Paid For To Travel- A Perk I Missed in my Old Job

4 68
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago
Topics: Job, Life, Work, Travel

April 6, 2022

It's a rainy summer day.Currently, I am in Kalibo- the capital of Aklan. The town of Kalibo is about two hours ride from my hometown. What am I doing here? I was paid to travel to at least four towns in this province.

Not just to travel actually. I was contracted to install wireless network equipment for four government offices here.


Hello, wonderful readers. If there is something that I missed in my old job, is free travel. Not just free travel, I get paid extra to travel to different places in the country. I quit that job long ago though. Thus my free travel perks halted.

Last week though, I was contacted by a company to install some equipment for them.

That's what I will share with you in this short post.


Early Morning Trip

I left home around four in the morning. I had two big boxes of equipment with me. I was thinking, I will leave the content of these boxes anyway. I was wrong. I will explain later why.

Anyway, the van left the terminal around 5:30 in the morning. The travel time to Kalibo took about two hours.

One Lesson When Travelling

When I got there, I started looking for a hotel where I can stay for the night. There were two near the terminal just as the driver said. However, one was too expensive for me. The other one is available... let's just say, I don't feel secure in that place. So I checked the Internet for available rooms that are available.

I found one with a rate of P500 per night. It was close to the terminal too. I went there. Only to find out that the regular rate was P700. I asked why it was rated P500 online. She said that sometimes, prices online differ. I joked I should have booked online.

The lesson, when traveling, book your hotel online ahead of schedule. Chances are, you can get a lower rate. I'm not sure why 

First Installation.

My first installation was in the Provincial Capitol of Aklan. I wa amazed by the size of their Capitol building.  I think it is the biggest Capitol building in the four provinces of Panay Islaaknd.

The Capitol Building of Aklan

Lack of Coordination

It took me some time to find the person in charge or anybody from the office who will be using the equipment that I am about to install. This is one thing I have observed in this project. The company that hired me has not coordinated with the offices concerned. Anyway, it's quite complicated.

Tests Failed.

I installed the first equipment A wireless Internet gateway. I thought it would be quick. However, when I tested it. The upload speed did not reach the required minimum. I notified the person coordinating with installations online. He just asked me to send three sets of speed test results and declare it failed and moved out.

Speed tests results

It was nearly lunch. Since I haven't eaten my breakfast, I was famished, I bought some takeout from Chowking. Before one in the afternoon, I went out of the hotel. I brought with me two sets of equipment. I was planning to cover two municipalities in the afternoon.

In my next two installations, the connection did meet the required speed as well. Thus, both installations were declared failures as well.

It's not the end of my trip though. But I will have to cut this short. It's already late. I missed the last public utility van earlier this evening. I need to catch the first one tomorrow morning.

Live an abundant life.

Thanks for reading.


All Images are mine

Previous Posts


 

17
$ 11.85
$ 11.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
+ 9
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago
Topics: Job, Life, Work, Travel

Comments

That job must be tiring but also something that you would enjoy because you can get to travel in different places and see new things even though you're main priority there is to work you also have experienced new places

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy saya ng perk na ganyan.. ilang years ka din jan sa work na yan sir?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung sa Cebu pa ako, mga 5 years din. Nung bumalik ako dito sa amin, wala na ring free travel. Sa ngayon this month pa lang ako nabigyan ng ganitong projects as a freelancer. Heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow! Nakaka miss nga mag travel related to work. I did travel blogging before. It was not a job coz it's my personal travel blog only but I had some perks while traveling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago