A sad day that I can never forget

40 49
Avatar for FashTioluwa
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story, Sad

It was my birthday that year and according to the custom of my family, when any of us is celebrating a birthday, we always have a small dinner party.

So, on this faithful day, which is my birthday, I woke up and went to the chapel in our house for morning prayer with other members of the family. After the prayer, they all waited to sing for me and congratulate me.

And after singing and laughing, we all went out for our morning duty.

In the evening, the table had been set, so many things that I did not even expect to see that day was actually there and I was feeling on top of the world, we bless the food and started dishing it out, the eating started shortly, and we are all having fun.

Then my guy in the family said there should be questions for the celebrant or that they should give advise and encourage me as I will be starting another journey in life.

Everybody started saying so many funny things, things I didn't remember doing, and the ones I remembered, all memories, I could feel my head swelling upπŸ₯°, I was blushing and feeling excited at the same time, It was now my dad's turn to give his speech, advice, or words of encouragement.

As I was waiting for him patiently, he finally started to talk and the first thing he will say is *I AM NOT PROUD OF YOU AS A FATHER*πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€”

At that moment, I lost all the good fun that had been inside of me and immediately, I became very sad.

He looked at my face and noticed I wasn't smiling, I was not happy to hear that from him, he finished his drink and went inside because he needs to rest.

I was so quiet where I was, the guy that brought up the suggestion was feeling sad about it, I summon the courage and told him not to worry, well different people with different perceptions about me, and he didn't say that to discourage me but for me to get my head straight and work on myself in the new yearπŸ‘Œ.

After I finished talking to my friends, we went back to our drink and talked about another thing. My dad then came out and gave me a warm hug and said he heard how I explained his word to my friends and he's very happy that I did not take it otherwise 😊 he then presented my gift to me and prayed for meπŸ₯°

It was a sad day for me but turn out to end well, I guess adding another age to my year added more sense to my brain.

The End.

This story wasn't mine, but it is original, it was inspired by a friend Moyinoluwa Amoke. I hope you enjoyed reading it, she's someone that reads my article always and also plan on joining this platform soon, I hope she has a strong heart when there is a dip in the market priceπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

16
$ 3.41
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story, Sad

Comments

Wow! She is indeed really wise, lol...I'm not sure what I'll have done in such weird situation, I'm glad her poppa later made her smile

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What the Father did was like a reverse pyschology.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, did you study psychology too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I did not, hehe...just an observations

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, anyways you should like a person that's very smart and wears glasses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I wear glasses sometimes when at workπŸ˜‚ Just anti radiation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you on the Club1BCH discord channel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not, you there?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I'm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh, I'll try

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okkk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the father is just trying to encourage her do more and do better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In a harsh way, a very harsh way... Not a befitting way a father should act though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh ok,that is bad and not good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah.. But I'm glad it turned out well

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

The way she handled the words though, not everyone can be able to do that at all. Maybe the party for just end like that πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If na me, I would just try and move the party to another location.... In fact gan, party scatter by fireboy would be played

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am glad you are more wise than your father to interpret his words the way be never thought will sound.. We are proud of you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh oh... So sorry. I can only imagine how you must have felt

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No be my birthday o, but i can also imagine how she must have felt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe heehe. This your disclaimer really funny 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚I have written its not my birthday o, be like everyone is skipping that part

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwn πŸ’ž. I guess it's a trick. Maybe he wants you to be scared for some moment, when he actually he didn't mean it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fathers and the way they train their kids sha.. You can't really know for sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not really sure how to interpret what your father meant by that but it's a good thing it helped you become a better person.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It wasn't my story though, but I'm glad she took it the right way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, I really do not like the way the man spoke to the birthday girl but thank God she didn't take it otherwise and I'm happy that the man later presented his gift to his daughter 😊😊. If it happens to me, I can enter the groundπŸ˜…πŸ˜…. It's all well and good. How are you coping with the dip boss

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If it was me, popsi go still collect for that thing wey he do for my friends front o.. But yeah I would have entered the ground straight up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This means it wasn't your birthday. By the time good wishes to whom ever you wrote this. Lmao

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah😁😁😁, my birthday is always having a more interesting and complicated story to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It good you never let negative words move you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It good you never let negative words move you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, especially from parent, one should see it as a motivational tool

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes...

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you are a wise child of your dad, who knew how to talk constructively before friends as per what your dad said. Good that you knew you were the one at fault and that you would work more on yourself in the new year.

God bless your dad for praying for you at the end. Bro you have a very good father.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen, I'm sure he was only testing her

$ 0.00
1 year ago