When do we rest in this world?

35 102
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

How would you feel if you go to bed at midnight (12 am) and hear someone calling your name and tapping you around 3 am?. Frustrated and Angry?. I couldn't feel either of the two because that was what I signed up for. I need to gather as much money as I can now, the new session is coming and fees payment has started, and in a few days or weeks, hostel fees will be needed. So you can see why I resigned to fate when I got tapped to wake up.

Walking half awake, I got into the bus and using my arms as a pillow, I doze off. I was jolted out of sleep when the bus stopped suddenly. I looked around thinking we've gotten to our destination but was shocked when I checked the time and it was just quarter after 3. I heard the noise and sounds of legs rushing to board the bus. I was left shocked by the number of people outside so early trying to get to work before the deadline or before the road gets busy. Right there the question came to mind- When do we rest in this word?

The question was on my mind till I got to work and I decided to ask this question on noisecash. It reminded me of various times when we thought the struggle was over.

Screenshot from noisecash

Link to post

In high school

I can remember back in secondary school after writing our final paper, we all shouted "Now we are free!". We believed secondary school was too hard and the university will be much easier, we believed getting up early and putting on a uniform each day was a torment, we believed being given assignments almost every day was a punishment, we believe being chastised- sometimes with the rod was an infringement on our right. The higher institution for us was a key to the freedom we desired.

Higher institutions

Getting into these institutions wasn't easy. Some have to write the exam over and over before being admitted, while some settled for what they least desire, just to have a feel of what "freedom" was and of course, get the certificate. But things turned out to be different from what we thought.

Though we no longer wear uniforms or chastised with a rod by any lecturer, other things pushed us to the limit. Fear of failing and being asked to withdraw forced us to burn candles. As if that wasn't enough, impromptu tests and various projects that require spending lots of money surfaced at intervals. We got tired and looked forward to the day we will graduate and finally get the "Real freedom " when we start working.

When we started working

Little did we know that after graduation, life is just beginning. Seeing various people at the bus stop got me thinking of life after school. I'm sure those that have the intention of going into one business or the other (the entrepreneurs) are already thinking "This is a headache for those working for a salary, as a business owner, I don't need to wake up that early".

Let me tell you this- my boss owns the construction firm, yet he wakes up early to work too. In fact, as a sole proprietor, you will need to put in extra hours into your business if you want to compete with others. So you're not exempted. Maybe seeing people awake so early going about their daily activities is peculiar to Lagos state alone. I know not about some other places, but I can't help asking the question again- "When do we rest in this world?"

This was not the freedom we envisioned in school, responsibilities and duties at a young age has it own weight. Some catering for their siblings and parents, while some their wives and children. Maybe the true freedom is after retirement.

There's time to rest in "no time to rest"

I'm sure everyone has this retirement plan in their head. The age they plan to retire and cruise the world with their partner. Some people live all their life waiting for that day which never comes.

Going through the replies on my noisecash post, @Moony wrote"When we die hehe". Though it was meant as a joke, I couldn't take away the thought from my mind. It's real, some people only get to rest when they get to the grave. I don't want to live that type of life. I know there's no food for a lazy man. You need to work hard and sacrifice so many things, sometimes sleep to achieve a certain goal. But I need to be happy while doing it.

"If you are doing what you love doing, you will be happy no matter what" - this statement is another common one we've all come to believe but recent happenings have made me realise, that is not enough motivation. Money is the best motivation, though many will deny this. If you're doing what you love doing without getting enough pay, you will someday hate it. But with good money on the table, you will be happy.

Why don't you consider having your rest time now?. Look for time to relax, have fun with family and loved ones. Don't neglect your kids to the mother alone. Some men have just weekends as the only free day but spend it at the bar with friends or a viewing centre, watching football. It's good to have fun with the boys sometimes but quality time with family beats that.

Screenshot of a reply on the post

This particular reply says it all. There's no rest... but seize every opportunity that comes your way to relax.

Don't wait until you get old before resting. Health is wealth remember. Find time to rest at intervals, go for medical check-ups and take your spouse out on dates. Have fun and be happy.

Special thanks to @heartbeat1515 for the sponsorship renewal.

Expect my monthly review guys๐Ÿค—. Though September wasn't as great as the previous month,i believe i have every reasons to be thankful. Even with the red market, ups and down, i was able to get to some landmarks. Watch out guys!

Thanks for reading!๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿค—

30
$ 11.46
$ 10.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

There is rest only if we know when to rest. Sometimes we are too focused with earthly things which made us forget what rest truly is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are all correct man there is no rest in the world unless someone wants to rest in peace and that only happens in heaven

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest only come when we are dead. We can have temporary rest if we grow old and our children are successful and remember to take care of us. That time can serve as our resting days where we no longer think of something big just eating fruit of our labour.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heard about the early morning crase of Lagos and how a lot of people are already on the road going to work as early as 3am and I thought it was a joke, this is really crazy o. 3am is when I even sleep sometimes, that's when some persons are waking up to get ready for work.

That's one of the things I don't like about Lagos, the traffic is always huge. How can someone even rest in a place like that? Although it's a good place to hustle, but after we have gotten old and retire, it's better to relocate to a more quiet city.

And Moony is right, we only rest when we are dead

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sincerely it's better to relocate. Lagos no be easy place to live at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly just like what tommy Shelby said in peaky blinders there is no rest for us in this world maybe in the next because with every new stage achieved the stress becomes bigger but we would survive. Surely

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it. Just when you think it's over, another pops up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the only time we rest is when we are dead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rest? Except a person wants to die poor. There's no rest under the sun, the only thing we need is to take good care of ourselves, eating healthy meal, create a time to relax and enjoy the company of your family and friends. That's all about life. Even if you retire from job, except you have stock up cash in a vault that you might have rest from the stress of work, but yet there are more to life beyond retirement.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your contribution sir, truly our health should be of paramount concern to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummn. Indeed after death there might be rest But who knows if there is truly rest after death?

God help us all. We all have to make sure we do our best while we can and never forget o take time to rest. Health is wealth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! Who knows?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you do what you love to do, you might not be satisfied with the pay. So, do what needs to be done to get money, then you can fund what you love doing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are actually a lot of ways to relax only if we have time. That's why when got one, let's spend it over our family and ourselves which we can find peace

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Honestly looking at this article is depressing and also encouraging.. I'm more fired up for success so I can get the early rest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It feels like every stage of life comes with it's own works, we never rest until we choose to, we can decide to rest with little or no money, we can also choose to rest after having a huge some of money. The only time we can rest is when we decide to rest or at death.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It depends upon individuals perspective. Some defines "rest" as they attain there ambitions in life and as they sacrificed (like what you've said). My comment was truly half meant. But for me I found rest when I surrender my life to God by serving His ministry. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's another angle ๐Ÿ‘ only in christ there's rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When will we rest? The other answer is right. It is only when we die. I don't even have a rest here even in my holiday as I need to grind in my phone. When I get old, Is till need to grind as I don't have a family that would take care of me ๐Ÿ˜ข

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There is a Yoruba saying that, Ojo Iku no ojo isimi.

As long as we are alive, we will always be faced with challenges. There is no rest day here and I think death is what brings rest, be informed that not all the dead rest.

Bible made it clear that some will still but in hell.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is same question I asked myself. I had thought that once I graduate from uni, I will work and flex before getting married but ask me if I flexed na. It has been one issue to another even as a single. And now I have come to realise that there is no rest here, rather anything life throws at you, you just have to take a chill pill and solve all problems at your pace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Flex khe?๐Ÿ˜‚ no time at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is absolutely a great word of thought. When will we rest? There is no rest until death. It made me remember what my friend said in her tribute on her mum's burial. She said and I quote "you didn't rest in this world as you were always taking care of us, I'm sure you are resting in heaven now."

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is a question I frequently ask myself when I hear cars by 2am, what time did they sleep and how are they still people walking around. I think the only time we could rest is in death tho it may be sad but that is the truth!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Health is wealth indeed. That is why we should not pressure ourselves too much.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think the only time we rest is when we are dead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's life I don't think we have the time to finally rest even when we die I don't know what is next to be sincere

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The situations of life in this world is a constant deed that won't ever stop so soon. Imagine your happiness after leaving the secondary all to meet with a much tougher and harder university which you had already taught of being easier than the secondary you had just left

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't kill yourself o, though money is important, don't let it take away your rest and happiness. Lack of rest and sufficient sleep leads to depression o.
There is no rest in this world until after you're dead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest, in this world? The challenges in this world is enough to take rest away.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚life is full of a constant struggles given the rate of competition in it. Like you rightly said about writing your finally paper and leaving school while you had taught the varsity would be a much easier place to call home but i'm afraid, that's even the main genesis of the struggles as you are being waited for so that you can graduate and begin to handle responsibilities at home hahahahahahahaha...that's what life entails o๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ but we shall all cope with it ok. Keep you head up and buckle cos it's well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rest? From the day a child is born, the race of survival has begun. There is no rest in this world until death. Even those who have everything they wanted in life don't get to rest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. Even Dangote still hustle for money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is fifth to finishes. From birth to death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago