Communicating reduces grudges.

44 78
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Grudge.

a persistent feeling of ill will or resentment resulting from a past insult or injury.

Wikipedia

Sometimes the grudge we feel towards someone; based on the way they acted, stains our pure heart and also sometimes the grudge we feel towards them are based on prejudice, but the pride in us wouldn't want us to try correcting our wrongs. Makes me remember one of @Trifecta article, where he wrote about prejudice and ignorance.

What do I mean by the statement up there?.

Oh well, it's quite simple: sometimes we do get angry and keep malice with another over irrelevant and minor things. Minor things that could be settled with just one conversation.

An experience of mine, to buttress on this.

One thing about me is that: I can greet for Africa, but once you don't respond and am sure you heard my greetings, forget about it. I might literally just sign out on greeting you.

Something happened at my place of work.

There is a young man whose shop/office is directly opposite the small office I work in, he runs a model office or computer business; "printing of documents, typing, training students and all."

On one fateful morning, I greeted him but he gave me no response, I stood up from my seat and greeted him again but still yet; there was no reply. I was so sure he heard me, especially because am quite a professional when it comes to shouting in other to make sure I'm heard.

After that morning scenario, and when my colleague was around, I narrated to my colleague; what transpired between the man and i. My colleague had responded by telling me about a previous complaint the man made about me to him sometime ago; saying that: "I don't usually greet him."

In my mind I was like: Me...!!! A whole me that can greet people for Africa, perhaps the man didn't understand what he said.

Anyways...

Ever since that scenario played out, I resolved in my mind to never ever greet the man again.

It was quite peaceful. Whenever I get to work, I'll just open the gate, mind my business, greet other people and forget about greeting the man in question.

On and on; I continued, until my mum found out and advised me otherwise. She reminded me of a saying:

You don't know who would help you tomorrow, you can't be keeping malice with people, sometimes it's good to just try and maintain relationships with people.

Girlgirl swallow spit and go and speak to that man on Tuesday (today).

Mum

I saw sense in what she said and did her bidding today.

Readers!!...

You wouldn't believe me when I tell you that after meeting with this man and voicing out. After asking him why he didn't reply my greetings previously. He actually said he didn't hear me greeting him that day. He went on by saying that he'll never refuse to respond to the greetings of others even if he is in an angry state of mind.

Wow!!. So that's how I would have ended up holding onto a grudge based on pride and assumptions.

It's not really nice to hold unto a grudge with someone, communication would really make a big difference.

Imagine if you had a issue with your best friend and instead of just saying goodbye to the relationship, you walk up to your friend, sit her down and have a proper conversation with her. Wouldn't that be nice?.

If we could communicate better with eachother; voicing out our wrongs, apologizing and trying to find solutions to the problem, the rate of holding unto a grudge would have reduced drastically.

But... You see ehn... Especially the ladies, we find it difficult to be the one that strikes a conversation.

Communication reduces grudges.

I have so many experiences to share with you all, but let me just put a full stop to it here.

Some people would be like...

Me!!, Meet her?, Am I the one that's at fault?, What she did was wrong, I can't beg her ooh, she's the one at fault, to hell with her friendship, I'm not going to meet her!!!.

Be the peacekeeper, be the one that tries keeping that bond, it doesn't make you look weak. Infact the one who tries to find solution to a grudge or quarrel is actually the strongest.

We don't know where we would find eachother tomorrow, so instead of breaking bonds through holding onto a grudge, why not try being a peacekeeper instead.

I felt really happy after I voiced out today and after the table was cleared.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

25
$ 6.11
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from @Trifecta
$ 0.15 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 18
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not the type of person who can communicate well but I suppose it is really up to the person whether he or she would make a grudge to someone about something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keeping grudges don't make any sense honestly, alot of things would be bettwr if people just told to one another when they have little misunderstanding but rather humans would choose to keep grudge... Life no hard reach that one. But that pride is an aspect of man that cannot be removed its just in our nature to act that way, safe to say its WHO WE ARE AS A SPECIES (among other things anyway).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really makes no sense indeed el, I'll definitely remember these words of yours. And yes, humans are really proud and would rather hold unto a grudge than communicate and settle their disputes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly I would say its one of the things we do that I find really petty, and I'm not gonna lie I'm guilty of it too lool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An adage says "we human beings are like water which flows from places to places, we never can tell where we will meet each other tomorrow, and we never can tell from who we will need help", so, it is better when we greet somebody and he/she doesn't answer maybe intentionally or unintentionally, we should still do our best to greet such person, and ask the reasons he/she isn't answering, if it's something we could settle one on one, we should settle it, and if it's something we need to involve elderly ones, we should. Because we just have live peaceably with one another and keep grudges off.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow!! Ayo, really thanks alot, this is awesome. I'll always keep these words in mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malice is a simple word that embodies a very complex and difficult act. It's quite difficult to walk past a colleague of yours that you ought to be seeing every morning without greeting. Personally, if I'm to stop talking to anybody, I don't do it because I want to, most times I do it for the sake of my sanity. Maybe after some time the person may realize why I took that first step. But if the person doesn't I'd meet the person and explain, so that it wouldn't be like we are on bad terms cause you obviously don't know where you would meet them in future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sighs... You're right Chief, it's quite difficult to do this. From the illustration you gave, it's evident that you are the kind of person that hardly ever holds unto a grudge, and it's a really lovely trait I'll definitely imbibe from. Thanks alot for this awesome contribution of yours Chief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mom is wise and I agree with her. Don't let others' impression or words be the deciding factor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww, let me blush on her behalf. Thanks Article. Thanks for your contribution

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am reminded again of this with what happened earlier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite a professional when it comes to shouting hehe.. it good you listened to momma. Communication is the key to any sort of grudges or malice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, indeed I am, lol 😂 Yes Bali, it is. Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a beautiful piece, Ellawrites, I love this sooo much, and I agree with everything you said. Imagine also that you had greeted someone and they didn't answer and you walked away thinking the person was rude and he or she was just deaf. Imagine how hurt he'd possibly feel if he discovered this. Communication is so powerful in this, my friend, seeking clarity is so important, it clears up misunderstandings. Have a wonderful day.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Thanks alot Trifecta, my friend. Yes!, You're right, it could be really hurtful. Communication is really a necessity. Awwwwwn, I always love your last sentence. Thanks Trifecta and you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the worst is that the heart won't be at peace when you have grudges with anyone. Your mind will skip once you see him or her coming in an opposite direction. I've taken such step to make peace, I went to his house to shout at him because of what he said, the environment got tensed and he started keeping Malice. I had to walk up to him to make peace because my mind was not at peace

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is just it, ones heart would just not be at peace, it would skip a bit when the other person comes by. You did the right thing Kay. Thanks for this brilliant contribution of yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time a man isn't replying to your greeting because of the work, this could be misunderstood by the other part but generally, this is the attitude of men. Their first priority is work after relationships.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Communication means a lot. It can make or break a relationship. Holding a grudge is like swallowing poison. Communication is the means to let it go.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Holding unto a grudge is like swallowing poison, wow! Thanks alot for this. And it's good to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One should not be overly angry with others as a result of which they fall on others and hurt them.

Mothers always show intelligence for their children. Your mother's case is no exception. Mothers always give the best solution. Your mother gave you the best solution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Sonali, one shouldn't be, one should rather be a peacemaker and a peacekeeper.

Awwwwwn, thanks Sonali dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny thing is that it s mentally and emotionally draining to continue keeping grudges with another person. Imagine someone you are not in talking terms with Suddenly comes into your presence, all the pleasantness, cheerfulness and peace of mind you have been feeling at that moment would just instantly evaporate. But as soon as there has been reconciliation between you both, you would feel a feeling of warmth and peace you have not felt in a long while that you begin to rebuke yourself why it took you so long to do the right thing.... Talking from experience

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're so right Bilqees, honestly it's really emotionally and mentally draining. I can relate to this too. It's just so bad to hold onto a grudge. That peace...that peace one feels when gets rid of the grudge. Exactly dear, so true. One would begin to rebuke oneself for holding onto it for just too long. Awww, thanks for sharing your experience with us Bilqees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You don't know who would help you tomorrow, you can't be keeping malice with people, sometimes it's good to just try and maintain relationships with people." ~ your mum made a perfect point and she is wise for saying so. We are created to bond and have relationships with one another. It is even commanded in the Bible - "If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone." ~ Romans 12:18

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks alot ma'am, for an in-depth enlightenment on this, indeed this is so true, I've learnt from your words also ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mum did the right thing .. mums are the best. For me I don’t greet a lot of people not because I hold a grudge or anything it’s just I get too shy to say hi .. I don’t know if it is anxiety or something i am sure a lot of them think i am proud ..‘it is really not that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww, let me blush on her behalf. Yes indeed, mums are the best.

You?! Shy? Wow! Hmmmm, I kinda understand you though, people would actually mistake your shyness or anxiety for pride. Lol, this might just be a phobia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It probably. Is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to your mom, whose wise advise of maintaining relationships with everyone cleared the confusion between that guy and you resolved. I've learnt a very beautiful message in your article. Years we don't speak with each other, just because of misconceptions, misunderstanding which can be easily sort out through mean of communication.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love your summary of this Bibi, I'm glad you stopped by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up. Communication is very important in Friendship, marriage and even our daily lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Royal, it's very important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a "greeter", if there ever is a word like that. Sometimes I greet people and then be like they never heard a word I said. (Which may be true, cos' most times when I speak even my friends hardly hear what I say). I'm that soft-spoken. So anytime I wanna greet a person I make sure they actually see me move my mouth to do it. Lol. It's weird I know but that's how I am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Lol, this is a nice trait Vince. Lol, it isn't all that weird to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well articulated...I hope that writing will be helpful for those who want to make their relations good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Memi, I hope so too. Good to see you here dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wahala. I have heard you, I will communicate more

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwww, Lol. Aimure dear, this is really nice to hear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! how i wish this article can be read by my God mother (we call it ninang). She became mad at me for some simple things. I am trying to go there, find ways to communicate but seems even my shadow make her turn back. She won't ever accept my hands when i am about to bless her, she will just ignore me seems didn't seen me. it's hurt though but i am hoping she can understand me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch, Jen, so sorry about this. I can't imagine how this must have felt, I really do hope she understands you someday 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope and pray so.. I cried a lot over this matter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you my friend Ellawrites. Communication has something to do in making grudges be resolved. It's hard to pretend that everything is okay but without reconciliation, the anger would turn into hatred. Better to communicate and express the feelings of both sides.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly Han, this is just the truth, so many grudges would be resolved when we communicate with each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago