Procrastination II

30 75
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago

I wrote about this subject topic yesterday. Where I shed light on what procrastination really is. Whenever we hear the word “Procrastination” a negative message is automatically passed across to us. The word has been used along with negative situations like- failing to meet deadlines, failing examinations and the like. Well, I can’t blame us. It is what the society have tagged it to be. And I don’t blame the society really because the society is right. However, there are also good sides to procrastinating. I’ll focus solely on that throughout this article.

We all procrastinate, and for good reason. When we procrastinate we give our brain the freedom to think and ponder things. We can let thoughts develop in our minds and think through things that may not have been fully thought out before. As a result of procrastination, we are able to review options and make decisions which may have been impossible without having taken the time to procrastinate. We may not realize it, but there are some good things that can come out of procrastination.

Procrastination Benefits 

Nevertheless, There are many advantages of procrastinating that you might be missing out on if you don't take the time to procrastinate. Start looking at it as a necessary step in your decision- making process. Doing this will help you work through certain things and decide what you really want to do. Without taking the time to explore your options, you may be rushing into things which could be detrimental in the long run.

Procrastination. It's a dirty word, right? Like I tried to establish in my previous article. Something we all hate doing, but do anyway.

The problem is, procrastination doesn't get enough attention. We sometimes see it as this bad habit or even an act of laziness. So how can we overcome it, and how can we use it as a tool for our own benefits? If we're honest with ourselves, everyone procrastinates from time to time. But here's the beautiful part: With procrastinating comes a huge amount of freedom.

We've all succumb to procrastinating every now and then. But it's hard to know why we do it and if it's actually bad for us.

I am here to shed some light on that.

The first thing to understand is that procrastination is not the same as laziness. They are two very different things. One is a life choice, while the other is a lack of motivation.

Here are the benefits of procrastinating:

You think about your task more:

If you spend a little bit of time thinking about something before you dive into it, you’ll probably be able to do it better than if you just dive into it without thinking about it first. Idling gives your thoughts time to settle, and allows you to fully understand what it is that you need to do and how you can do it better than if you just rushed through it all in one go.

You never stress out totally:

Also, you will never ever stress yourself out. Stress is a killer, and if you are not doing anything productive, then you will relax and sleep like a baby. It also helps you have time to think of things that need immediate attention. The second reason is that it ensure that the time you will work on something will be timed right. There is a time for everything, and if you have something urgent going on in your life, then you will put the emergency in front of the urgent but not forget it altogether. One thing I have learnt is that there is always a better way to do things. Just by being idle and not doing anything productive at all may cause you to actually be productive.

Lastly, there is no way to fail in this act of procrastination. It provides more room for thoughts and ideas that may just lead to an inspiration for a great idea or could come from nowhere but could still create the next greatest thing.

To procrastinate or not? It’s up to you. *Winks*

You can catch up on procrastination I here.

20
$ 5.43
$ 4.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago

Comments

I think it's about the extent of our procrastination. I myself allow me to procrastinate at times (most of the time hahah) because my mind is force to do my work more fast and still at good quality

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All about perception, and whatever has demerits should have merits too. When I procrastinate and think about the task more, I start to think of easy ways to carry it out and this has been working

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, the subject you raised was very clever, I had never looked at the concept of procrastination from this angle. You are absolutely right, by postponing things, new ideas may come to our minds in doing them. Because sometimes our minds can work better in peace and in extra time. In a hurry to finish the job on time, many points may be overlooked.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I procrastinate to most of the time. haha. Especially, on online class. The due date becomes the do date. I know thi is a bad habit but I'm willing to improve my self.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. I am glad to hear that you are willing to improve yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, for the sake of progress. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very correct, i concur with you. Procrastinating has many advantages. Many time we see the bad aspect, but of a truth, procrastination is not totally bad. Thanks for your article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a student when I think of procrastinating it just scares the sh*t out of me, I don't know weather now to categorised students procrastination as lazy or not 😂😂😂because they won't or we won't be doing anything but just there going up and down will that be a positive procrastination or negative procrastination, sorry am giving them names now😂🙂😀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There’s a clear difference between procrastination and laziness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is always benefit and lose in most thing we do. Anytime I heard the word procrastination I never thought of the benefit. I also procrastinate when I’m tired of something. Thanks for sharing this your thoughts on procrastination.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome friend. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination can really stress me out at the same time makes me do things so well in a short span of time haha specially when the deadline is tonight or tomorrow hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This happens when we combine procrastination with laziness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this. Now I have a different perspective of procrastination. Well done!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you looked at both sides of the coin. Things are rarely just black or white.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rural. Nothing is ever really plain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right bro But maybe m the only one seeing it this way. No be every plan procrastination dey spoil and no be every plan immediate alacrity dey accomplish Smiles

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. There’s an angle to it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I procrastinate when im tired..it's not laziness at all 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you sure. Haha. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I procrastinate when I know I can handle it haha but if not, it's a no-no for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Same with me. I can’t spend weeks preparing for something I can do in a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I say procrastinate! lol! It really depends on how we look at it. I am biased though for I procrastinate a lot. Sometimes I do noise and read instead of doing my real work :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As long as you get to do your real work eventually, then I think it is fine. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to think I'm multitasking rather than procrastinating :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right friend in your article you wrote, that there is always a better way the tasks reserved for us. And if we work productively to the end it will be productive too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago