On Moving Out and Living Independently!

27 58
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Bullying- Have I ever been Bullied?

Cosmetic Surgery- Would you consider having Cosmetic Surgery?


Moving out from your parent's house. This is another topic that was discussed in the drama My ID is Gangnam Beauty that I just recently watched. You probably have noticed it already that my articles are related to that drama and I just can't help but write an article about it because the series was just so good and very relatable, especially that I am also a college student like those characters in the series. Expect that I'll be writing an article or two more about it. Ehe!

Back when I was still in High School, particularly in Senior High, whenever I think about my future college life, I dreamt of completely moving out from my parent's house where I don't need to go home every weekend anymore and just stay in my rented dormitory all week. I thought of completely living my life independently where my parents don't need to provide for my allowance anymore or pay for my rent because I will be the one working part-time so I have money to budget for my expenses.

I wanted to move out and live independently so that I could train myself to not depend on anyone but myself because that's where I'm headed anyway once I already graduate from college and look for a job.

Woo Young told Kyung Seok that,

"Reality strikes you once you move out of your parents' place."

And I agree with it.

When I entered my college life and started living in a dormitory since I was in my 1st year of college, I got to live my once dream of living away from my parents and live independently.

In the morning, nobody would wake me up but my alarm clock whenever I need to wake up early to attend my 7 am class. I had to be as thrifty as I can because of my small allowance that came from my parents. I had to walk 10 to 15 minutes instead of paying for a tricycle to go to the campus. I had to bring water with me so I don't have to buy bottled water in the school canteen anymore. I had to pass on my classmates' invitations to eat on fast-food restaurants with them like Jollibee and McDo after class because I don't have much money for it.

I had to budget my money well so that it will last for a week, from buying my weekly groceries, paying for my mobile data consumption, and for project requirements. I also had to save up for my monthly rent. I also thought of looking for ways on how to make money online and so I took advantage of coins.ph by selling load to my classmates.

Living with my parents, someone had to wash my clothes and cook for food thanks to my mother,and she would also take good care of me whenever I am sick. But living independently, I had to do all the tasks, such as cleaning the room, washing my clothes, cooking for food and washing the dishes, even if I had a lot of school activities to do and deadlines to meet. Being sick is not a good excuse in college so even if I felt so sick, I still had to force myself to attend my classes.

Surely, moving out and living independently have some perks too. I didn't have to ask for my parent's permission anymore whenever I want to go out with my friends. I felt a little freedom because they were not around.

I got to move out and live independently from my 1st year in college, and it ended during my 3rd year, 2nd semester not thanks to the lockdown that was imposed because of the COVID pandemic. I had to go back home to my parents' house because the duration of the lockdown was unsure. Back then, I thought the pandemic would only last for a week or two, but look at us now.

During this lockdown, I was able to build myself a small den so I could still feel like living away from my parents, even if they are just a step away.

One of the things that I have been sharing in my articles is that I want to move out again and live independently in an apartment in the city, and live my life the way it used to be, where I am away from my parents.

Angely Dub, the girl boss behind Access Travel, once said in an interview with Joyce Pring that, "Independence has nothing to do with where you live." She shared that she was also still living with her mom, before she moved to Spain.

I agree with her tho, but living with my parents again for more than a year already, it feels like I am back in my comfort zone. And moving away from them will help me to grow as an individual and face the reality of life.

Next year, I'm planning to totally move out again and find a place in the city. Although I'm also a little scared to do it, I feel the need to do it for my betterment.

Cheers to Living Independently!

13
$ 5.67
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Matagal ko na rin ding plano na umalis eh, pero till now di pa rin hahaha pero pagka graduate ko baka don na'ko mag rent ng apartment. Total sanay narin di naman ako mag isa lalo na dong nasa boarding house pa ako nag stay

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Samee. Pero ipon muna. Mahirap kapag totally nag-move out na. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not easy to live alone and depend on yourself, but it is very satisfying when you do it. I hope you achieve all your goals.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. It really is satisfying when you get to stand on your own feet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, maappreciate mo yung living with your parents kapag nagka asawa at nagkaanak kana.. For me, enjoy mo yung company nila habang may opportunity..

Pwede kapa din naman maging independent in some ways.. Like for eaxample sa case mo, i'm sure independent ka na sa pera kasi may sarili ka nang income...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Luh. Malayo pa po ung asawa at anak. 🤣 Opo, naeenjoy naman po pero minsan nakakapagod din makinig sa mga bangayan nila. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the things you listed as 'disadvantages' are really all things you have learned to become more independent and take care of yourself! You will look back on them later and be very happy that you have learned these skills!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. Haha! That's why I want to move out again to be more independent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to be independent din kaso they won't let me live by my own, pede namn daw kasi akong maging independent without living their house, and yeah narealized ko na oo nga namn being independent is not base on where you live, so ayun hahaha feel ko tuloy housemate ako ni kuya sa bahay ni mama whahaha pero training grounds ko na din to for my future dami ko rin learning kila mama at papa and yahh mas okay na ksama sila.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. Yan nga sabi ni Angely Dub. Hahaha! Pero hindi mo din kasi maeexperience ung reality of life kapag nandjan ka parin sa puder nila. Hahaha! Housemate na walang eviction na nagaganap. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueee dumbell lang ang peg ko everyday hahahahhaa nakaasa lang lagi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt living alone and independent is fun but I'm the one who love to live with family maybe because I don't have a habit of doing house chores like washing clothes and I don't like to cook for myself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Okay, me too. 🤣 But that's also the purpose of living alone, to learn the basics of surviving in life. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Independency. So easy to pronounce but not that easy to do. It takes time eh, pero nakaka-bilib kapag natututo na tayo paunti-unti. <3

Grabidaddd! So bilib ako sa mga block mates ko na naka-dorm noon. Ang titipid nila uy, as in. Saka super nagkakaintindihan sila ah. Gusto ko din na ma-experienced na mag-dorm kaya nga super excited din ako sa limited F2F, pero ewan ko ba. Gusto ko na parang ayoko. 🙈🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. Need din natin matutonan talaga yan kasi. Hahaha! Try mo na din. Dapat talaga magtipid kapag nag-dorm. Kundi hindi aabot sa buong linggo ang allowance. 😂 Lapit na F2F. Meron na next sem. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with you. I lived in a dormitory while I was in college. It was difficult and at the same time there was a sense of thrill, you know, far from home. Lol! But i became responsible and independent. The real ‘living independently’ happened when I started to work and paid my own bills! Geez! I was broke for the first three months! Hahaha. I remembered eating an instant noodle and an egg that my kind neighbor gave me. Then there was a time a Stray cat entered our house and ate my food! I really cried that time. I went to work with 10pesos in my wallet. The beginning is always the hardest, indeed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my. I can imagine how it feels with that stray cat incident. 😿

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living with our own help us to be independent. We learn how to stand with our own feet. I can relate to this. When it was my first time to travel far away from home. It's so sad. There are a lot of things you need to be adjust but you need to be brave.

It's really hard for me because I grew that mom always beside at me. I'm thankful also that I decide to my own to work far from home because with this I learn how to be strong. It will help yourself anytime and to the future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. True po. You really learn how to stand on your own feet once you totally move out and just depend on yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I-recommend ko po itong series na ito sa sister ko nahihilig po kasi ngayon yun sa panonood eh hahaha. Tama po minsan hindi naman po nababase lang sa pag hiwalay mo sa mga magulang mo po ang pagiging Independent kundi sa kung paano ka kumilos at mag isip bilang isang tao. Naranasan ko din po na magtipid dahil kinakapos yung weekly allowance ko po pero hindi ko po naranasan na mag dorm noon kasi hindi naman po kalayuan ang house namin sa University po namin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Recommended yang series. Maganda ung kwento. Hahaha! Totoo din. Tipid2x talaga ang need eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaddict na po yung sister ko sa Kdrama ngayon eh kaya naghahanap po talaga sya ng mga series na pwede po mapanood. Hahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to do that, pero mahirap pa sa ngayon. Diko din makaya na maiwan mga oldies ko dalawa nalang nga sila. Gusto ko din sana maranasan, kahit in short period of time lang ba. But anyways, Good Luck sayo. Sana maayos na ang lahat sa sunod.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Mahirap talaga yan. Pero try mo din minsan, mga 1 week. Hahaha! Thank you. Next year talaga, pupush ko na. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no need to be scared to break out. Eventually you will be fine and everything will fall into place for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I hope so. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i agree friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago