Click bait- Pros and cons

39 112
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

INTRODUCTION

This is the story of a Lady that joined readcash. After searching around for a site where she can pour out her mind. So many stories unheard of, so many words that need to be written down. But everywhere she turned to seems not to accommodate her. Some said if it isn't crypto-related her articles and stories won't yield the needed result. She poured out her mind with short posts on Twitter until the day she heard of a site where she can do what she knows how to do best and earn while at it.

She joined noisecash and after few weeks she felt the need for a bigger platform where her over-600 words post will be appreciated more. The Oliver twist in her was calling for more.

Finally, she read from a noisecash post about the Sister site readcash. She signed up and was surprised to see the warm welcome. The community accepted her with open hands, supported her with encouraging words and advice. She wasn't expecting this. Her mistakes were pointed out to her and to cap it all the bot started visiting her after her second post. As if that wasn't enough she had 100 views on one of her posts. It felt unreal and looked like just a dream.

Things started going downhill all of a sudden. Her viewers reduced. Though the money was still coming in. But it seems people no longer like what she writes. She went through the pages of old users that have been on the platform for over 9-12 months. This set of people still stay at the top after all these months. They are still relevant. People still engage their posts. "What are these people doing?" She asked herself and decided to write an article with a title that will attract lots of people- she decided to use clickbait.

Clickbait?

I published an article yesterday or let me call it a story. I used a topic that will draw users to it at first glance. I did that to aid the perfect understanding of this present article and to also find out some things. Link

To attract readers to your post there are four things involved

  1. Your reputation

  2. The Title (clickbait)

  3. The Lead image

  4. The first few lines

REPUTATION: The reputation you've built for yourself speaks for you. Immediately people receive a notification about a new article from you. They click on it because they expect nothing but a masterclass from you.

THE LEAD IMAGE: You need to use a picture that will attract people to your publication. A picture that draws them to it even when they are unwilling to. You can even design your lead image.

THE FIRST FEW LINES: Going through the homepage and seeing various articles. What draws one to it most times is the first few lines of the article. It is advisable to start your first paragraph with an interesting line or intriguing sentence.

THE TITLE (clickbait)

I decided to write on this last because it's the general method adopted by many. This is when you use a Catchy Phrase as your Title. Most times it isn't intended to act as clickbait, but everyone wants to give their article a title that befits it and attracts readers.

Advantages

i- It brings in more readers to your posts

ii-People gets to know you more.

iii-Brings in subscribers

However, these advantages come with a clause which is Good content. Though the term "Good content" is Subjective. What you count as good content might not be to me, vice versa. But whenever you are using clickbait. Make sure it is worthwhile.

If I open an article with the title " I fell from a bridge" but after reading it I realised it is unrelated to the topic or contains disjointed words I will be discouraged to read further. If the same person drops another article again a few days later and uses the same technique with unrelated content again. I will be tempted to ignore his posts next time.

Disadvantages

i-People doubt you

ii-You need to live up to it

iii-You can step on toes.

This also has it clause just like the advantages. When you are known to use the Clickbait regular. People start doubting you. I could remember well after my article titled " I met her on noisecash now she's meeting me at the altar" Someone dropped a comment on one of my posts asking if it's another prank or dream. I laugh it off but realised if you constantly use clickbait without living up to the hype, people will no longer wish to read your post. But if you use it well, even if people are aware that it's clickbait, they will still click it because they know it will be worth the stress.

It brings pressure on you to deliver well. Though, it might look like the necessary push you need to give your best sometimes.

Imagine a Title like "All Nigerians are Thiefs" (Pardon me my fellow Nigerians). It will surely attract lots of crowds. But I might be stepping on toes even if the content justifies my title. I once argued with a guy on noisecash who wrote a Spectacular write up but wasn't careful with his title.

Bonus

Intentional mistakes are made in some Titles that are meant to be click baits. The example I gave earlier has "Thiefs" instead of "Thieves". This is a hint the writer is giving the readers before proceeding.

Conclusion

Finding a good title for your post can be a bit exhausting. But it can be of help to you if it is well written. In doing so, make sure it is worth it for your readers.

Fun fact🤗

Even though I placed the intention of the article in my last post, I still received lots of congratulatory messages on various platforms.😂 . It was easy to identify those meant as Sarcasm from those written without reading the article. 😂

Thanks for reading!🤗🤗🤗

Lead image source.

33
$ 13.97
$ 12.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 25
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

In SEO, keywords is the key. However with content writers sprouting online fast and furious for dollars, click baiting becomes tempting. However, it does sounds bad and me for sure don't want to fool anyone. I have one article about click baiting from the issue of Nas Daily here in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right, the title of an article matters and your relation with people is also another wonderful bait togain people's attention. And above all our contents should be relevant ones.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Well balanced article. Makes a lot of sense. Writers attempting click-bait titles should not undertake them lightly. It does take a lot of thinking and planning to come out with a good one that relates to the 'good' content. And bad click-baits can be recognized instantly. It just takes another click to expose it. And subsequently, once bitten, twice shy applies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some people will open the clickbait article.. But it is still up to them to read it.. The content still matters.. And once you delivered the message well. You'll receive a compliment despite the clickbait title. .and you have it here. ..a quality content that speaks full of sense. ...

I'm just curious though. Is this user really exist or just fiction? 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Fiction ma'am 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I never knew read cash would be so much fun love your post it's cool by the way I'm new here 🙂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello, I like your articles. I did not fall into the trap of the previous one because I always read you complete. today's I found it very instructive, for those of us who want to gain followers and sponsors, and maintain interest in the posts. As I always say, thanks for sharing. Regards

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Thanks...giving you a follow straight away

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really suck at making titles. I am also not good in making clickbait huhuhu.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the advise, it was helpful to me😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think I need to practice making my titles more catchy HAHA. Titles have always been my weakness when it comes to writing.

I had an accidental clickbait title where I used Avril Lavigne's song title as my article title "I fell in love with the devil". Some people thought it would be about a character from a series haha. But most times, I do not use click-baity titles since I hate those HAHAHA

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I can imagine what went through everyone's mind after reading the Title.😂😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The best is to ensure to give out a good title to carry your readers through. Those points given can help and can go a long way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was wondering, after your previous article, if the title was going to be click bait or the article will be about click bait. You delivered well again. Good combo of useful info and humour.

$ 0.02
User's avatar a2j
2 years ago

I love this article especially how you started it at first. The number thing we should look at when writing is the title to your post. When the title is catchy, People would be eager to open and read to the end.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This will be helpful for me in writing my articles..I'm not that good in composing my titles to be catchy but I always make sure that my readers will understand what my article is all about.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's nice. Though the title brings people to your article, it is the content that will make them stay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great Article. I hope you keep on writing more!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Truly the title and lead image attracts people to the article, the contents make them stay

$ 0.03
2 years ago

i still don't get it what the clickbait is usedfor huhu

$ 0.03
2 years ago

To make people read your article with the expectation of reading something thrilling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Clickbaits are not really my things, I'd rather keep myself going the way to maintain route. Clickbaits are dangerous and can lead you to trouble easily

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. But If you stick to dishing out good and worthy contents. Your readers will forgive you for using it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plot twist, they may choose not to forgive you forever..hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My weakness. I don't know how to write a better title. I wanted to try this clickbait but nothing comes out of my mind. But yeah, I think clickbait is nice if you can justify it well with your overall content. If you don't, chances are, just like what you've said, readers might not find your article interesting anymore.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I read your article once and i fully understood the message, in fact myself and my cousin talked about it and suggested the title that could have befits it. I remember that you deleted it in order not to cause chaos but i was sad to see that people didn't get the message you were trying to pass because of the title.

Anyways i believe matter has been settled so i won't want to reopen it. But i must say - your contents are always top notch. That in itself is a clickbait. In fact ,the best.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The top notch compliment is overrated but thank you. And yeah, that was an epic. That was supposed to be sarcastic, but I guess I failed to deliver what I wanted to say.

Yes, everything is okay now so I'm glad that we don't have to deal with dramas here and there anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true titles and lead image can attract a lot

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mostly time i go for title first. Even yesterday i got up to 20 notification but my target was to read only 5 article and i choice the 5 article according to the title and its satisfied me too!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I pretty much sometimes use clickbait titles 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And everytime it was worth the click.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwwww

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Clickbait is also good if you want to catch their attention, but not use it if you want to wreck your reputation. For me, clickbaits are actually disgusting as its my path to lose my trust to that individual.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Writing is an art. One must be creative on how to draw audience in. I must admit that I don't rely on those titles or images but I like to read what the content is all about. Some are direct to the point about their titles. It just tells you right away what the post is all about.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right. Some titles give insight of what the article is all about sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your 5BCH reminds me again about my rejected $300 sponsored by Mark DeMessel.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, there are people who read the first paragraph and the last and also rephrase the comments. .

But thank you for your tips on how we are going to work on our article to be more visible and to be worthy to be clicked and read by others.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

That yesterday lost caught many attention. That's a sure way to attract your audience to read your post. I love the way you highlighted the pros and cons of posting, this could work on several social media platforms.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol, most people just conclude base on the topic and the lead image, without going through the content

$ 0.03
2 years ago