Jealousy.

16 70
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago
Image source: Unsplash.

Jealousy is an often overwhelming feeling of insecurity about a potential loss or inequity in distribution of resources.

Wikipedia

Two best friends. They were friends since birth, judging from the way their mothers were also friends, one would guess these ladies' friendship would be buried with them. One was light skinned, the other was dark skinned. The former was not as beautiful and brainy as the latter, but who cares, their friendship grew at the dawn of each passing day.

One day, something happened, something that altered this 'happy ever after" story; forever. The former; at the age of 16, started seeing life differently from when they both played with sand. She started observing those preferential treatments diverted towards the latter. At first she didn't budge until their birthday arrived.

Oops... Forgive my manners, I forgot to tell my readers; that these two lovely friends shared the same birth date.

The latter received so much love from families and friends, the gifts were quite innumerable, the texts, calls and just everything. It was quite the opposite for the former, and that was when it all started.

Sadly also; that was when it all ended. The former killed the latter and killed herself thereafter... I guess she decided to extend their friendship by journeying them to the land of no return.

At the end, they shared the same birthdate and the same death date.

Alas!... That was how the once happy story, ended in tragedy and why?...

The former allowed her jealousy control her thinking.

Jealousy led to murder and suicide.

Need I say this, but for some, it's easy to get jealous. Not allowing that jealousy to control and rule your thinking, is where the journey to overcome it starts from.

I always have this terrible mindset and this mindset sometimes makes me act below my capability, all because I don't want the other person who is either my senior or probably someone I met in the business, or just maybe someone who introduced me to something; see me as a rival.

The fear of doing better than the one I met there, makes me shy away from doing things to the best of my capabilities.

P.S: That notion up there, might be true and might not be, but it's just the way I view things.

I was employed as a teacher, early last year, to teach the nursery section. (You can imagine the kind of work that comes with it).

  • Singing rhymes with them.

  • Acting like a child, just to come down to their level of understanding.

  • Shouting and jumping, just to make the classes lovely and humourous.

  • Writing their class and home activities on their exercise books.

  • Holding their hands to guide them in writing their curves, dashes, strokes and the likes.

I knew how to jump and shout, just like the teacher I met there knew how to, but anytime this teacher was around, I usually acted and behaved like I couldn't do it.

Alot of complaint was made, but I kept acting like; playing and teaching the kids at the same time, was something I am and was never used to.

And this was because, I had the notion that she might get jealous if the director of the school starts seeing my efforts and starts praising me more than the praises he renders to her.

Little children love it more when you play with them while teaching, lol, if you're the type that's so serious and hardly smile and you decide to teach little children with such kind of serious minded mentality. Lol, then I'm sorry, I doubt they'll listen to you.

That last paragraph simply means that, they never ever responded to me the way they would to the other teacher. And that was because I was overly acting serious and the other teacher was really playful around them.

But when she left the school, I started playing and doing everything with the kids, all these made them grow sudden affection towards me. They became free around me and always responded to my teachings and jokes.

Question here is: Was my notion about her true? Would she really had gotten jealous if the director had praised me more than he did her?.

And also: Have you ever acted below your capability, just so you won't look like a rival to the other party? Or just so the other party doesn't get unnecessarily jealous of your achievements?

There are so many ways jealousy is formed.

  • Low self-esteem.

  • Insecurities.

  • Inferiority complex.

  • Lack of contentment.

  • Hatred.

  • Fear...

Jealousy can be really toxic and can lead one into murder, just like the story I wrote about. It could also lead one into illegal commitment just to bring one's rival down.

Jealousy can also lead to hatred and resentment. Jealousy would make you weigh your achievements with that of others, and would make you wish the downfall of another person.

Let me stop here, I'll love to hear your reply to those questions, especially because I've done it a whole lot of time; pretending I don't know how to do a particular thing just to make the other party feel (s)he can do it best and to avoid the other party from harboring jealous thoughts towards me.

New Sponsor: The person behind me; being on this platform, thanks so much for your sponsorship, @Tomi-Ajax your support towards me right from the beginning is none to reckon with.

And to my readers...

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

26
$ 3.15
$ 2.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 19
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

My Dad always tells me when I start working in a new work place to always act as if I don't know much. Or else people might get jealous of me and plan evil

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear jealousy knows no one,even your blood can be your jealous rival talkless of co-worker. For me I do not care if you are jealous of me,what I'm after is my future. I remember back in secondary school,there was a lady we compete 1st and 2nd position,any term I came first she will feel bad and not congratulate me but whenever she came first and I came second she will fake sympathy towards me and laugh at me at same time but for me I was happy for her and even happy I didn't came last in class.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I won't blame you for acting the way you did in this case. I've seen various forms of jealousy in my workplace and I know how it feels. The worst thing about jealousy is that you can't predict who is gonna be jealous about you until it happens. In addition, some jealous people will never show it out but they will silently start planning against you until they contact someone that will expose them.

Some people can be jealous of very little accomplishments. I've seen a coworker who can be jealous of your smartphone,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In one of Drake's lyrics: "Jealousy is just love and hate at the same time"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are acceptable levels of jealousy so if it exceeds these levels it becomes something that it is like illness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealousy, manliness, envious born itself when we see someone of your competent starts upgrading usually with zero effort or no effort. When i was child, my mother used to say girl why haven't you done your homework see your sister has done. Similarly on the day of result announcements, when my sister got extra good mark, the way they used to praise her made me automatically little bit jealous and started like I'm not jealous at all. Lol It is hard to reveal her nature, either she was jealous or not, through the methodology you used to cheer up children. Maybe she inspired. Lol Then why did she left?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealousy is real, it's created in and with us. The image(God) we came from has jealousy so we are bound to be jealous in one way or the other, but we shouldn't allow it take over us because it could be deadly if not handled well.

The scenario that you gave is quite Normal, it has happened to me severally. Infact it's highly recommendable to play humble(reduced) when you are do the same thing with your boss for assessment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Never compromise yourself sis, you are all that you have got"... People will always be people and if God say yes nobody can say no. They can only try to stop a pure heart you but all their evil plan will backfire, backfire dangerously sef.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealousy is kind of natural of course we are created by a jealous God and so it's only natural for us to be jealous but we shouldn't allow jealousy to rule out thinking nor control our actions. I'm Priscillia and I'm new on this platform and it's nice to meet you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A little bit of jealousy - like some say, is good. Sometimes, humans allow themselves to feel too much - like in the case of that other girl who was never shown the care and attention she sought, and therefore it turns them into something unrecognizable. The "domino effect" often leads to tragic ends in the lives of the affected individuals. In retrospect, she became envious of her friend, and let strife and bitterness cloud her reasoning. It's just sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealousy is associated with negative emotions and it is difficult to deal with. I hope it won't affect your passion in teaching. Cheer up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealously is a social evil and causes many problem. Actually a kid is comfortable with the teachers who keep him happy and teach with fun instead of behaving rude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me say that jealousy can burn your happiness moments.you should praise good talented people.but I observed discrimination in our society on being beautiful and ugly.this is root cause of jealousy but i think no one is ugly in this world all people are beautiful.you know very well beauty lies in the eye of viewer.yyou have asked some question let me answer .yup! I try mostly to work low than my capability for my lovely friend she got mood off if I do more better so just for her happiness i oftenly do this.i don't know you was right or wrong with her but I knew the thing is you have sensible and sensitive personality as well. You have thought good for her.you have sacrifice yourself for her. There are only few people in world those who think about others feelings just like you have done for her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's part of our emotion that we could feel jealous to someone whom we love. But love is not jealous. No jealousy is happened if we are honest and sincere to our loved ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our jealousy for someone's shows our love for her/his

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Permit me say that; jeoulosy is a disease we need to get rid of at all cost. My mom advised me to stay away from jeoulose friends, they sting like adder and bite like serpent

$ 0.00
1 year ago