Drop the ego and fix that relationship

21 213
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Many relationships have been ruined due to a lack of understanding and ego on both sides. So many angry statements have been taken seriously. I've learned that a partner's ability to understand themselves affects whether a dispute is settled. When it comes down to it, the most important thing in the world is relationships. Relationships are the bedrock of our existence. Empathy is vital to a healthy life, and relationship health leads to a happy life.

So often we think we are right and our partner is wrong. We think our pain is the only pain, our suffering the only suffering, our thoughts the only thoughts, our experiences the only experiences. We have been taught to see the world this way, but it’s time to drop the ego and get a fresh perspective. It’s time to see the world through your partner’s views, not your own.

The ability to see the world through your partner’s lens is a beautiful thing. It makes you empathize with their experiences and pain, not your own. It makes you want to listen to their point of view, not your own. It makes you want to understand where they’re coming from, not just your own.

Quarrels and misunderstandings are bound to happen in a relationship, but the key is to be able to resolve them as soon as possible by empathizing with your partner. When you speak with your partner, don’t make the first move to defend yourself. Wait for them to bring up something in a conversation. Don’t make assumptions about what they’re trying to say.

The ability to manage your ego before your partner is the key to a sustainable relationship. It is the ability to be empathetic and understand your partner, no matter how wrong they are. The ability to manage your ego is the ability to be humble enough to admit when you’re wrong and be honest and open when you’re being spoken to.

In my 15 years in marriage, I have come to understand that the more I pinned down my ego the more submissive my wife become to me. I would always let my ego take over and speak about how wrong my wife was, and she would let her ego take over and fight back against my ego. Our relationship deteriorated rapidly, but I was not able to drop my ego. I was so focused on pinning down my partner’s wrongs and defending myself that I didn’t see how I was being a bully.

It wasn’t until I dropped my ego and I gave my partner the benefit of the doubt that we were able to resolve our differences and move on from those old arguments. I learned to be humble enough to admit when I was wrong and, to be honest, and open when I was being spoken to. I learned to drop the ego and fix the relationship.

I recall having a heated argument and disagreement with my wife one morning, and I was trying to persuade her to realize she was wrong for doing what she did. She, too, was talking back, attempting to persuade me of my error in the circumstances. The argument was so heated that I got weary of shouting at the top of my lungs and dashed out of the apartment to get into my car and drive to work. "Where are you running to, are you exhausted right now, go and come back, you will meet me in this house," my wife said as she hurried after me. "No dinner for you tonight," she continued, to which I answered, "I don't want to eat your food anymore." and drove away in anger.

While driving home from work in the evening, I considered the situation and reasoned that if my wife would not prepare dinner for me, there was no reason for me to return home at that hour. I dropped by a friend's house, a married couple who has been a long-time family friend. When they inquired why I didn't go home straight from work, I explained that I was having a disagreement with my wife. They tried to reason with me but were cautious not to take sides in the matter. I departed a few minutes before 10 p.m. and began driving back home.

I knew that getting home at that hour would exacerbate the situation, and I was prepared for the worst. When I arrived home, the front door was unlocked, and as I walked into the sitting room, I noticed that my meal had been prepared and was waiting for me across the dining room. The room was filled with the aroma of freshly prepared vegetable soup. I didn't even think to ask for my wife; I just walked right to the dining table and started eating whatever was presented to me since I was starving.

My wife came quietly behind me as I was hurriedly devouring the palatable vegetable soup and Semo (Cassava flake) and wrapped her hands around my neck with her chest against my back and whisper gently into my ear "I thought you said you would not eat my cooking anymore, I know you will always do". She sat next to me as I continue eating and spoke in a more polite way for me to understand her view on the subject of our contention. I listened to her more earnestly as though the palatable vegetable soup I was devouring has reset my brain. I suddenly got to admit my wrongs while she admit hers also.

The ego can destroy a good relationship if not well managed. It takes two to tangle but unfortunately, it takes one to meddle. The greatest challenge in maintaining a good relationship is to control the ego. It takes wisdom, self-control, and restraint to manage the ego.

Whenever you get into a major disagreement with your partner do not expect them to drop their ego, instead, you drop yours and fix the relationship.

21
$ 7.41
$ 6.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

No human beings is infallible. If you are wrong take it as that. Don't let ego destroy that beautiful relationship. You can be wrong. Admit your mistakes in order to save the relationship. Thanks greatly for this beautiful article. You are able to raise tangible issues in relationships. God will keep our home. It will never destroy. Keep it up. You are great

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will take good notes to this one friend. I may not be married yet but I believe this will keep whatever relationship I have right now. Not just intimate but family and friends. I was once a very ego centric one. But as I came closer to God I learn when to say and what to say and value relationship over winning arguments. I also change because of my very humble and down to earth boyfriend. He teaches me to be humble as well. Even though he would not say where I gone wrong nor try to win the argument his humbleness and patience would made me think of where I gone wrong myself. Indeed your right his attitude of knowing how to get down his ego is the reason why I lower mine as well. I do hope he will keep those attitude and I pray God he will be the one. I am proud of your marriage friend such a wonderful marriage not perfect but trying to learn each time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

First, I will encourage you you to keep to your good disposition and go with the flow with your partner. However, I will like you to know that there is no perfection in any relationship, you make your lay on your bed as you make it. We are the architect of everything we want in a relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, we really are the architect. Thank you for this friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing about ego is that it not only ruins relationships, but also one's self. When you expect people to fix things first rather than you taking the first move, when you think that you're more important, all these contribute a great deal

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, ego is destructive in nature

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one's a big lesson to those who will not down their ego down and I quite experienced this because our relationship lasts since 2003 and I've seen a lot of changes but I still choose to stay with him

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you think about yourself all the time you become a problem to other. To fix your partner you first need to fix yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ego ruins relationship sincere... but most people still won't get it. They'll still carry on with their ego and keep ruining beautiful relationships 😐😐

And for a relationship to work, it has to be egoless on both side. Don't mind my new word 😹😹😹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right friend, ego is the problem most people have in relationship today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn't even expecting your wife to prepare the food ...what I was expecting was another hot fight that would bring the whole house down🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this article, the term "ego" is really breaking alot of relationship, not being able to put down that pride, always thinking you are right, that's a bad one, thanks for this article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for reading and the comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In a disagreement in a marriage or relationship, it is very important to hold back one's defence reflex. Don't see it as a fight you have to win over your partner, there is not one winner and one loser, in the end you will both either win or lose. What you say here is very good, it's very central for a successful relationship. Bring down ego and pride, and focus on solving the problem. And don't attack each others' ego. If your wife is doing something you don't like, it is what she does, not her, you dislike. Let her feel that, keep to the point only.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for this great comment, I like the way you put it "there's no one winner or loser, you both lose together or win together in either way" I will keep that in mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing I really picked from this is the fact that if our men can try to bring down their ego, women will be more submissive and ready to tolerate whatever they face in marriage. But men and ego are like Garri and beans.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You speak like a typical Nigeria, and you are right. Men and ego is something else in our part of the world. Some will rather have their home shattered than to drop their ego.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should took first step towards saving the relationship. Anger , fustration , attention and queral is possible in anywhere anytime but humbleness and politeness with dropping down our ego can solve the issue in happy way .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, the problem is the issue not the person, and like you said we should focus on solving the problems instead of fighting each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's rare to see someone that wants to fix a broken relationship, cause most of them use quotes to back up their actions and believe they will find someone better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There is quarrels and misunderstanding with in the relationship cause of the ego or what we called our individual pride. It's seems our ego does not make any sense especially when prolonging relationship. Thus we must also down our pride and take the other side fairly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago