Non-Stop Rain and Flood!

4 60
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago
Topics: Weather, Philippines, Storm, Agaton, Capiz, ...

April 12

It's the middle of summer here in the Philippines. However, it's been raining for almost a week already. As the tropical depression Agaton crossing the country at a very slow pace, it brings rain to almost all of the Visayas area. The torrential rains have caused floods and landslides in different parts of the country.

Source: PAG-ASA

Because of this bad weather, the local government canceled all classes. Yes, even though we are doing online classes, bad weather can affect the stability of Internet services.


Hello again, fellow readcash writers, readers, and friends. How is the weather on your part of the world?  Heavy rain keeps pouring here in our province and I believe it's the same in our neighboring provinces and other areas of the Visayas region.

I was just planning to do some freewriting today, however, I still feel drowsy due to a lack of sleep last night. It's not just the rain that kept me up, something happened last night.


Insect Bite

 My wife woke up suddenly around midnight. She felt something bit her or stung her on her left chest. Somewhere in the lower rib cage. She was worried that whatever it was, it might sting also our kids.

 I took a look at it. I saw a couple of small puncture wounds. The wounds were black and probably about half a centimeter apart. I thought it could be a centipede that got under her shirt while she was sleeping. The non-stop rain probably have bothered the bugs from the ground and they went crawled through some tiny spaces around the house.

We did not see any bugs on the bed. I let the light on this time, just in case. However, she continued to feel the pain of the bite. We took a look at it again. There is swelling around the wound and red marks spreading on her skin. Whatever bit her must have injected some mild venom or toxins.

I checked the internet for some home remedies. The only thing that we can apply is a cold compress. Since we don't have ice in the freezer, I used the remaining frozen sausages in the freezer and wrapped them with a handkerchief.

I stayed awake and observed my wife for any adverse reaction. Why doing that, I message a doctor friend. He suggested a cold compress for the swelling and calamine lotion for the itch.

It was around 3:30 in the morning that I saw my wife had fallen asleep. I decided to sleep as well. However, my body clock never fails. I'm always up at 4:30.

I wanted to start writing at five in the morning. However, due to lack of sleep, I wasn't able to. Up to now, I still feel a bit sleepy. I'm writing this in-between long breaks.

Cancellation of Work

Early this morning the local government announced the cancellation of work due to the storm. We are not under any storm-signal, but various areas in the province are already flooded because of the rain.

Flood

 As I was browsing through my Facebook wall, I saw some pics posted by a frien, showing the town of Cuartero flooded.

Source: Facebook

 My wife also mentioned that her cousin posted some photos showing waist-deep water in their house.

 Tropical Depression Basyang

To make matters worse, even before Agaton leaves the country, another tropical depression is entering the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR). This new tropical depression, named 'Basyang' can bring more rain to the already affected areas.

 It's the first time in my life that I have experienced the storm in the middle of summer. It's also the Holy Week celebration for us Catholics and it's the first time that it will be a rainy celebration. I wonder if the traditional procession will be held in this weather.

Final Thoughts

I would like to end this post by sharing this photo. Because this is what Capiz needs right now.

 

 Source: Facebook

 Thanks for reading


 Previous Posts


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7
$ 2.81
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Talon
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago
Topics: Weather, Philippines, Storm, Agaton, Capiz, ...

Comments

I know this must be very hard and stressful omg!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Grabe nga yan dear kakaiba na talaga ang panahon ngayon kay summer summer may mga bagyo 🥺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oo nga eh. epekto na to ng climate change

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really painful knowing how difficult life could be plus encountering things like this. Omg!

$ 0.00
1 year ago