

Staying with parents has more advantages than staying alone, unfortunately we all have to grow at some point and leave.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, and that is the sad part because eventually, we will have our own family too. It is like life is a circle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living with your parents have a lot of advantages than disadvantages you know. You get to learn from their vast experiences of life everyday. And in whateve mood or situation that one finds his/her, then one can always rely on the parents, because unlike friends, they would definitely and always give the the best advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true. Also living with them has disadvantages like lack of privacy or I cannot invite friends because we are noisy haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, friendship between a child and a parent especially the mother is the best relationship one can ever have. And I believe as one grows older, the bond between a child and the parent should grow too and not wither.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We get so many benefits for staying with our parents,I like staying with them since am not yet married and it's cool by me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga pag nasa parents ka nakatira ,iba kasi ang pag aalaga ng isang ina .Ay ,miss ko tuloy si nanay ,namimiss ko na sila🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so very grateful to my parents cause they have supported me wether financial and in any benefits that I received from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is good for you, Jopix! Let's always be grateful that our parents support us in anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It always be feel the home of our parents. It feels us so secured everytime when we were at home together with our family. Me too sis! I'm glad that my parents are responsible of all our needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parents are like security blankets hehe! So grateful to have them when in times of needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much relate, during sickness someone take care of me. I am weak sis so everytime I get sick I didn't too much nervous because my parents are there beside at me. The one who take care of me. Now, since I'm working already and I'm far away from them, it's really hard when I have an illness without them.

Yes eating home cook meals. I missed it already. I'm always the one who cooked our meals sis then sometimes helping with my mom if she was the one who cook our meals.

Living of parents is the best time and the best thing sis. It's really different if you are living to the others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best talaga ang parents nog, sis? Walang tatalo sa aruga nila hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala paring taatlo sa sarap ng pakiramdam pag nasa pnagangalaga ka ng parents mooo sis diba? Kaya nga ako, I make sure to make time with my mom and aunt as much as I can. Kasi I am sure na dadating ang araw na need ko na irng bumukod lalo na if magkapamilya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo huhu parang di ko maimagine na lalayo ako sa kanila pero ganun talaga anf buhay need talaga magbukog din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feels so comfortable when living with our parents, the feeling of being safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a great privilege to live with one's parent. Lot of things to learn from them. And also they will be the one there in time of need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly. I learn a lot from my parents about almost everything about life. So grateful to have them in my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago