Here is my Apology

4 82
Avatar for HappyBoy
9 months ago

Where do I start? This apology is long overdue. I owe a lot of people an apology for the things said and those left unsaid. Now that I’ve taken the bold step of apologizing I don’t know who to apologize to first, should I start with my next-door neighbor back when we live at a face me I slap you at Oshodi or Bro Micheal that wrote jamb for five years only to end up in a college of education.

On second thought I’ll start by saying sorry to my uncles. I said so many things about them, I called them names like “Awun, stingy koko, I never chop-”, especially Uncle Bayo that comes to our house, eat our meal without even leaving as much a morsel, chew the bones and spit it in the bowl and belches like an overfeed buffalo. While washing the plates afterward I will grumble and "rain" all types of abuse on him, and make a personal promise not to be like him- “I’ll spoil my nephews and nieces with gifts and money when I’m older” I’d say to myself but now that I’m older I understand Uncle Bayo better.

The struggle to make money, the way money leaves quickly after working so hard for it the expectations and responsibilities has taught me lessons.

Going on to my Apology to Bro Micheal “the egbon adugbo olodo” or “JAMB number 1 customer” as some would call him. Bro Micheal wrote Jamb 5 times but failed to gain admission into any of the schools he applied to, some said he picked a school as 1st, 2nd & 3rd choice to stand a good chance but sister Janet, in fact, Janet - she wasn’t much older than me back then got admitted into the same university before him without picking the school as her only choice.

I can never fail jamb like bro mic, is it not ordinary obj?” - I’d say to my friends.

When Bro mic finally got into a school it was a college of education! Ewww! . When I sat for my first Jamb and the score was so bad that if you add 70 to it, it won’t be enough to meet the cut-off mark of the University of Ibadan I knew Bro Micheal wasn’t an olodo.

My next “Sorry” goes to Aunty Blessing alias “Mrs Asuu”. I used to think the constant Asuu strike she talked about were all lies, I thought she had an extra year or never attended any institution because she spent more time at home than in school. Her mates were getting married when she was posting pictures of a “supposed signing out” - in all white with various marker stains.

Aunty Blessing lamba, opuro osi with her lies- where she see white cloth and marker borrow?,” Johnbull said while laughing.

I can remember vividly how we all laughed when that statement was made, how we’d whisper when she walks by, and how we will all roll on the floor laughing and imitating her. Only if we knew that ASUU still had plans for us.

I can’t help not mentioning “Eng Carryover” the name we gave the lady that seems to have more carryover than the number of faculties we have in Unilag.

how on earth do people have carry over-?”

“is A not 70? score 30/40 in test and no matter how bad it is, I will score at least 40/60 in exam- how then do people score less than 40?”

When QTS 101 (measurement) result came out and I had 35 despite scoring 25 in test, had 12 in Physics, and got 38 in ARC I knew “Eng carryover” is not dumb, if she has a degree in carryover, I think I deserve a Doctorate in it, in fact, call me “Prof carryover” or “Prof CO” - that sounds more classy.

I still have a lot of sorry to say to many people, people whose shoes I wasn’t in to feel the pain but was quick in judging and writing off. I’m sorry, I never knew the struggle of life nor did I know how hard it must have been for you all. I’m a changed person, a work in progress, a humble prodigal brother, junior, and friend… till I write another letter to you all “Stay happy always”

Thanks for Reading! 💚✍💚

6
$ 0.59
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.01 from @lonestranger
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
9 months ago

Comments

The first step to doing better is knowing you've done wrong. You've got the most difficult part behind you there!

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Apologies might not work all the time, but it always make things better.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Omo, this is really true. I never knew Asuu hade in mind

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Asuu has done lot of damage. Imagine a 5 year course turning to 7.

$ 0.00
9 months ago