My Huawei Experience is Getting Better and Better

10 84
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

April 13

 In May 2019, Google suspended Huawei's access to Google updates and services, this is in compliance with the executive order issued by former US President Donald Trump. Though existing Huawei devices can still access Google Play Store and other Google services, any new devices produced by the said Chinese company can not.

 Read:  Google blocks Huawei access to Android updates after blacklisting ()


Greetings once again, my wonderful readers and friends. I have been a Huawei phone users for more than six years now. I forgot the model of my first Huawei phone, but the next one was a Y5-III, followed by P30-Lite. Currently, I am using Nova 7 SE. All these are from my post-paid plans via Globe Telecoms.

 Before I renewed my plan with Globe in July last year, I already knew that this new model will no longer have access to Google Mobile Services. When I renewed my plan, the Globe staff initially offered me an Oppo unit. I asked specifically for a Nova7 SE. I was after the 64 Megapixel main camera. Which is way much better than Oppo's 48 Megapixel camera.

 It was a risk. I knew that someday, I might regret choosing a phone that does not have access to Google Mobile Services.

Source 

Google Apps and Services That I Love to Use.

 Aside from Gmail (which I think, I can slowly drop now), I love to use the following services from Google.

  • Google Drive - where else can you get a free 15 GB of cloud storage? Dropbox only offers an initial 2 GB and most  free cloud storage services offers only 5 GB. I always save my important files in my Google Drive. It saved me from disaster for at least a couple of times.

  • Google Photos - Another life saver. I love to take photos. With Google Photos, I don't have to worry about cloud backup anymore. I take a photo, then access them almost instantly from my laptop. That's the benefit of syncing your Google photos and Google drive.

  • Google Office Suite - Google Docs, Spreadsheet, Slides and keep. These apps were my replacement for the Microsoft Office Suite. Google Docs in particular was my editor of choice because of its minimalistic user interfacce (UI)

Third-Party Apps that require Google Mobile Service (GMS) access

Aside from these Google mobile apps, there are numerous third party applications that require GMS access that I can't use in my Huawei phone.

  • Coins.Ph Wallet

  • MetaMask

  • Appics

  • Bitcoin Wallet app.

  • MIT App Inventor - Used to test the apps being developed using MIT's App inventor.

  • Kodular - This is similar to the App Inventor.

As you can see, most of cryptocurrency-related apps require GMS. Aside from these, there are other apps and games that I can't install in my Huawei phone.

Quick App Solution

Huawei has a "Quick App" solution. However, the apps look like the web version on a stand-alone window. Some apps like Twitter works just fine. However, some have limited features or will not run at all, including the Google Office Suite.

 Alternate Apps

This prompted me to look for alternative apps. Then I found Zoho Office suite. I suppose I am grateful for Huawei's limitation. Otherwise, I won't find out about Zoho Write, which I am now using to compose my articles.

Cryptocurrency-related apps

 Unfortunately, I still can't run any cryptocurrency-related apps on my Huawei. Which is a great inconvenience on my part. Thus, I can't even monitor the prices of Bitcoin Cash at times.

 GSpace

Last week, aside from the financial blessings that I received, I received a bonus. My cousin who works at Huawei Philippines was here. He told me of one possible solution. GSpace.

GSpace is like an emulator or perhaps a bridge that allows a Huawei device to access Google Mobile Services. Thus, allowing the unit to install and run applications from Google Playstore.

With GSpace, Huawei can now run apps that require GMS access. Now, I can participate daily in Appics, backup my photos at Google Photos, and do almost anything that I like to do on an Android device.

In Closing

I was actually thinking of buying another Android phone so I can use the cryptocurrency apps. But With GSpace, I no longer need to do that. Also,  now I don't have a reason not to buy a Huawei tablet.

If you are a Huawei user, search for GSpace on the Petal search. You will love this app. 

Thanks for reading.


 Previous Posts


 

 

13
$ 5.49
$ 5.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

This is lit and a good article as well..Those Huawei users will always find it hard to access play store 'cause the phone don't have the capability of having it but this initiative and research of yours will.surely help them. Nice and Keep it up. It is informative

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a really good solution by Gspace

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba iba na OS ng huawei ngayon? Parang tiwalag system nila sa android. Wala rin google mail ano?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Harmony OS ang sa Huawei. Walang GMail app, pero madali lang isetup ang email client ng Huawei. So, wala syang problema sa email.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yes I remember. Because Donald Trump accused Huawei of spying. Am I correct?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is correct. But I believe, the main reason is, Huawei was leading the race in 5G technology and he doesnt like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the people that I know that is using Huawei their number concerned is about play store because they can't access all the apps they need especially in online class because some applications needs a Google powered apps and services.

Can Gspace can access all the application that from the play store?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It seems it can. I can now use Google Meet and Zoom through GSpace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately I bought huawei y7 a months ago. At start I was crying how gonna I buy such device with no play store. Well I'm also using bch app and other crypto apps via G space, the great app indeed. The only thing which I founded good in huawei y7 a js touch (led screen). By the way, is there any chance of allowing Google play services in huawei set?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I read that Huawei can do that if and when the ban is lifted. So it's up to.the US Government. In the meantime, GSPace is one of the best solutions

$ 0.00
2 years ago