Learning the Basic: Ilocano Words

40 1062
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago
Topics: Learning, Languages, Blog

I am born as a Ilocana. I lived in the Pangasinan and it is one of the beautiful provinces of our country, Philippines. I know that my readers thought that I am pure 'Tagalog', because that is what sometimes the language that I am using here and communicating to my Filipino virtual friends. But no, I also have another dialect and i am just using it here at our house it is the language that we are using to communicate to each other since when I am born and that is our Ilocano dialect.

In our Province, some of other citizens speak two or three dialect(s). Iloco, Pangasinense, and Igorot but I don't know how to speak and understand that two other languages but I know someone who can understand and speak and that is my frenemy @Eunoia.

Anyways, because I don't have some topic for today, I decided to teach you how to speak our Iloco/ilocano dialect but let me just share to you the basic words and their meanings. Are you ready? Let's go!

Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty

The first word that I will introduce to you is the

Napintas

The english word of napintas is Beautiful. This is the word that we often use to compliment some beautiful things.

We also have other word that we use to say beautiful in ilocano such as Nag•pintas. So If you will compliment your wife, you should say, "Nagpintas ka" in english, You're beautiful.

Fun fact: I always compliment myself using this word when I was a kid after discovering this word. Everytime that I look in the mirror, I always say, "Apay ngata nga Nagrigat ti maging napintas?" (Why it's so hard to be beautiful?).

Okay, Let me say, "Nagpintas kayo amin." In english, "You are all beautiful."

Nag-Gwapo

If boys compliment girls by saying napintas, This word is what we are using to compliment handsome mens. We always say, Nagwapo or nag-gwapo. Are you familiar with the word gwapo in tagalog? They are just similar and we just add the word Nag. So it is so easy to understand if what is that word even if you are tagalog.

If you like to compliment your husband or boyfriend looking handsome today, you should say, "Nag gwapo ka lakay." (You're handsome husband).

Fun fact: I never compliment the boys in our Family using this word. I don't also compliment my boy classmates. I just use this word to compliment those handsome artists and some handsome strangers HAHA

Nagi-mas /nai-mas

This word is what we are using when we like to compliment the food being delicious. So in english word of this is delicious, yummy or it can be describe similar to that words.

So if you like to compliment something delicious food you should say, "Nagimas atoy nga makan." in english, This food is delicious/yummy.

Wen

This is not the word "When" okay? If you will prounounce it, it should be just We-n not We-y-n. Anyways, the english of this word is YES and for the opposite NO in ilocano is

Ha-an

This is the word that we use when we are not agree to something. So if you are not agree that I am beautiful, you should say, "Haan ka nga napintas" (You're not beautiful). Lol

Na-ga-do

It is so tough to describe this one but well, you csn use this word if you are describing or the total count of somethings. If you will use this you should say, "Nagado ti handa mi." (we have a lot of foods). Why one is the english word of this ilocano word?

  • A. Have

  • B. Foods

  • C. A lot

If your answer is 'a lot' then you are right. It is similar to the words: too much, many, more. Etc.

Bala-sang

This is the word that we use to call a Lady or maiden. Mainwhile, we called the young man as Ba•ro.

For examples:

Ilocano: "Napintas nga balasang ken nagwapo nga baro."

Tagalog: "Maganda na dalaga at gwapo na binata."

English: "Beautiful lady and Handsome young man."

How to speak Numbers names in Ilocano?

Conclusion...

That are just the few and example ilocano words that I can teach you. If you like to know more ilocano words, you can comment below and I will translate it for you.

But you know what? Even if I am a ilokana, I can't even sometimes understand the words that have a deep meanings. So sometimes, I always ask, @Eunoia if what is the meaning of those words. Why i am like this? A short story of mine,

Since when I started to study the people around me: Friends, Teachers, Classmates, and even my Family. They always speak to me and they use Tagalog because I am not born here at our Grandparents house. I mean, I am not always here back then because we are living in our old house. In our house before, my Parents always speak tagalog to me but to my sister they are speaking tagalog because she was born here at our grandparents. Same with to my classmates and teachers, they always use tagalog everytime that they are talking to me even though, I am a pure ilokana.

When I was Senior High School, that is the time that I asked them or they should grant me a favor and that is when they talk to me they should speak Ilocano and not tagalog because to be honest because of it, It is hard for me to understand the other ilocano words even if I am living here for how many years now, there are still some Ilocano words that I don't know. So I always asked them after if what are those words when I don't understand it.

Trivia: The Na•lam•ek or cold weather in english, I just knew about that word last year when my cousin said, "Nag lam-ek ditoy nga pweston." And I was confused what is the nalam-ek word. So I asked him if what is the nalam-ek? And he said the he is complaining to the cold weather of where he was.

So yeah, Eunoia even said that I am Ilokanang Hilaw. HAHAHA sorry about that, I'm still learning the other ilokano words too. HAHA

Thank you for reading!


My Previous articles:

Dear Mom, I will make you Happy

I dated two Guys at the same time?

Tara at magsagot ng mga katanungan

Wednesday, Random, Thoughts

My 1.58 earnings in One month

15
$ 9.81
$ 9.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago
Topics: Learning, Languages, Blog

Comments

Manganen! Kumakain ako while reading this.. Hehe.. They say I used to be fluent in Ilocano when I was two. My father is an ilocano but I grew up in Mindanao so I got used to speaking bisaya. Now, I can't speak the dialect but can understand my father when he is speaking in ilocano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung panggalatok at pangasenense marengs same lang? Ksi yung ibvang words na sinulat mo, naririnig ko yan sa asawa ng tito ko dati eh hihi nung nasa maynila pa ko. taga pangasinan kasi sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Addu pay ti ilokano nga madik ammo hehe.. Panggasinense si lola ko eh ..magpapaturo sana ako kaso mahirap haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen ngarod hahaha. My parents are both Ilocano , they are from Isabela and Cagayan. We also have relatives in Alcala Pangasinan saka Malasiqui and San Carlos hehe.

Kapag nasa Cagayan ako feeling ko alien ako e . Diko Kasi sila maintindihan 🤣

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That wen ngarod HAHAHA 🤣 ang cute mo ate yen hahaha kahit ako din naman kapag nasa ibang lugar ako yung lenghuahe nila diko din nagegets dika nag iisa ate hehe

Pangasinense, pangalatok ata yon or pangalatot diko din magets yang mga yan kahit ilokana ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha you did not include that the word 'Nagpintas' is beautiful in iloco but in tagalog, the word 'Nagpintas' meant judgemental. Mapagpintas meant that she often judge people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayan din naisip ko nung after ko itype. But naisip ko na baka di na siya need

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naalala ko dito ung ka ldr ko dati sis hahaha ilocano din sya pero dahil taga manila ako eh nagtatagalog siya tapos ang di ko lang makakalimutan doon is ung bagtit na word hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha bagtit meaning Baliw in tagalog 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo ses hahaahh ayan dala dala ko up to this moment yang word na iyan wahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilokano din po ako haha. Naimbag nga bigat mo ken ususto nga narigat maawatan agiti dadduma nga ilocano words gapwanan ta nauneg da unay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Huwaaah! Ilokano kadin huhu diko nagets yung ususto tsaka yung gapwanan mo 🤣 ang alam ko lang is Kusto (Tama) tsaka Gapo (kung san galing?) Haha kaso mali ako kaya Pina translate ko pa kay @Eunoia lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naimbag nga maamwan ken maipateg ti panagsasao nga iloko, ta nu haan nga maisali ti taraon a kas ubing, mapukaw ken adda tu lattan a oras nga awan tun makaring-ngeg. Biyag ti ilokano sao na ket iloco.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haan ko maawatan ayta ibagbagam manong haha anya ajay taraon aya? haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh parang ang ganda nya aralin. Kaso mahina ako sa ganito. Sa bisaya nga diko maaral aguy talaga. Pero save ko to para masaya hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Need ko to haha.. Ilocano si papa pro kunti lng alam ko na words

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha diko din po sure if gagawa ako ng part 2 neto. Mag isip po kayo ng 10 na words na gusto niyo malaman kung ano sa ilokano at itratranslate ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I thought that all of the member of these platform were all foreigners, except for those I know personally, that was why I tried to construct my english correctly so that we can get all understand each other, it was funny because It was really hard and everyday was like I was having a nosebleed reading all the comments, Natatawa nalang ako na may mga bisaya at tagalog pala dito, napapunas ako sabay sabing mas pinahirapan ko pa ang sarili ko haha, and it is interesting to know na may iba pang dialect dito katulad ko 😊😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHA same. 🤣 nung una ko dito may mga Bisaya na . Diko sila magets kaya iniskip ko nalang yon basahin kasi wala ako maintindihan.

Hanggang english at Tagalog lang nga ako. Pero alam mo ba, mas madami pinoy dito haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga haha, late ko ng nalaman halos maubos ang english ko.. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mare akala ko same² lang ang bisaya at Ilocano kaso hindi para at sobra layo ng dialect. Binasa ko loudly, hindi ko kung pano o tama ba yung bigkas ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHA hindi ui malayo. Di sila magka ano pero both mahirap intindihin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap pero worth it pagnatutunan mare😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagado napintas ilocana bala-sang ? Pwedi nabang maintindihan? Hahah Hirap namn heheh kala ko magkasinghawig lang yung lingua ng bisaya at ilocano napakalayo pala talaga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ganyan din samin sa ibang linghuahe. Mahirap din intindihin ako nga din di nskakaintindi ng bisaya haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha patas lang pala, kala ko kakaintindi karin ng bisaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mahirap pala siya sis, hehehe kasi ibang word talaga siya hindi talaga maiintindihan pag hindi alam ang meaning

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pag di ka taga dito talaga mahirap intindihin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo totoo, hirap talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I NEED THE PART 2 OF THIS

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Magtanong ka nalang saken if ano ipapatranslate mo haha wala ako balak gawan ng part 2 to 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang hirap naman mars. Nakangiti ako habang binabasa yung mga words.😅 Tinry ko intindihan before basahin yung meaning pero mostly mali ako.😅 Ang layo sa bisaya yung words tas sa Ilonggo. Marunong din kasi ako mag Ilonggo. Iba din words sa mga Ilonggo.

Dami talagang words na hirap intindihin. Depende sa mga lugar. Part sa Visayas okay lang kasi medyo naintindihan ko pa.😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha 🤣 ako din naman mareng di nakakaintindi ng ilonggo huhu. Dito pangalang pahirapan na ako e. Kahit taga pangasinan ako meron at meron pading mga dialect na diko din alam katulad noong tatlo, yung pangasinense, pangalatot tsaka yung igorot. Diko alam haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang dami talaga mars. Pag pupunta sa ganung lugar, ma speechless ka na lang.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May bago akong natutunan today.hihi Thank you sis for sharing. Pagtripan ko mamaya partner ko.haha For sure di niya to maintindihan.😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha sabihan mo siya ng Nag gwapo ka. Or tanungin mo siya if maganda ka. "Lakay, Napintasak ba?"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhahah, tawa ng tawa ako ngayon sis. Ano ba daw sinasabi ko.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA 🤣 sabihin mo, "Adda lang natutunak nga ilokano." (May natutunan lang akong ilokano)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Pangasinan din probinsya namin pero di ako marunong ng dialect nila hahaha. Medyo familiar ako sa napintas, nagimas, at wen kasi naririnig ko sa mga pinsan ko pag umuuwi kami don. Akala ko nga dati yung wen is bakit sa tagalog lol hahhahahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHA basic lang kasi yang mga yan eh. May mga mahihirap ding intindihin kahit ilokana ako 😭 napapaisip nalang ako minsan kapag diko nagets yung sinabe eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago