Have I ever been Bullied?

37 66
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Bullying

Bullying. That is one of the main topics that was addressed in the Korean Drama I just recently watched called My ID is Gangnam Beauty. It's a series about a self-conscious college student who decided to undergo a cosmetic surgery to avoid the bullies who make fun of her physical appearance.

As I was watching the drama, I was trying to reminisce those moments where I was also humiliated, shamed, and laughed at because of my physical appearance and the way I was back in the Elementary days and even up until today.

I admit I am also a girl with a lot of insecurities about her body and I lack self-confidence because of them.

When I was still in Elementary, particularly in Grade 5, I was a chubby girl who weighted the most amongst all of the girls in my class. My guy classmates used to call me "Goliath" pertaining as a giant because I was not just fat, but I was also one of the tallest girls in our class. Whenever we have school activities where we have to run or jump, those guys would joke around and say, "there's an earthquake" when it's already my time to jump or run.

Back in the Elementary days, I really didn't mind what and how I looked like. I didn't mind the proper posture to stand like a fine lady.

One time, my Elementary teacher asked me to stand in front of the class, and she noticed that my butt was too out (In Ilocano, it's called tur-ing, lol) and it's not straight and proportionate with my back. She then laughed at me and said a humiliating word towards me. My classmates then laughed with her as I was still standing in front of the class.

"Kasla ka la pato (You're like a duck)", she said. Some pupils from the higher grade heard it as they were the next to attend for that class, and they began laughing too. I hurriedly went out of that classroom and went home. In the afternoon, there were other girls who were sitting in the pathway and called my name and said the humiliating word that the teacher used to describe me. They laughed after so I ran away.

Because of that incident, my guy classmates would sing the Ilocano song "Uppat nga pato" or the "Tatlong Bibe" (3 ducklings) children song, whenever they see me and would point at me when it's already the "Nalukmeg/Mataba (fat)" part.

When I was in Grade 6, I was one of the officers in our class. The teacher had to take a photograph of all the officers, from the President to the Muse, for it to be displayed in our classroom.

I wasn't really camera-friendly. I never looked good in photos and being photographed is one of my fears back then because I was ugly.

Because just like how Mi Rae said it, "Ugly faces look uglier in photos."

But even if I didn't want to be photographed, I still had to stand in front of the camera for compliance.

After that photo session, the next day, the class officers' photos are already displayed in the classroom. My classmates gathered in front of it admiring those beautiful girls who were part of the officers. My photo, on the other hand, was only laughed at because again, I don't look good in photos. Even my teacher laughed at my photo that time. I felt so ashamed that after almost all of my classmates went home in the afternoon, I tried to cover my photo with a chalk so it won't be noticed anymore.

I also remember, another teacher tried to humiliate me by pointing out that I have 2 big teeth in front. Then she called me a "rabbit" then laughed after saying it.

I was not just fat and tall, I felt like I was also an ugly duckling with brown skin.

I surely had friends back in Elementary but the bullying I received from my guy classmates and teachers made me wish to graduate from Elementary already.

Then I entered High School. I somehow lose weight because of puberty and I was also walking to go to school. I also had to purposely miss eating breakfasts to lose weight faster. I became a little conscious about my body so I also started using whitening soap and lotion for a fairer skin. I also started using colognes so I would smell better. I would always bring with me the Johnson's Baby Powder for freshening up.

My bully guy classmates from Elementary noticed the changes in my body but they would still bring up those days when I was too ugly, tall and fat like a giant. Hence, my "Goliath" nickname.

Have I ever been bullied?

Yes, a lot of times that I cried buckets of tears because of those hurtful words I got to hear not just from my classmates but also from my teachers back then.

I was bullied that every time I gain back the small amount of self-confidence I have, I would easily lose it because I would be reminded about how people laughed at me and made fun of me because of my physical appearance.

But you know what's the worst thing about being bullied?

It's not about those classmates and teachers who humiliated me. The worst part is me bullying myself by believing that I am too ugly, too brown, too fat, and too tall. I was just being myself.

I admit, up until today, I am still bullying myself. Whenever I look at myself in the mirror, I would think that I should stop eating already because I am gaining weight and have a lot of fats in my body. I sometimes don't even want to look at my face because it's just too ugly. It's one of the reasons I don't have a lot of pictures.

I am still in the process of totally accepting myself. It's difficult, to be honest, to have a lot of insecurities. But I have to accept everything about me because if I won't, then nobody will.

18
$ 7.75
$ 7.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Bullying

Comments

We all beautiful, it's the society that makes us feel ugly. Let's be confident and dont mind them coz they dont deserve our presence. ❤❤❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I agree. 💯❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire you, you had a lot of strength, any child would have run away from that school. However, in spite of the mistreatment you were able to endure it and took it as a challenge to overcome. Those teachers should be punished.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just endured the bullying because I have nowhere to go back then. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the thing that I hate the most din eh, I guess we all experienced being bullied. May mga tao lang din talagang mahilig mang look down at magsasabi ng mga harsh words sa ibang tao kasi siguro sa tingin nila nakakatawa yun without even thinking kung ano yung mararamdaman ng taong yun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Hindi naman nakakatuwa mga pinaggagagawa nila kaya dapat matigil na. Bullying pa ang nagiging dahilan minsan kung bakit may mga nadedepress at nagsusuicide. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must say your teacher is unfair to bully you too instead of cautioning other students. That is stupidity on her part. It's like body shaming you which is very bad as a teacher. I think we need to accept ourselves and not minding what people say to us. By doing this, we would feel braver and secured.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The teacher just really loves to shame her students. She did it not just to me but to others as well, and it's not good because she should be a role model. And I agree with you, we just need to love every part of us to be confident.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experienced ko din yan lalo nung elementary pero lumalaban ako lalo n sa mga boys. Pero nung high school wala akong magawa kasi new comer ako Non hanggang sa nagtransfer n lng ako. Nakaka low moral tlaga kapag binubully ka. Kaya siguro yong iba nadedepress n lng.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo po. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bullying has a big negative effect talaga sa tao 'no? If everyone just know how to respect each others difference, sana walang tao ang nakakaranas ng emotional traumas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. It also leads to depression that become the reason for people to commit suicide too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a pity that this kind of situation happens where someone must be humiliated because of their physical appearance, it seems that this happens everywhere on planet earth, which shows that humanity is the same everywhere. On my part I wish you the best, and I am glad that you have exposed your situation to all of us to make us reflect. I send you a big hug and many kisses from South America.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it happens everywhere, and it needs to stop. Aww. Thank you. I wish you all the best too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most thing i dont want to me is my hair and forehead....landingan kasi ng eroplano yung nuo ko haha...and yung buhok ko is kulot kaya lagi nila ako inaasar yung tita ko pa nga sabi niya brocolli ahaha tawa nalang ako minsan nga naiingit ako sa iba because sa kanila straigth hair puwede pa yung brush up hairstyle...sa lalaki kasi hair ang mas important🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Try mo ung hairstyle ng mga Korean. Lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pati siyak met HAHA na ranasak met dayta edi ubingak 😂 pero syempre uray nu ibully dak, Ibully'k met ah isuda ta kasta talaga manipod edi ubingak ammok metten nga awan perpekto ditoy lubong. Isu iti kuna ni Mamak sa kunana ket, 'Kasta talaga nu ubbing haan nga maawan ti kasta sa pumintas ka nu dumakkel ka' ngem patinggana tatta nagalasak latta HAHAHA 😂

Ay naka ilokana Ako! Yehey! 😂 Btw. Napanuod ko na yan eh, Sana mastop na mga ganyan. Panlalait sa appearance natin kasi nakakababa ng self confidence talaga at madami ding nagsusuic!de.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nagulat ako sa Ilocano comment. Hahahaha! True. Kapag tinamaan na ng puberty, gumaganda naman talaga. Pero bakit ganun? Hindi ko din dama. 🤧🤣 Totoo. Dami ngang natitrigger ang depression dahil sa bullying na yan. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Me, too. I have been since Elementary to High School. I admit that I look like a chinese though my parents are purely Filipino. Haha! You know, fox eyes, thin body, and yellow skin that makes me look more likely to be a pure chinese lady. They are always telling me to go back in China, but what they noticed more is my nose. I got a flat nose, not that flat but still unlike theirs. Hahaha, yan kasi patunay na pinoy ako, pango ang ilong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. I failed to mention about having flat nose but that's also one of those things my classmates poke fun of me. But yeah, it's a proof of being a Filipino. Pinoy trademark yan. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been bullied wayback when I was Grade 6. I am bullied because of my brown skin and Thin body. Until then and Now I don't have enough confidence when it comes to Public Speaking.

I take education in my College because I want to teach children a good moral attitude. I want to face my fears which is Public Speaking!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good to know that you are facing your fear. Keep it up and I wish you good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The cleanse should start from yourself. I have been bullied before too and even up to now. But I somehow understand that people who bullies others have bigger problems as they want attention. I feel sad about them but still I wish people could have been more understanding about the differencesof everyone and I believe we are all beautiful made by God

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, yeah. Bullies have bigger problems. It's just sad for those who become their victims.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilokano kaba sis? Iswad naman ang tawag saken dati (it's our terminology na same dun sa description mo). Yung mas litaw ang pwet pag nakatayo. Hanggang ngayon tinatawag pa din nila akong iswad pero deadma ko nalang. Isip ko, yung iba nga nagpapadagdag pa ng pwet, ako no need na kasi malaki na ang pwet..hahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Opo, Ilocana ako. Hahaha! Un nga po. Lols! Totoo din. Dami nagpapalaki ng pwet eh. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

diva? kaya asset naten yan sis!..dati nahihiya ako eh, palaging malalaking tshirt sinusuot ko para natatakpan ang pwet..nabubully nga kasi ako na iswad..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More on physical pala sayo. Pero pwede rin maapektuhan yung emotion mo niyan.

Ako hanggang ngayon na may anak na nararanasan ko pa din yan. Pero iba talaga kapag may mas malaking problema...yung mga ganyang bagay natatabunan na 🙂 nakakatawa nalang ang taong nambubully mismo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Physical bullying has a huge impact on the emotional and mental state of an individual po. But yes, once you have bigger problems in life, such as financial dilemma, these bullying would come least to our minds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to completely accept and love yourself first, for you to successfully deal with bullies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true and I agree with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Firstly you need to love yourself. Body shaming has to stop! How can a class teacher who is suppose to shut the other students up and teach about self-love join in body shaming. I know it’s not easy, but you need to appreciate your beauty and stop letting what other people say get to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. Body shaming needs to stop because it doesn't have a good impact on anyone's life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yh... Bullies can be annoying sometimes, I was in js1 when I was bullied, I was not given money and was asked to buy something worth #580 and bring change of #220 but I insisted that I had no money, I received the beating of my life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I'm so sorry to hear that. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been bullyied and been a bully as well ... neither sides are nice!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. It's not good at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago