Know The Fact Before You Assume

45 104
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

April 16, 2022

I was looking for another prompt to have a topic to write about as I don't want to stress my mind thinking about it. Work is kind've exhausting so I'll let prompts save my daily blogging for a while. Besides, there are a plethora of prompts of questions recently that are worth answering.

I came across this article by @ARTicLEE entitled Trying To Remember Those Days and I got caught by the first prompt.

Flashback to a childhood memory

I have a lot of childhood memories, good and bad, but mostly indelible memories of my innocence and naughtiness, lol. You can check these near-death childhood accidents I got involved in back when my curiosity was still at its peak. There is one though that I didn't share here yet, but kind of an embarrassing one, and I felt like, during those times, my family want to disgrace me, lol, or maybe it was just my feeling. If my memory serves me right, I was in prekindergarten by that time.

I was born in the countryside where our neighbors have their own backyards where they could plant vegetables and other sources of daily food. Our backyard, on the other hand, has banana trees and other fruit-bearing trees, but we have no yard for vegetables.

One day, I came across our neighbor's house and saw a lot of sweet potatoes in their yard. An innocent child thought that it was free to harvest sweet potatoes from our neighbor's yard since I always saw my uncle harvesting our fruits in our backyard. In my mind, I was happy that I could give something to my mom and we would have fresh vegetables for dinner. I was happily harvesting some sweet potatoes when our neighbor went out of his house and shouted at me. My instinct told me that I did a wrong act and so I should run away.

I did run away to the upper part of our village and hid inside our kindergarten school. I was so afraid of what our neighbor would do to me and so are my parents once he told them about my thievery. I hid in the same spot for the whole day and until night. I was hesitant to go out of the place as our neighbor might see me.

Then I heard a group of people calling my name and they were holding torches. I still didn't move an inch and my heart even beat faster and my tummy was gurgling because of starvation. I thought they will punish me so I just hid behind the wide plywood. The next thing that happened was, I saw them pulling the plywood and a hiding little girl was revealed.

I was hugging my knees and tears falling on my face. I feared what would happen next but I heard my mother's voice and she took me out of the place. Later I found out that our neighbor confessed to my parents about my innocent thievery and she asked for forgiveness for my frivolous act.

Unbeknownst to me, my parents were already worried about my whereabouts and they thought I was lost or abducted by someone as they can't find me anywhere in the village. It was already late at night and so they called other villagers to help them look for me. They came across our kindergarten school and heard a child sobbing. And that's how I was found by them.

Lesson learned?

Know the fact before you assume.

I thought our neighbor would scold me so I ran away.

I thought my parents would disgrace me so I hid and didn't go home.

But the aftermath was different from my expectations and I just made my parents worry much about my sudden disappearance. Since that incident, I didn't step foot into any neighbor's territory anymore, even when I grew up. Unless my mother would order me to run an errand that needed to visit another house. That probably was one of the reasons too that I became an introverted, lol.

In life, we often assume things without knowing the fact, and that sometimes led to misunderstandings and conflicts. We shouldn't make a supposition or base our conclusion on uncertain feelings or thoughts. We rather ask than get caught red-handed or make things complicated.

That's a thought to ponder.

What about you? Have you ever had an experience like this back when you were a kid? Share it below.

Thanks for reading.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

42
$ 12.48
$ 11.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 31
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

hahaahaah natatawa ako kasi nga ang cute mo siguro na ng tatakbo kasi akala mo papagalitan ka hahah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na try ko rin yan before, ung teacher namin may jar of candies sa mesa nya one day then one classmate took 1 and another a couple, and on my turn to grab one nakita ako ng teacher at ako ang napagalitan haha! Akala ko libre eh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty of this one, I sometimes think the negative outcome that's why I'm now stuck in my situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not to forget the childhood. I also heard a lot of gossip from my mother.

I used to hide by telling my mother to do so many wrong things. I did a lot of mischief as a child and was beaten by my mother. Now remember the smile, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was an honest mistake lang talaga madam. And you know kids, we're just too innocent to everything trying out anything to explore. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sweet nubg oart na nasaisipan mo lang may maibibigay ka sakanilanate, di sya embarrassment, nakakatuwa na sa murang edad yan kagad naramdaman mo. Ako nung bata ninakaw ko softdeinks nung lalake tas ininom sa lokod ng tindhan😅 ayaw kasi ako painumin kasi super bawal sakin ng soda since child. Napabili tuloy ulensi kuya tas akala nya nananaginip lang sya na nakabili nasya. Sabi nya sa lola ko, "Teh di paba ako nakabili ng softdrinks kanina?." 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung Akala ko is pinuntahan ako Ng classmate ko tapos alaga ko pamangkin ko nun, Nung Makita ko classmate ko,agad akong yumuko then nakalimutan ko Yung paamngkin ko na hawak ko. Akya Ang nangyari malaglag Yung pamangkin ko sa bintana, then Nakita din ako Ng klasmate ko. Kaya ayun napagalitan ako.

Akala ko aksi pinuntahan ako para sabihan na hinahanap na ko Ng teacher Namin,ilang Araw Kasi akong Hindi pumasok na that time kaya natakot ako. Ayun sa pagattago ko napahamak pa Yung pamangkin ko. Buti Sinaloa pa Siya Ng anghel Niya Kasi Nung mahulog Siya Hindi man lang umiyak.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hala grabe ka. Kawawa nman yung bata 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kulit mo pala nung kabataan mo sis hahaha,,natawa ako sa kwento mo dati pag nagnakaw ako ng kung anu anung fruits sa kapit bahay sisigaw nalang panakaw sa fruits niyo..hah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

poor kid.. you really stayed there for hours sis. gutom and pawis plus iyak... but all is well... you learned your lesson although you were so harsh to yourself hehe anyway, it's a memory you really had sketched in your mind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Super iyak haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember a cousin of ours who is our neighbor too. He would do exactly what you have done, hide from his parents. There were occasions that parents and relatives were so worried about him for it's getting dark and he still hasn't come home only to find out he was hiding in the bushes nearby watching his parents and other people passing by frantically searching for him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. Nkakasad na nakakatawa lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha aliw naiimagine kita a 😹 Meron din ako ganyan experience ipang article ko tom save ko na tu haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a child I stole a lot of fruit from neighboring gardens in the village and when I was caught I just ran away. It never occurred to me to hide in school. The fear and excitement I experienced while escaping was like a game.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well i have this strict father with an iron fist..I feared him more than our neighbor 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A naive kid like me back then would do this also if I'm in your shoe, kids always had their mind focus on sabing themselves haha but without us thinking na yung mga akala natin ay mas makakasama pala lalo tayo sa kakaiwas neto haha, anyway I had a lot of experience like this one po haha too many to mention I'm also a pasaway back then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iarticle na.yan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gosh I was almost surprised by this incident, it turned out that a beautiful girl had experienced something that almost made me depressed. indeed, sometimes when they see adults take actions, young people often follow them, one thing that must be known is that everyone's thinking is different in responding to something because not everyone is able to think and analyze deeply and often act before investigating the truth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Because we have this, advance thinking haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nalang nakita ka pa, baka nahimatay kapa sa gutom nun 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun na nga 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiimagine ko un takot mo kasi biruin mo, buong arw ka nagtago doon.

Naalala ko nun nagtago din kamo ng kapatid ko dahil trip lang namin. Tapos nin nagkakagulo na sila sa paghahanap sa amin, muntik na tumawag ng pulis😂 doon na kami lumabas ng kapatid ko..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Iba naman yun 🤣.. Ako sa sobra takot pagalitan ni papa.. Hndi umuwi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha, hinarvest mo ba naman tanim ng kapitbahay mo, hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our innocent childhood was like that. We thought that our parents would beat the hell out of us but actually they cared a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe one of your shortest articles? ahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Maybe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsk tsk tsk ahhahahah. Kulit...! Did your parents explain to you how it got resolved? Hehe...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hndi nmn tlga seryoso yun kc kapitbahay namin.. Takoy lng ako kay papa 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhaaha. Ano tawag sayo ni tatay mo pag galit siya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Everything that happens is a Lesson to us all. But it was weird to learn that you'll stay in one position for so long just to escape an assumed punishment. Good to know that nothing bad happened to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just starved a little haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was actually funny to read 😆 you had to hide out in a school all day for something that wasn't so serious, it must have been a torturous experience. I wonder if you would have remained there all night as well if you weren't found 🤔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For sure 😅..i might just sleep on the dirty floor haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako dun ,yung sa akin naman seryales yung kinuha ko ewan anong tawag sa inyo nyan ,para syang grapes tapos nakita ako ng mayari ,grabi yung takbo ko at hindi ako agad umuwi sa amin baka malaman ng tatay at pagalitan ako😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Dami tlga kaloka experience ng kabataan natn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny and touching story. You wouldn't blame yourself though looking back then. You were just a child. I think this applies to people who suffer from self loathing and think people will never love them, hiding themselves in cocoons. They are assuming. The world is full of lovable and loved people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all are haha.. In many cases

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're just a kid back then so for sure talaga, anyone will react like that. Even me. 🤧🙈 Kakatakot oa naman kapag ginamitan na ng inay ng pamatay nyanf pito haha. Ganon yun pag tinatawag ako, hindi sigaw kundi pito hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. So far wala kmi nun..palo agad ni papa 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like I was reminiscing my childhood memories before😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhm I never remembered having almost the same experience but I can relate to the part that we should not assume or maybe overthink coz sometimes it really leads to trouble.

Its nice reading such article about a childhood experience dear. I felt your fear as a child back then...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago