Near-Death Childhood Accidents

55 73
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

April 4, 2022

Curiosity kills the cat....that's how we were back when we were kids. We like to explore our feelings and our world through our curiosity, active imagination, and naughty mind. Our innocent minds and bodies always want to try new things and explore every corner of our home and even outside of it when our mothers permit us to wander outside.

Have you ever tried copying your older siblings and relatives back when you were a kid? As the only female in our family during my childhood times, I always tried what my brothers were doing. Peeing while standing, have you tried it? I always wondered why they stand when peeing so I copied them as well, but only ended up having wet undies and have been scolded by my mother, lol. It was a question in my mind as well of why their pants didn't get wet but only mine. Only I realized when I grew a little older and learned that we have different private parts, lol.

That was just a stupid act but others led to something terrible, the young accidents.

A Hard Fall From A Tree

If my memory serves me right, I was only 7 years of age when this incident happened. Our house was surrounded by trees back then where my adventurous brothers love to play and harvest the ripe fruits of our fruit-bearing trees. A young female kid wasn't permitted to climb trees as I might fall and my father would definitely scold me. But one day when no one was around, I couldn't stop myself from trying to climb the tree behind our house. I believed I could climb as well as my brothers did.

I reached my hands and held on to the branches, stepped my feet on the barks, then climbed higher. One reach went wrong when I accidentally held a weak and brittle branch. It broke and I was out of balance then I found myself falling onto the ground.

Image from: https://www.prints-online.com/boy-falls-tree-7124065.html

A loud thud sound that only I heard broke the silence of the afternoon when my body crashed onto the ground. My breath stopped all of the sudden and I even thought I would die. As I regained my breath, I slowly sat down and tried to absorb what had happened.

That incident remained secret as I feared being scolded by my mom, especially my father, lol.

A Near-Death Bicycle Accident

I was in primary six or freshmen high school when this happened. One day my father bought a bicycle and I was so excited to learn how to ride it. With the help of my father, I easily learned it after a week and drove it on my own in the second week. Near our home was a small bridge with a quite wide platform that became our practice ground. The road from the bridge was connected to the main road's intersection as well, so definitely not an ideal place to practice biking for a kid.

I thought I was brave enough to bike along the highway so I didn't stop pedaling and was supposed to turn right at the intersection. Unfortunately, I saw a jeepney (passengers' vehicle) coming and I suddenly panicked. Instead of going right, my bicycle went straight to the main road as if I wanted to suicide and the bicycle's break seemed to be broken. In my mind, I thought I would die once I bumped into the vehicle. 

Fortunately, the jeepney stopped the moment I hit the spot a few inches from its bumper. My heart was throbbing so loud and beating fast but grateful for being alive as if my guardian angel had saved me from death. The driver the. shouted at my carelessness and I got embarrassed as passengers looked out of the windows. Ever since that incident, I haven't ridden a bicycle anymore. And the next time I tried it again, I was already 23 years old, lol. But I was still afraid to bike along the highway where vehicles are passing by. It felt like I got phobia after that incident. So I just prefer bicycling at the park.

I Almost Killed My Little Sister

Being the eldest daughter of the family, I served as my mother's assistant and babysitter to my little siblings. I was happy when I finally got a little sister as all my siblings back then were boys. When she was 2 years old and knew how to walk already, we used to play behind our house by the riverside. Even though there is a river behind our house, believe me, I never learned how to swim properly unlike my brothers, lol.

As the babysitter and eldest daughter, I was responsible for looking after her. We were by the riverside one afternoon and catching dragonflies. I was busy chasing one dragonfly when my sister fell into the river. I panicked when I saw her struggling in the water, yet I was hesitant to jump into it as I don't know how to swim and the part where my sister fell was quite deep. In my mind I asked, "how could I save her, I don't know how to swim, I might just drown."

It seemed like I froze looking at the scene of my sister struggling in the water. My mind went blank and my knees turned to jelly. My father would definitely kill me, I told myself. After a few minutes, my brother came and I called for help. He immediately jumped into the water and saved my little sister who, by then, had already drunk river water.

I felt too guilty and irresponsible when I saw her coughing and spitting out river water. But everything went well afterward and my mother let it pass since my sister was saved. Luckily, my father wasn't there and I guess my mother didn't tell him about the incident, or else, both of us would be scolded, lol. However, my mind thought about it for a few days and feared playing with her by the riverside again. That incident never happened again as I became more careful while babysitting her.

When we grew up and I brought back the story of that incident, my sister and I just both laughed at that terrible memory and made the scene funny where she was struggling in the water, lol. But sometimes I would think, "what if my brother didn't come that time?" I probably won't live like how I am right now and still stuck in the dark past. But I guess, God saved us at that time as we were still too young to suffer a painful incident.


This weekend challenge on another platform brought back these unforgettable childhood accidents. While reminiscing them, I somehow thought of how I grew up over these past few decades. From a weak one to a risk-taker.

Sometimes, it's our awful past that makes us stronger and opted to conquer the perilous world. To make us grow as a person and be tougher to face the challenges that may come ahead.

How about you, what are your childhood accidents? Share it below.

Thanks for stopping by.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

33
$ 8.25
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Big-E
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
+ 18
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah i can feel your situation. Its hard really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko un kapatid ko nun muntik malunog din sa ilog bumigay kasi un nilagay na bridge. Di ko din alam gagawin ko. Buti nakahawak pa rin siya at nagawang iahon sarili nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi rn sya marunong lumangoy? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only relate w/ d last one. Muntik q mahulog ang pinsan qng baby when I was 9 years old. D q alam bakit muntik q xa mabitawan nung pinatong q xa bintana... Grabeng kaba q nun. Ibinigay q agad sa nanay nya na nsa labas ng bhay ksama ng nanay q... Kya up to now, ayaw q bsta n lng iniiwan anak q

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. May kapatid dn ako binantayan ko nauntog ulo kc lumusot nung kakargahin ko sna 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako din sis nahulog nahulog sa ilog nung tumaob yong baruto na sinakyan namin..seguro sa bigat ng mga kasama ko kaya tumaob,,,pero ang tapang mo sis kasi dika nagpanic nung time na un..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Matapang ka sis nung bata ka til now hehe. Pero glad walang serious injury nung nahulog ka. Saka yung sa bike din, buti huminto agad yung sasakyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super kaba ko nun. Kala ko katapusan ko na.hinayaan ko na nga lng yung bike wala na prino sabi ko sa self ko mamatay na ako 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, pero buti talaga d ka nasaktan non. Hindi mo din time hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa akin Sis muntik na ako malunod nung bata ako, pero sabi ng parents ko pinaka malala yung nahulog ako at napilay, akala nga daw nila di na ako makakalakad:D But then stay safe tayo always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang dami ko ding curiosity noon pero di namam humantong sa pagkakaroon ko ng malalang aksidente. Like yong pagtayo habang naihi. Ginaya ko yan sila hahaha. Limot ko na yung iba basga may mga ganyang tagpo sa buhay ko haha.

Pero grabi yang sayo, lalo nong muntik na malunod sister mo 😲. If andyan ako sa sitwasyon na yan not sure if makakaya ko din ba na tumalon. I think hindi din lalo di ako maalam lumangoy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti tlga dumating kpatid ko..or else. Bka wala ako dto ngayon lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hinding Hindi ko makakalimutang accident na nangyari sakin na muntik ko nang ikamatay ay Yung makalunok ako ng heart shape pendant. Medyo may kalawang narin yun at may kalakihan, di na ako makahinga that time at Sina mama nagpapanic narin. Mabuti nalang at nailuwa ko at di ko alam kung paano ko naluwa yun. Sadyang napakabuti ng panginoon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sakin naman po nun ..sa bisekleta. pababa yun na daan then may kasalubog ako na paakyat na truck.. wala pa naman preno nung gamit ko ..hinila nalang ako ni mama tas dumiretso na yung bike kasakulong yung truck..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pababa dn. Daan galing tulay..hndi ako mkapreno dhl sa panick. Buti tlga nag stop yung drivetr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had lots of accidents when I was a kid and that's because I played a lot outdoors. I have also fallen from a tree and till this day, I still have a fear of climbing trees 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me not anymore when I grew up haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so lucky my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really try to avoid bicycle and I thank God you are save🥺🥺🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, such childhood memories. I also had a near death experience when I was younger. we were on a bike with my nephew on the way to river. the road was too steep and I forgot to check the brakes of our bike, luckily I turned right to the ricefield and only sustained minor damage if did not turn we would bumped into a pile of logs and possibly dead on the spot..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had an accident with my bicycle too when i was younger, i also jumped into a fire. My legs got burnt but the scars are now gone. I knew there was fire there but i thought i would be fast without getting burnt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. You think you're an immortal back then? 😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako marunong umakyat ng kahoy at magbisikleta ate kaya safe ako sa ganyan kaso yung muntik na malunod related na related yung pinsan ko na tinulak ko sa dagat na hindi masyadong marunong lumangoy at buti nalang ako noon marunong na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Ang kulit mo cguro.nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra ate kaya laging ready pamalo ni mama hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeng nakakakaba nmn yang mg accidents na naranasan mo. Buti nagwork out din in the end. I relate dun sa story mo sa sister mo. Since di rin ako marunon lumangoy, and nung kapatid ko rin napapunta sa malalim, di ko rin alam gagawin ko. I wanted to help pero I knew na di naman ako marunong lumangiy kaya baka malunod lang kami dalawa. Buti dumating agad kapatid niyo para masave si sister.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dami pla relate jan haha. Yung tipong younger siblings ko mas marunong pa lumangoy sakn 🤣.. Pero grabe kaba ko nun isipin na si papa baka mapatay ako kpg nalunod kpatid ko lol. Mas takot sa gagawin ni papa haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn!! Those accidents are no jokes!! I've had a few incidents myself so I can totally relate to this. Some were because of my siblings and some others were of my own doing. Such a vicious cycle yeah😅 Till this day my sister and I still laugh about those incidents but I'm sure back then it wasn't very funny at all. Memories!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Accidents that became funny .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I have a few incidences that relate well to your story. Fell from a tree a number of times with a broken arm, collapsed on a football field from a hard tackle from an opponent, and fell unconscious. Water was used to bring me back to life. I also had a bicycle and motorbike accident as a kid. I thank God for saving me on those terrible occasions. Childhood days can be so messy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can share that too in your article hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, grabe yun mga pinagdaanan mo nun bata Jane ah, ako din may mga ganyan near death experience lalo na yun sa puno din.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ikwento na yan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nahulog narin ako noon as puno sis. Luckily hindi masama ang tama,tsaka ilang beses na ko nasimplang sa bike. Puro gasgas ako noon pero mas grabe yung friend ko noon nalaglag talaga sa imburnal.

Mga accident talaga hindi maiiwasan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nkakahiya kung sa imburnal 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa sis.😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel how great your past problem is that it almost made you depressed with the accident problem that befell you. I didn't think because of the tree you dared to climb it and almost hurt you badly. I've also fallen from a tree so I've felt such pain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One has to be careful at all times, safety first...

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang angniba mong experience ay na experience ko din ng bara pa ako,Yong aakyat sa punontqpos na hulog bali ang kamay ,sa bike ,sa mga kapatid palagi akong napapalo kasi di ko inaalqgqqn ng tama.

E try ko ito gawin na challenge sis pag di ako busy .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just be thankful you didn't experience an incident that made your body disabled. I also experienced the same thing when I fell from a tree when I was 6 years old and it was traumatizing when I had to face heights.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have remember two thing of my Childhood memories. One thing is I also fall down from the tree and did accident when I was trying to learn bike riding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Same stories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman akong mga aksidente ate na naranasan, pero yun lang nalunod ako sa pool. Buti nahila kami at nailigtas ate. Iba yung panic pag lunod talaga eh. Pero hindi naman ako nagka-trauma sa tubig

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Panu pa kya sister ko nun..liit pa nya 😅. Buti at maliit pa at wala pa masyado maalala.. Ako nlng nagpapaalala sa kanya haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. It seems like you had the most adventurous childhood days. The only one that's still fresh in my memory is how I almost blinded my sister with a catapult. The shot was fired few inches above her left eye.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was terrible..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nahulog din ako sa bike nuon kaya nabali kaliwang kamay ko hahaha hindi na bumalik sa dating form kahit pinadoctor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So gang ngayon ganun parn?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sist singkaw pa rin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good that the worst didn't happen, and that your brother came in time. As kids, we were wild and lucky that the worse we got is injury

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ilang beses din akong na hulog sa kahoy ,pati sa kalabaw kaya puro pilay ako dati😂Dahil sa sobrang kalikutan .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sakn kc likod una bumagsak. As n hndi muna nkahinga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago