Three questions to my readers.

42 72
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

I was completely surprised when I learnt that yesterday; "8th May, 2022" was another day slated out to celebrate our mothers, I'm guessing we'll still see and hear more about mother's day.

To all the lovely mothers on this great platform and to all the mothers all over the world, not excluding the wannabe mothers and the ladies:

"Happy Mothers Day"

Before I proceed:

Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty

My sponsors are gems, I love them and I really appreciate their lovely show of support, having people with great and dexterous writing skills, to support me is an achievement I won't ever take for granted. Cheers to my beautiful and amazing sponsors.

Today's blog.

Questions for my readers.

During PCS's class,

  • People

  • Communication

  • Skills.

The lecturer engaged her students in a discussion, and by "students," I was inclusive, it was based on different things and how to address colleagues and bosses in an office, I'll be writing on what she asked and the examples the students gave from their experiences.

She asked this question: How do you maintain a good rapport with a colleague that has chosen to be a terrible issue to you in your workplace?

A student stood up and narrated her experience.

When I was an SSC (senior secondary school certificate) holder, I was teaching in a big school as a class teacher, the organization brought in a BSC (bachelor of science) holder to be my assistant teacher, which was because; some schools deal mostly with the number of years one has, as an experience in the teaching field.

This lady was a class teacher and you know; as a class teacher, she's entitled to give instructions to the assistant class teacher, well she couldn't and that was because she felt it would look irrational to give instructions to someone who was not only older than her in age, but also older in certificate and qualification.

In her words:

I found it really hard to give her instructions, but I expected her to know her duties, this lady never assisted me in class, not in awarding marks on the scholars' notes, not in feeding, not in doing anything...

There was a day I asked her to please help me out with marking, I was so tired that day, I was expecting her to help, but unfortunately she surprised me when she said:

"I can't help you ooh, I thought you usually feel like you're the only one, ehn, go ahead and do it yourself, I'm not doing it."

It went on and on till it was time for parents to come and check out their children's performances. If you've taught before, you'll know that most teachers love such days. Generous parents tend to gift hardworking teachers with "cash, soap, food and just any other goodies."

The parents gave this SSC holder alot of goodies, but the issue here was that:

This SSC holder gave nothing to her assistant teacher, because she felt her assistant was just being too lazy and irrational. She felt it was time to pay her back for all her wrong doing.

The assistant class teacher went home with nothing...

  • Now the question here is, do you think the class teacher(SSC holder) did the right thing?

  • What do you think would have made the assistant teacher(BSC holder) act in such irrational way; refusing to assist the class teacher in taking care of the scholars, and attending to their needs?

And after debating on these questions, some people supported the SSC holder, while others felt the BSC holder shouldn't have been treated in such way, especially because the BSC holder had more qualifications than the SSC holder.

Infact some people went as far as saying that, the school should never had put a BSC holder under the supervision of an SSC holder.

In their words: "it's professionally wrong."

The next question was quite brief, infact it was given to us as an assignment. It stated:

You're an office manager, you're in the office and your boss; being a man, is inside his own personal office with his girlfriend and he gave you an instruction that: "no one should come into his office," suddenly the wife walked in, and the usual manner of the wife when she comes into the office is for her to walk straight to the husband's office without taking permission from the office manager.

As the office manager, what would you do?.

Well, to me though, I'll stop the wife and tell her that her hubby is in a meeting, or I'll stop her and make sure she doesn't have access into my boss's office and that's because, it was an order from my boss, and he clearly stated that he didn't want anyone to come into his office.

What would you do?

New sponsor: I got a new sponsor today, her name is @Bibijani01 . I'm really grateful for your sponsorship, dear readers, please do check out her page, you'll definitely love what you see, trust me.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

31
$ 3.16
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 17
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

These questions are really hard because most teachers are thinking if you say to them you are doing this thing in a wrong way as you devalorize them even if it is true. Most of these things are done in a private way means after the class lesson is ending then you go to the teacher and say: I think this could be corrected in this manner but not saying You are wrong in the correction by this manner as it has the practically same result as first.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

With the case of SSC holder and BSC holder will I think wasn't right. The BSC has a higher position indeed and I think it was hard for her to work being supervised under with a lower position. However we don't know, maybe the school has purpose, maybe they want to see how this two persons work together and if both of them can work professionally without considering the level of their positions but only considering their assignments. Unfortunately the outcome was failed as both didn't work according to the tasks that was given to them. While the office manager on the other hand will I think I should also not let the wife enter the office as it was the boss order.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great point there dearest Grey, you're definitely right, that could possibly be it... Unfortunately they just couldn't work well together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me chip in the way with what I've learnt in my church settings... which I found so applicable anywhere.

The settings work with duration you've served in the commission, so if you have lesser qualification and age, and a bigger mighty person is posted to assist you, the bigger boss pays maximum respect to his SMALL BIG BOSS. Ministry has it that the bigger boss hearken to the instructions of the small big boss and if by anyway the bigger boss default,,,,,report straight.

The ssce holder did the right thing, the back holder wasn't taught humility in school🧘

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is indeed deep Kay, you're so right... It's a matter of humility, the BSC holder doesn't have humility in her, but then also just as you said "report straight" the SSC holder should have reported her to the management and not deprive her of gifts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow, the first case, I would just ignore her and mind my own work because dealing with rude people is not my cup of tea because if I had to start dealing with it, I will serve jail time, you know what I mean right? and second case, if I were the manager, I would tell the wife to wait in the lobby until the boss is ready to meet, I mean, this ain't their house, it is office.. so

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, wow!, These are brilliant answers dear doll, but for the second one, the wife might want to prove being a troublesome woman, especially because she usually just walks in without seeking permission from anyone, if she's stopped, she'll want to know all the more reason why she was.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I don't care lol.. Because I'm the manager in that place and I'm answerable to only the one that pays my salary.. Not to anybody else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think those accommodities belongs to SSC holder, nothing is bad if she don't want to share. The answer of your question is also inside question, Has not BSC done nothing bad while saying no to SSC holder at that time. Not helping but expecting for commodities, is using her authority of superiorvision wrongly. Secondly, I'll also stop his wife too . Because I get paid for my boss not for his wife.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This is a lovely contribution from you Bibi, thanks for airing your view....

Honestly, this is it, I'll also stop the wife because it's a instruction from my boss himself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know private schools have their different ways of operating and from what you just narrated, it simply meant that the Degree holder was just earning got obviously doing nothing and it's wrong. I feel she should obey constituted authority regardless of the circumstances.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, they really do have their different ways and yes... She should have just obeyed, I guess she was just too proud

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Communication isn't alive there, they are both wrong and should have communicated well to get things right besides it is a work place and everyone should do their jobs rightly,. I would tell the wife that he was called for an urgent meeting and it would take time, I'd even add that he says he'd be going home afterwards and I think that should stop her.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, Balli, they were both wrong. Lol, 😂 you really cooked that up pretty well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe I should apply the post of a secretary then, 😂😂.. hope I'm free to use your article as my year of experience?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you want to learn wisdom and experience from anyone who is in a particular field you need to swallow your pride.

I remember going to training and a ten year old boy was giving me instructions. I was obeying him because he has more experience than me and I didn't look at his age or academic qualifications

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm, these are deep insightful words Mr Tomi.

From your experience, one really needs to swallow spit if one is actually and truly heading for success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have same thoughts dear ella isn't it professionally wrong to put bsc holder under the supervision of ssc holder, i mean everyone knows there a much difference between both levels, as bsc holder has came to that post with double efforts and hardwork as compared to ssc holder, i think its totally wrong, and it is the pride and courage of bsc holder to work under the ssc holder who is less educated and less experienced and alao rude to her, but i also thi k she will get to learn much more after working under the supervision of ssc holder.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dearest Violet, it's actually wrong but then, I guess they were more concerned about the level or years or experience. Oh yeah, the BSC holder was also proud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I saw pride in the BSC holder's life, if she had humbled herself and assisted the SSC holder she would given her from the gifts. What the younger teacher did was actually right. It's good for the proud to learn their lessons some times.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs...thanks so much for airing your wonderful view Ayo, you're right, the BSC holder was indeed proud and sometimes it's good for one to learn one's lesson.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First of, I can fault the superior for not carrying her subordinate along. Because that is what I can deduce from what her subordinate replied her with. But then again she was uncomfortable asking her to do one thing or the other. I believe proper communication from day 1 or day 2 would have solved this dilemma. As for the wife-boss issue, true that we shouldn't mix business with pleasure, but I would mention to the wife what the husband said, if she still decides to go in, I honestly won't stop her.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmmm, great point there, but the reason why the superior didn't carry her subordinate along was because she was scared of sounding seemingly rude to her, she didn't know how to place her offers, she should have still communicated though.

Lol, aaah. He's your boss, he gave you an instruction, you're risking your job by going against his order.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did my job by telling the wife what I was instructed. It is not my job to hold her or stand in her way if she still decides to go in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, this is a great point from an angle I wasn't seeing before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Ella, the discussion the lecturer engaged her students in it, was very interesting. In my opinion, morally and professionally the BSC holder must assist the SSC holder and the class teacher in the scholars, and attending in needs. And if I was an office manager too, I stop the wife of boss, and tell her hubby is in a meeting, because it was an order from my boss.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, morally and professionally, the BSC holder was meant to assist the SSC holder, but I guess pride made her not took.

The second suggestion is actually lovely, I'd do this too, especially since it's the hubby that pays my salary. Thanks, dearest friend Ellen he

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Normally, in any organization, someone with higher degree is always placed at the top.. imagine you taking all the stress to attain a higher degree so as to be placed in a high position and this happened.. first you'll feel bad. But as the case maybe, the BSC school be able to help out too in the office work... It's always good to the right thing at the appropriate time. And for the second one about the Boss, i will rather obey the instructions, to avoid problem, since he said " no one should come into his office," his wife is not excluded...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right Jacy, though these days companies deal with certificate quite alright, but one should also have experience... Especially when it comes to teaching, qualification without experience is almost useless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I loved these meetings to discuss questions and express oneself in different situations. For the wife, I will abide by the director's instructions not to allow anyone to enter, and I will ask her to call him to decide if he will allow her to enter or not.But deep down, I hope she will come in and discover his betrayal

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Thanks alot for this dearest Lara, asking his wife to call him also seems like a brilliant idea to me.... Lol, deep down also, I'll wish she actually comes in to realize his betrayal. Awww, thanks so much for this lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm on the side f the SSC teacher... She was humble enough band accorded the older and more qualified assistant her due respect. If the older woman had humility and was ready to work. I don't think anyone would be able to tell who was the superior between them. Infect the younger woman would be happy to introduce her colleague to the parents of the children too. Hence, she would also develop a good relationship with them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm, and she coined all her words to form a really beautiful comment, thanks for this Bil. The BSC holder was terribly wrong and what she did just showed her lack of humility and the existence of pride in her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The school placing a BSC under SSCE is nothing bad, they must have considered experience as well, and the BSC holder was wrong not to have helped the SSCE.

If I was the SSCE teacher, I would hesitate to share the gift with the BSC teacher. It should make a difference, love can change a whole lot of things. -----------------------------------------_-- I will definitely follow my boss's instructions, the wife is not the one paying my salary.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Beautiful! Exactly, they considered the experience first and the qualification.

Love indeed makes a difference and two wrongs doesn't make a right George, thanks for this.

Lol, exactly, the boss's instructions comes first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I will go to the CR and as if I never seen the wife coming hehehe.. The wife has the right to enter his husband's office hehehe...

This is just a thinking of a married woman who don't like to hear men cheating a woman like me hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol😂 This is a good idea Jen, lol, I understand your point of view... I really wouldn't want that too. Thanks for airing your view dear Jen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! After that i might loss a job lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well the SSC holder shouldn't have behaved like that, using wrong to pay wrong, who knows if she had given her out of those things maybe the BSC holder would have changed towards her.

Also I believe, professionally or not those certificates are just paper, what they have upstairs determines who gets the lead role.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right Tobs, two wrongs doesn't make a right and yes, especially when it comes to teaching; experience and what they have upstairs is what counts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The school was wrong in putting a more qualified person under a less qualified person. The way the BSC holder behaved is understandable under the circumstances howbeit wrong, but the retaliation of the SSCE holder is both wrong and stupid

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A great point there, Talon... You're right, the school is wrong for doing something like that. You're definitely not partial in your judgement, the SSCE holder too was very wrong. Thanks for this lovely contribution Talon, good to see you here

$ 0.00
1 year ago