The monster in me

Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Ever since I have been neglected by so many because of my habit of trying to help people but they don't understand I am trying to, I have decided to change my ways and do otherwise. Many cases where I have tried to save someone from being falling into his so-called best friend trap but in the end, I was misunderstood and was chosen as the bad person and was severely punished for it. There was one time I heard people shouting " help help help " somewhere close to where I am because I couldn't resist the urge of being helping people, I quickly rush to the scene and I was told it was someone who came to rob them and the person is the one running away over there, I tried to run after the thief but I couldn't get him. I didn't know they have called other people too about the event, by the time I got back to where they are to tell them I was unable to get the thief, I was the one they pointed as the thief to those people. They beat the hell out of my life, there was no avenue given to me to explain myself but I was beaten to stupor and I was severely injured. I spent several days on the sickbed because of the beating.

It was after this I decided that I will never again try to help people no matter the condition I found them to be in. I will always face my business and go at my own pace and never be distracted by anyone pity look. All this have I thought well in my selfish thought and decided to go wild and according to what I have decided.

I went jogging on a Saturday morning and saw this my old-time friend from primary school, he looks so different, he was very huge in stature and look very old compare to his age, I could hardly recognise him if not for the way he does talk right from time like an area boys. We jogged to the stadium, after getting there, we relaxed and talked and that's was how he told me about his daily life and how he hustle and bustle every day. It was from our discussion I knew he was a drug dealer. He told me how he does go about it and how he was able to scale through the government officials that are against it in the country. I decided to join because of what I have proposed in my heart, never do I know that the "monster in me has grown".

The wicked me full of monster me

On our first operation, it was successful. It was as if I have been in the team for a long time and that was because I so much put my seriousness into it. We continue doing this and we aggravated to stealing some minor things before we finally decided to take armed robbery as a part-time hustle too.

We destroyed so many lives through our armed robbery because whenever a person refuse to release his/ her property for us, we killed them including their family. We also rape young girls whenever we see them during operations, we derive so much joy from this and never has cause to regret any of our actions. We lost our conscience and became hardened criminals.

One night, I fell asleep and I dreamt that I was being given a tattered ball instead of a new one. I bought the ball with my hard earn money but instead of the woman selling the ball to give me a new one, she didn't but gave me an old tattered one. In the dream, I begged so hard for the woman to give me back my money but she told me is too late, I was bitterly crying for her to give me a new one but all to no avail. I was still crying when I suddenly wake up from my dream, I saw tears all around the bed, I never knew I was weeping too in the real life. My conscience regain its life back and I started regretting all that I have done, I cried till I have no energy to do more.

The next day, I packed my belongings and told my team that I am no longer interested in the operation again. They laughed at me and told me to go, that they want to see how I will survive without them. I left and started a new life, not a new life per se but my old kind of life where I was kind and soft-hearted. A week after I left, I heard the news that my former team were all caught and killed by the firing squad for an operation they went to but failed. I really thank God I was not part of them anymore because I already have that comfortable life I was asking for. People no longer hate me or act harshly on me rather I was so loved and cherished and I felt the need to do well again.

My name is Lagbaja and I am human like you. I was pushed to bring out the " monster in me" by society and I regretted the step I took but thank God I was able to retrace my step back. Thanks for reading the story of my life. Thank you.

Lesson from Lagbaja story;

  • If the environment refuses to accept who you are, please don't allow the rejection to make you do what you will regret.

  • Rejection is not the end of life rather it is the best time to explore your true self and make the world know what you have.

  • Know the people you go to meet for advice and not anyhow person so that you won't be misled.

Lead image and the image in the article are from google.

Thanks for reading,I really appreciate it. I hope you have learnt a great lesson today. Have fun.

Byee for now😍😍😍

14th August 2021.

14
$ 5.36
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

we all make mistakes and its totally understandable because we live to learn lessons. you were born with a character! not everyone can easily turn their back on what you did. we are all keeping a monster within and its really up to us to let it go or cage it. its good to know u pray too since praying is something not so spectacular these days. keep the faith in, you are well guided and guarded at the same time. God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grabbed a lot of things from this...like the bible will say If sinners entice us consent thee not.....he didn't allow their rejection cage him but he moved on freely, and he wasn't a victim because of a persistent mindset. When we all know what is right and we choose wrong we're heading for doom bro.....thanks for this knowledge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we need to be mindful ofthe kind of friends we keep and be seriously aware that when rejectedit doesn't mean it's over but a new page has just been opened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really need to be very mindful, some people don't have who they can go to for advice, they just go to any random person who can mislead them which is very bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's interesting that we have talked about things related. I did write about something like this too. Indeed it's tough to stay above it all when all we have been treated with is cruelty but we have to before it could end badly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh nice that we have written something similar, yes we have to put a stop to the monster in us coz it has a bad ending

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The saying if you can't beat them, you join them. That's what most people are adopting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah,but the outcome is very bad and regretful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The topic of the article reminds me of the eminem lyrics which says "I'm friends with the monster that's under my bed". I'm really glad that there was a change in lifestyle at the end of the story3m but what about the lives that have already been destroyed? Nothing can being those back. Its so sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah,nothing can be done those life. He only has to seek for forgiveness from God and move on with is life. Thanks for engaging

$ 0.00
2 years ago