Parenting

28 65
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Parenting has to be one of the toughest jobs/ duties one can have and also the sweetest. It might be easy in the beginning when the child is a baby, but when the kid starts growing the parents have to be on their toes all the time. The stage where the parent might start having problems with the kid a lot is when he or she becomes a teenager. At this age, the kid believes he knows more than his parents, and the parents believe they know what's good for them from experience.

A few days back I read @Eybyoung article about her little girl's adventure which got her angry, (link) I started thinking of the numerous times my little cousins provoked their mum. Yesterday I read ate Jane's article titled "Bibliophile" though it was something entirely different from raising a child but it brought back memories of my childhood days.

Before I go further I would like to add that, I have no experience raising a child. This article is basically from personal experience, friends' story and the things I’ve seen in families around.

Baby

The mother faces the major workload here. Tending to the baby at all times. The baby can’t talk when feeling any discomfort, the only way they can express themselves Is by crying. Countless times mothers do wake up in the middle of the night to feed the baby or tend to his/her needs. This is not to say the man has no part to play in caring for a baby, some men do, though most fathers don’t even know how to change a diaper.

Toddler

The baby starts crawling around the house. The mother has to be aware of all movements. They move towards the fridge, towards the TV, Gas and everything. Whatsoever they see is straight to their mouth. They are always a handful at this stage.

Age 5-10

This is an important stage in a child’s life. The kid needs to be showered with love. Whatsoever they do at this stage will tell a lot on what/who they will turn out to be in future. It’s easy to chastise and punish them when they do something bad, but they need to be shown love and also parents should preach self-confidence to them.

Teenage age

This is the most critical part of a child’s life. As I said earlier, ate Jane’s article reminded me of what happened a few years back

“I read my first novel at the age of 9 titled “easy loving”. Before that, I was used to reading stories with pictures plastered on different pages and just 50 pages maximum. I became addicted to reading novels. My sister has so many collections of Harlequin and silhouette series which I do borrow without her consent. My parents took offence with this and punished me several times for reading such novels. The reason they gave was that I’m too young to read such. Back then I  didn’t understand that they meant well for me. I was angry and I resorted to hiding in the toilet to read novels. Once I hear the sound of footsteps, I will hide it and flush the toilet in pretence. I also take them to school to read and I went on for years.

Looking back now, I realize what my parents were doing was for my own good. They knew the danger of reading such novels at a tender age, but I didn’t understand them back then”

 

This brings me to the question “Is there a better way they could have done it”

The problems parents and children faces are also caused by the difference in generation. The way they are brought up back then is quite different from how things are today, we might call them “old school” but someday what we count as modern will also be old school. We will also become parents someday and we will see how tough it is trying to persuade a kid to do the right thing.

Maybe my parents could have done it this way. Take me to a store and help me choose the right novel. There are interesting stories based on adventure and love that does not have erotic content. It’s written right on the cover of the novel. Maybe I wouldn’t have misunderstood them or seen it as them trying to stop my passion for reading.

As I said earlier, someday we all are going to be parents. We should try to have conversations with our kids. When they are of age talk about Sex with them. The danger of premarital sex and all. If you don’t have these conversations with them, the Internet will teach them. And when it does, the result won’t be pleasant.

Thanks for reading! 🤱💚🤼‍♀️

24
$ 12.71
$ 11.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 18
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

It's really not easy. God give all parents the needed grace

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a parent myself and seems like I still know nothing. It's a learning process that I'm going through. Every day is challenging. And thinking about what future I'm going to give my son sometimes makes me feel worried. Thanks for the write-up.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Being a parent is challenging, so responsible pregnancy planning is essential. We must prepare because we are in charge of making sure that this new little person who comes to the world finds its way of good, forming values ​​for it. They will have as we did, their own personality, character, our mission to guide them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! The parents are to act as guardian to the children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parenting, the most respected job of all, has no salary, but seeing your kids happy is way more than any amount of any salary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy to be a parent especially being a mother could be very tasking if I'm not going to lie to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parenting is a very difficult work to do and it should be done with care so that such children would trust in their parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my people to say, a child that wants to spoil will spoil no matter how you raise them but at least give them the necessary information they need, hearing it from you as parents is better than hearing it outside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents are all the best especially those Moms and Pops who can handle their kids. I mean it's hard. That's the reason why I don't want to have kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you said is absolutely true, parents should start to have conversations about sensitive issues with their children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can wait for grateful to born for you I am sure you would make a great father anyways 🤩🤝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's better to let the kids know about some certain things than for them to learn it else where, especially in the Internet, cause they can easily search themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've written well. Parenting is not easy. Parents need the help of God to succeed. We are also to learn from our parents' mistakes and not make same in our time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it, if as a parent, you are too shy to talk down your children on sx talk, the internet will do the job and it they do, that's the end. I grew up in a setting that sx talks are not heard from parents to children. They took it as it's a wrong move tell the children such things but they totally went wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you are a parent, you experience the most beautiful feelings you can imagine and you did not know they existed until that moment. You can go from happy to sad in a matter of 1 second. You are always alert, and there is no free time. It is full time. But it is the best, cutest job in the world. It is not a job in itself, it is done from the heart. From love. When your young child says, "I love you," the world comes to a standstill.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are definitely correct about our time getting old school too when the time comes. And yes, your parents could have done that, but they didn't, so I believe you will apply it when you will have your own kids hehe. Parents have different ways of parenting, and sometimes we wished they could have done better this or that, but then again, we will experience it when we have our own kids and hopefully, we will do well :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parenting is lifetime responsibility, it's really hard and tiring sometimes no wonder why sometimes our parents keep blabbering here and there 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having children is a really hard and responsible job, and I think at any age it can really have its own difficulties and problems, which is why me and my husband never see in ourselves the power to accept the responsibility of having children...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're really open about your experiences. If you ask me, despite your parents' oversight you turned out fine...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned a lot of lessons in this article. So i realised that we should love our parent's because they sacrificed for us when we were young. And never leave us behind..

Im new here :) GODBLESS

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The difference in age really causes misunderstanding between parents and children. Most times when parents wants to correct their kids they do it in the wrong way forcing their kids to hide the truth or what they intend to do from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a good daughter and my parents have lots of shortcomings but it doesn't affect my parenting.I promised myself to give the best to my chiildren coz my parents wasn't able to give that.My father always yell at me so I dont do that to my children.and you are right,a parent should tallk to their chidren about all the things they need to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of us once felt angry on our parents for parenting us such a way. Now we understand why they did so. I feel really ashamed now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The impact of parenting in children's life is very important. And they play major role in the home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday is not coming to me happyboy, haha. Kidding aside.. When we were younger, our father would always reprimand us every time we disobey him. He'll get mad at us and sometimes beat my older brothers. We hated him because of his iron fist. But then I realized that he did it all for our own sake.. But what he lacks was his love for us which we did really feel when we were younger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same thing here.😔 I got punished countless times for various offences. I hated my Dad back then too, but recently, i understand the reasons for some of the punishments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, being a parent is a big responsibility. They have to understand. And with age, the mindset of children changes a lot. And this time we have to take care to grow more. Well said mate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right mazekin, with age it's harder to control or instruct a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago