Airplane Mode

Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Have you ever felt like hibernating and staying away from all forms of communication for some time?. You just have this sickening feeling of not being excited neither are you sad. You are in the middle. At the verge of happiness and Sadness. Just a little provocation can lead to an outburst. I've been there and most recently I had another on Wednesday.

I can't point to a particular reason or when it started. I just felt like being alone. I ignored all messages on WhatsApp even calls were neglected. My siblings tried to start small talks with me but I didn't reply to them. And when my immediately older brother decided to force a conversation, by all means, I flared up and said some unpleasant things. I felt bad but was still in this mood.

Maybe it's because of the lectures. The lecturers are not in support of online classes so they vent their anger on students with multiple materials. Everyone was so confused and Sad. People complained bitterly but it seems it was falling on deaf ears. Or because of the stress from the preparation for the party we are hosting very soon.

My Dad came in and started asking me questions about my studies and I replied with monosyllables. He noticed this and asked what was wrong but I couldn't point to any particular reason.

I was already brewing hot from the multiple questions and was afraid I will burst into another outburst. But I quickly controlled myself and went for a walk. I know I dare not speak rudely to my Dad and was also feeling guilty about what I said to my brother earlier so I decided to cool off a bit and pray by the time I'm back I'll be in a better mood.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

I just want to be alone

With my headphone plugged into my phone I went to my Audiomack app and spent minutes trying to look for a perfect song for my current state. Even my "every situation worthy" playlist that I talked about a few days back couldn't cool me off. Maybe I'm weird, because is there anyone on earth that just feel like being alone and away from any form of communication. I know how people crave companionship and conversations. But here I am with lots of people trying to converse with me but I'm pushing them away.

Finally, I saw the perfect song for my present state. It was a song by "Fireboy". Titled "Alone" from his sophomore album "Apollo". It was a perfect moment because it felt like the lyrics are a mirror of what was happening to me. I placed it on repeat and walked around the compound for minutes.

Screenshot from Audiomack

The last verse resonated with my current state. Nothing is wrong with me -this is what I want people to understand. I just want to do this on my own. I have no explanation for this and I expect people to understand this. But it seems people see this as something absurd.

Then I got the morale booster I needed in another verse. I know I can do it. Life is filled with ups and downs. When a problem ends another rises but I am no ordinary human. I'm a god, a different breed, a legend in the making. lol.

Full lyrics

Getting back home I called my brother and apologise. I also sent a voice note to the class group to calm everyone down. Though the weight was still there I needed to say out loud that "Things will turn out well". The voicenote was received with many thanks. Obviously, I wasn't the only one feeling hopeless. The song helped me rediscover my confidence which I transferred to my friends. Ever since it's been on repeat. Though I'm no longer on airplane mode, the song is still my go-to song.

Have you also been in this mood before or Fireboy and I are the only weird ones?πŸ˜‚

Thanks for reading!πŸ€—πŸ’šπŸ€—

28
$ 12.10
$ 11.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 18
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

So relatable. To be honest, I noticed that my recent articles are sad and gloomy. I can't also understand what I am feeling but I am sure I want to get out of the situation I am in right now and be in a place without anything that bothers me. Just peace, and me. Something like that. Yeah, it's hard to explain. This article helped me understand myself better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I have had moods where I just want to be alone. When we are aware of the change of mood it is good to get away for a moment, so as not to affect the people around us. It is good to be alone for a moment to organize our ideas and to return to emotional balance. It has happened to me many times. You took the right steps, I congratulate you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is wrong with me -this is what I want people to understand. I just want to do this on my own. I have no explanation for this and I expect people to understand this. - This is just so real and true. There are times that we wanted to be alone and the companion we needed is only ourselves. That sometimes we just need ourself a time for it, a me time. And its fine. Being alone does not mean you are lonely.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am checking this song in a bit. I love the lyrics! Anyway, we all have that moment sometimes, I do too... And it's good to collect yourself again and accept that life isn't about rainbows all the time. You''ll get through it for sure. You're doing great!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like that definition of being in airplane mode. It happens to me and quite often by the way. Sometimes we need to have moments alone with ourselves. If we take that time later we will see things in perspective, but those around us don't always understand it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! I ever thought I'm crazy or weird, I never knew someone else can feel this way too. Your mood is just the replica of my mood for the past two weeks now though I'm getting over it a bit and I've offended my very close friend whom I spoke to unkindly when he was trying to get my attention, I really need to go apologise to him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Please do, it will make you feel better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The voice note went a long way bro, I was relieved when I heard too because everything is just so annoying up to this morning. We don't have a choice, we have to face it. Thanks for this, lemme go and listen to the song too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is the song I listened to whenever am down and I don't want to think about it It has a strong and beautiful lyrics

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed.Me too there are times that I wanted to be alone. Just to refresh and escape from this toxic world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That decision is mine to keep. Yes!!! There are times I want to stay away and just be left alone. People around me may not understand the essence of doing off the internet or work.

I choose to rather stay work nature, perhaps the beachfront will do me a lot of good when the sickening moment approaches.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I sometimes feel thos way but I don't allow it affe t the way I behave to other people. My problem is my problem and shouldn't react to others based on what I'm doing through.
Anyways, I'm glad you got over it with a song. Heard of fireboy but I don't listen to those kinds of music.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh! You are also part of the "i don't listen to Nigerian songs" πŸ˜‚ But try to listen to Apollo. You will love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah...I pass. I can recommend good Japanese songs for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been there..in fact most of the times 🀣 i just wanted to be alone.. Sometimes even want to disconnect me from the world.. Lol. But impossible to happen. Unless I'll go to the top of the mountain without a phone haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yaehh, I feel you, sometimes what we just want is a Peaceful quite time which no on will gonna disturb us or call us or try to reach us. Just a coffee and a music will suit and we're all good

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep... it do happens to me too. sometimes being alone is the best thing that we can do for our own sanity.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I no agree with you boss. No be lectures jare. You fit just confess for me here now nobody go know you talk anything. That girl way I saw that day maybe na she Dey play with my boss heart. Lol πŸ˜‚ You don Dey put aggressiveness on everybody including your SIM card πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜…πŸ˜…..

No worries boss. What is yours shall always be yours. Lol πŸ˜‚

I come and go in peace.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No be so o my brother πŸ˜‚. No be girl cause am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens! Things are surely going to turn out well for you. I'm glad you apologise, there is beauty in music.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, i was relieved after i apologised. Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have also been in such situation too that I just want to be alone with no one disturbing me. I will just put my phone in silent mode and sleep off. But we shouldn't allow this stay for long especially when people around you are somehow getting hurt because of you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes that's true. Transferring the aggression unto others isn't good. I felt bad afterward

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel it now. πŸ˜” I just want to be alone HappyBoy. I want someone to make me smile. I'm not in the mood today. πŸ˜”

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that. Hope all is well. I'm surprised though "i thought beautiful ladies are always happyπŸ˜‚". I hope my lame joke made you smile

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehhee I'm not pretty happyboy ☺️ but thank you.πŸ₯° You make me happy...πŸ₯°β˜ΊοΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lots of times... sometimes I know why, other times not. I breathe deep, lock myself up and pray. I need to center myself and wish the irritation or mood will go away. Not always 100 percent successful, but like you said, it shall pass.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's exactly the way I've been feeling for a while now. I hope I get over it soon enough

$ 0.03
2 years ago

With time you willπŸ€—πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That voice note really helped, I was going through that same thing, I had abandoned every single chat for the day and even refused to open any of the materials, it was really frustrating i had to write an article about it to let lose some steam. God will help us see this through, we move

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Amen πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all undergo such times I think. And sometimes we just have to take some break from all the noise and chatters and even people too. Solitude, yes that's it. I learned it yesterday :) Being just by yourself, with yourself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks. It's Solitude- I've been looking for the right word since

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleasure :) Feel better :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can so relate to this it be like this sometimes .. it’s just feels like disappearing for a while to go restart your brain because the huddles of life can be very challenging and if one is not careful depression might set in

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's it. If one isn't careful, it will lead to depression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens due to loneliness at times like you are feeling sad, disturbed but don't want to talk to anyone then you still need something to awaken your spirit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Something related to thatπŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same things happening with me now-days I had already mentioned on my noise.cash account. Mostly I on airplane mode before sleeping and when I am much disturbed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can understand πŸ˜”. What's your noisecash username ,so i can subscribe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's JAwad75.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been feeling the same too these past few days maybe because of my unproductive work load or the delayed dreams

$ 0.03
2 years ago

i feel the lyrics, rightnow I feel so lonely and Idk why i'm feeling this way. I'm tired, and idk why

$ 0.03
2 years ago