Places I Had Visited In Hong Kong (The Countrysides)

80 114
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Journey, Experiences, Life, Random, ...

July 22, 2021

I've been seeing travel blogs lately and they made me reminisce the good old days, those days when I was still in a mood to travel, to hike, to roam around, and to visit different places in Hong Kong. That's because my HK friends and I have the same holiday schedules. But as years passed by, they have changed their employers, as well as holiday schedules, and I set different priorities.

When I was still new here, all I wanted was to visit different places in HK during my holidays without considering other things. But then one day I realized that it's not the photos that I should only save, but the money as well. Traveling required money although the expenses aren't that costly compared to traveling in my country, but the food is expensive. HK is just a small place that you can even reach the end of it in just a matter of hours.

Believe me or not, in my entire stay here in HK, I only started saving money seriously last 2019 after my vacation in the Philippines. Since then, I have preferred staying at the nearby park where I can relax while being close to nature. At the same time, I can save money as well since I don't need to spend on the fare and buy food at the restaurant chosen by my friends. Until I found readcash that inspires me more to save more money.

Although sometimes, I feel bored, so I roam around the city and travel to other places by myself since my friends are sometimes unavailable. And I know that we can't just work and save money all the time, we should as well consider our happiness not just money.

And since I'm lazy to think of a good topic to write about, I decided to share these places in Hong Kong that I have visited. Let's stop chasing around the bush and start with the main topic of this article.

When you think about Hong Kong, the first thing that comes to your mind and you want to visit and take photos are the skyscrapers, Chinese temples, and the fascinating view of the rich cities. But for me, I love to visit the countrysides in HK.

Let's start with my most favorite place in Hong Kong.

Cheung Chau Island

Cheung Chau island may not be the prettiest tourist destination in HK, but it is my favorite. No wonder why I visited this island four times already. This is also one of the most visited tourist destinations in HK.

The first time I visited this island was in December 2017. It was my holiday but my boss invited me to go with them to this island where she grew up. She brought me to her parent's house and her brothers' restaurants. It was also my first time eating seafood congee (porridge or lugaw). She told me to roam around the island so I went to the near beach which you can see in the photo below.

My second time was last February 2021, our post-valentine trip with my friends. It was actually a boring trip because my friend's company was quite old already and doesn't want to roam around the island. So we just stayed near the beach after eating lunch.

Related Article: A Valentine Trip To Cheung Chau Island Hong Kong

The third time was also February 2021 after the Chinese New Year where my boss brought me there to receive some lai si or red pockets from her relatives.

The fourth time was last March 2021 with my friend Anne and the most enjoyable visit so far. Aside from visiting the pretty beach, there are many things that you can do on the island, such as, boat ride and visit the cave, bicycle ride and roam around the island, savor the local seafood dishes and Chinese traditional delicacies, visit love lock house and make a wish, or take the trail and witness the fascinating view of the sea and the island on the top of the mountain.

For those who want to take a break from the toxic city, this island is the best place to unwind. You can also find a temple and old boutiques on this island. And do not leave without tasting their local street foods and delicacies.


Shek-O Beach Resort

Shek-O Beach is one of the most popular scenic beaches in HK. The best time to go there is Summer but we went there during Winter, lol. That explains why we are wearing long sleeves and jackets, but my friend Abby took off her jacket and revealed her shoulder just for the photo shoot, lol. If you have read my series of stories 12DWH, you are familiar with this place and my outfit.

If people are exhausted from the city's noise and fed up watching skyscrapers, they chose to visit the countrysides and rural areas to unwind and breathe fresher air. We were supposed to visit this beach after hiking at Dragon's Back Mountain, but we lack out of time so we opted to visit this beach the next holiday. What I like about visiting beaches in cold seasons is because there are lesser visitors, therefore, lesser photo bombers, which is better for those who are only after taking photos, lol, and of course, no sunburn as well.


From an island to the beach, next is a fishing village.

Tai-O Fishing Village

Tai-O Fishing Village is a popular tourist destination in HK that attracts many visitors who want to experience the idyllic life of the village and savor the local dishes. They also call this village Venice Of The Orient because of the traditional stilt houses similar to Venice's. The houses in the village are like a low version of Venice's stilt houses.

It was Spring 2019 when I visited this place alone, that was the time when my boss' family had their vacation in Taiwan. The weather was quite cold but I was wearing shorts, lol. Aside from capturing the stilt houses and seafood, another thing that you can do in this village is to hike that mountain in the photo where you can see the South China Sea and the long bridge of HK going to Macau. Visitors can also have a boat ride and see the pink dolphins, that's according to the tarpaulins. Unfortunately, there were no pink dolphins, lol. The boat operators were only trying to coax the visitors so they can earn money from them. You can check the article below about my visit to this place.

Related Article: A Visit To Venice Of The Orient

And just a few months ago, my boss brought me to Tai O Village because she thought that I had never been to this place. But that day, I saw the other side of the village with a beautiful spot. It was the lake located at the back part of the village with a captivating view and fresher air. We also visited a temple near the lake.

We also eat in a seafood restaurant and roamed around inside the village after our lunch. It's where I got a closer look at the stilt houses and had witnessed the idyllic life of the fishermen. You can check more about this getaway of ours in this article below.

Related Article: My Saturday Getaway, Tired But Happy


From a fishing village to a garden. The last one for this article is...

Wetland Garden

Wetland Garden is a famous wetland reserve in Hong Kong. It covers 61-hectare areas in the Northwest New Territories near the mainland China border. From the name itself, you can tell what things you can see inside the garden. It includes swamps, streams, fishponds, farmlands, mangroves, butterfly sanctuaries, bird hides. Several freshwater fishes, wetland animals, and birds can be seen at the park, even crocodiles, and other water animals.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to go inside the park since it was already late afternoon when we got there after hiking one of the mountains in HK, and the entrance fee (HK$50) was quite expensive for others. So instead of going inside, we just took photos outside that also have spectacular views and spots that are perfect for photoshoots.

I love especially the green puzzle garden and this view of the high-rise buildings. The outside part of the garden also has a wide area where visitors can lay down their mats and have a picnic, even kids can play and run around as well.

So these are the first set of places I had visited here in HK. One article is not enough to list down all the places so I have to separate the others.

There are more places to share, so stay tuned 😁.

See you next time. 😊

40
$ 13.92
$ 11.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Journey, Experiences, Life, Random, ...

Comments

bet ko yung wetland Garden. Pero like ko din maexperience yung nagbabike dun sa Cheung Chau island . Naalala ko yung story ni Bella at John. hehehe. Dami mong magagandang memories jan sa HK.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Andun pic na yan 🀣 naghabulan kmi jan sa loob ng puzzle garden 🀣 charot lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaganda naman po nung beach..tumingin ako ng ibang view sa gugul and yung sa tabi ng dagat ..na mag uunwind kalang ..yung happy lang ..parang walang problema.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You visited quite awesome places well it's my dream to visit outside my country and hope this will be possible in future

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ganda nmn jan madam,Sana all nakalabas na ng bansa hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganda nang Chek-o beach eh..at yun garden..haaayyyyy Hongkong when?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda ng place madam! Makulay at maberde! Pero pak na pak talaga like na like ko yang pormahan mo! Ganda mo madam! Wiweet!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Salamuch madam. Mas maganda ka πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know when and I don't want to know how it will happen, Janey...when are we both going to these places together? Both families on a get away hahahaha. This is a wonderful sight.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't have a family 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao! Tag along mine πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San banda yung spot kung saan nag tipon tipon mga pinoy madam? Yung sa movie na Hello Love Goodbye. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sa Central yun.. Pro yang cheung chau island. Ksama dn sa movie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anjan kana non sa HK pag shoot nila madam?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup..andun ako mismo sa place na may nagkukumpulan na mga pinoy. First time ko dun makita di Kath in person.. Pro si alden d ko nakita..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuy talaga. Hehe. Grabe ang busy don noh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have only traveled throughout my country and that was while studying and working in my youth. You are very young and pretty in those photos. I love all your photos. In my country we also have a place where there are palafitos is the place of a group of indigenous people indigenous to the area. Here there are also wetlands, mangroves, with lots of special flora and fauna. Too bad I never had a good camera and my photos did not last or were lost. But I have the desire to return to these places if God allows me to do so with my son.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I want to visit thr inside part of that weyland garden soon ..it's here in HK where I am working

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah you're still there in H.K. How fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marami talaga magagandang tourist spots sa Hong Kong kasi yung tita ko ofw sa HK before, tas same po kayo ng tita ko mahilig din gumala sa countryside.

Diba ate sa Hong Kong po yung Kowloon Walled City?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yup. Malapit lang samin yan. Jan tambayan ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakadistract sa pagbasa po yung beaty mo ahehehehe. pereng sire! πŸ˜‚ Sarap maggala kung di lang po pandemic. When kaya ako makapangibng bansa?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Graduate ka muna πŸ˜… stud kpa rn b? πŸ˜… iponvlng BCH mkakapunta karn dto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nku ate, working na po ako! Hahaha! Graduated two years ago. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah ang ganda naman po jan sa wetland garden 😲 ang lalaki ng mga buildings. Sana po makapunta din ako jan sa HK. πŸ₯²πŸ’š

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Oo naman. Ipon ka marami BCH 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love those places and I have always longed to visit skyscrapers too which I believe it would come to pass but I don't know when. Those places are just too cool and fun to visit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can in the future if you want to.. There are many Nigerians here too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always wanted to visit Hong Kong. Thank you for this little tour. Travel memories are something we can always carry with us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There will be more places to follow 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, ang gaganda ng place na napuntahan mo. Ako kaya when 🀧, kahit sana makapamasyal lang mag isa at wala na si Juwa wahaha. Ang dami no na ding napuntahn. Marami kaoang mapupuntahan sana kaso uuwi kana sa September ee 😡

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kya next month. Susulitin ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the photo of the high rise buildings, the last photo. From that angle they look like mountain ranges :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aya nga yung buildings 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiisip ko tuloy kung sinadya ba yan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a dream to go Hong Kong to enjoy and watch most beautiful hills I know every country have some beautiful places but hong Kong ,Malaysia etc are the most beautiful one I think it's important to visit different places and know about them

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Add Singapore, Korea, and Japan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wohhhhh grabe busog na busog na naman yung mata ko sa pa.virtual tour..😍😍😍🀩🀩🀩 Actually, wala pa sa isip ko na pumunta sa ibang bansa, co'z I wanna check out first our country, but I hoped to come and visit HK when given a chance to. Maganda daw kasi dyan, gusto ko rin makita yung sinasabi nilang Disneyland.😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Next month itotourn ko kayo dun πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooohhhh...😲😲😲😲😲😲🀩🀩🀩🀩 Nakaka.excite naman..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice pictures, great places to visit. And I am happy that you find a me-time. πŸ€—πŸ§‘ All work and no play makes one dull. - proverb

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dati pa yan tr.. Lately sa park nlang talaga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sarap din mag reminisce.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to have great friends you can go on adventures with. Beautiful pictures, you look like a model.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I missed going out with them though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nangangarap ako makapunta sa hk o kahit saan tas mga hauntednplaces galaan 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haunted tlga? πŸ˜… haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute ng mga buildings parang isa lang ang developer hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Isa lang talaga haha, isang buong compound yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool another virtual travel. 😍 I really wanted to go to Hong Kong. Disneyland lang alam ko pero nakita ko to, marami pa palang maganda puntahan

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sobra dami. Kht maliit ang HK. Dami mgaganda puntahan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of the places looks familiar po parang nakita ko na sila sa movie ni Kathryn and Alden yung Hello, Love, Goodbye. Anyways, hopefully I get to visit HK also in the future. Most especially, HK Disneyland po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yung cheung chau island sis. Dun bahay ni alden 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Ang gaganda sis. Anjan din mga tita ko sa hk nag wowork tagal na. ☺️ Dapat din talaga magliwaliw sis para makalanghap ng sariwang hangin at pampawala ng stress na din

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So dami narin nya nagalaan πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The wetland garden- is it real?😳 i mean the picture you snapped there. one of the ladies with you had her fingers pointed towards the crocodiles mouth. Or is it the wallpaper

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aha.. It's a 3D wallpaper 🀣🀣 Since we didn't go inside, we just took photos on that wallpaper with the animals haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! BetterπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woow ang dami nyo pong napuntahan pla talaga na lugar 😍. Gusto ko din pumunta sa Hongkonh tapos bumisita sa Shek-O Beach Resort, since I am really a huge fan of beaches πŸ€—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang ganda dun as in.. Hndi masyado matao at malayo sa city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice holiday photos. Even though costly to move around, I still think it's important to visit different places to enrich yourself through experiences, while you are there. You won't know when the next chance comes along. Whether the tour of a place is memorable or not also depends on your company. Great to know that you have a tight group of friends there.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True.. I don't know when I can visit HK again.. So next month, I'll be fulfilling some of my dreams in this country 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You really have visited a lot of places. I am wishing on getting to HongKong as well. I wanted to see the view of South China Sea and the bridge going to Macau. I love doing photo shoots with my besties as well. Though Im not a fan of beaches, but maybe I will like it if ever I can be able to see it in person.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm really planning to hike that mountain soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Kaganda. Makikita ba daw ang whole city pag nasa top na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi naman yun malapit sa city.. At hndi masyado kataasan πŸ˜… kya hndi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah okay. So pure hiking lang talaga siya. Pero kaganda parin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano konek nung O sa dulo ate yung Shek-O saka Tai-O? Curious lang po haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same chinese name 🀣🀣 d ko rn alam haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis yung isang picture is somewhat like familiar from a movie which entitled "Hello Love Goodbye" by Alden Richards and Kathryn Bernardo the leading casts.. Sana all sis. . I wish someday I'm gonna visit this place also...

God bless you sis..β€οΈπŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yung cheung chau island, may scenes sila dun.. Dun nakatira si Alden 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan nga sis.. kaya nung nakita ko first naalala ko agad yung movie nila...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super ganda naman ng mga places diyan sis. Tsaka napaka relaxing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sobra relaxing.. Mas mganda tumambay kesa sa city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo sis, ako nga rin tyoe ko tumambay sa mga mountain2 something o beach kesa sa city. Ingay sa city tas crowded pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahangin pa dun at ganda ng view hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth sis, super duper relaxing at stress free for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Favorite ko jan, yung Tai-O! Super ganda jan! Beautiful photos, sis and the model of course!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Napuntahan mo sis? D ko pa nahike yung bundok. Magnda daw dun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu , sis pero saglit lang kami nun kasi hinahabol namin yung oras hehe taz gabi pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago