Would you consider having Cosmetic Surgery?

33 50
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Bullying- Have I ever been Bullied?


Cosmetic Surgery. That is another topic that was tackled in the Korean Drama series I watched called My ID is Gangnam Beauty. Kang Mi Rae, one of the main characters in the series, is a college student who has undergone cosmetic surgery just to avoid being bullied in her college life just because of her physical appearance. The surgery went well and she got what she wanted, to be loved and accepted partly because she is pretty but mainly because of her character.

Cosmetic Surgery is a medical procedure to enhance the appearance of an individual, mostly performed on all areas of the head, neck, and body.

We all know that there are many people, mostly women who are in the entertainment industry, whether an actress, singer, dancer, or a model, who had to undergo cosmetic surgery to enhance the features of their faces and body to be more beautiful than they already were. I wouldn't name any names but if you know them, then you know.

I actually don't have an issue if a person had to undergo cosmetic surgery because it's not me who paid for the operation, and mainly because it's not my body. And if it's not my body, it means that I don't have a say in it and my opinion should not matter. If having cosmetic surgery is the only way for them to boost their self-confidence, then let them me.

Would I consider having Cosmetic Surgery?

When I was still younger, I used to watch Rated K, a Sunday evening show on a Philippine network by Korina Sanchez. One time, she featured a story about a fat guy who easily lose weight because of a medical operation. It cost him a huge amount of money just for him to get the ideal body he wants. And at that time, it came into my mind that once I am already working, I should save a lot of money too so that I can afford the operation. I have shared in my recent article that when I was still younger, I was really fat. And because I also wanted to be thinner, that's what I thought of.

Growing up, I got a lot of insecurities in my body. I was bullied because of having darker skin and so I used whitening soap and lotion just to have a fairer one. I also did work out just to get rid of my baby fats and love handles and to avoid being called "tabachoy" (fatty). And because of my 2 big teeth in front, I also thought of getting dental braces to align and straighten my teeth so that I will have the confidence to smile.

Then when I got in High School, some of my classmates and friends noticed and poked fun of my flat nose. My friends would say that my nose was passed over by a huge truck that's why it is flat. I laughed with them when they joked about it, and I still find that joke funny tho. However, it's also one of my insecurities, to have a flat nose.

To be honest, if I were to consider undergoing cosmetic surgery, the operation I would probably want to have is Rhinoplasty or a nose job. I thought that if only I have a sharper nose, I would probably look better in pictures. And if I do have a sharp nose, I wouldn't be teased by my friends that I was hit by a truck. And if I have it, I might have higher confidence whenever I look at my face.

You see. Just like Kang Mi Rae, I have been very influenced by what and how people think about my body. Like what Mi Rae said, "others' opinions are important to me."

We try so hard to be accepted by a society that we are willing to exert so much effort to the extent of wanting to have cosmetic surgery just to look better in the eyes of other people.

Soo Ah said (non-verbatim), "To be loved, you should be pretty."

And whether we agree or not, people easily notice and love those who are beautiful in their eyes. People with pretty and handsome faces easily stand out. And if we don't pass their standard of beauty, even if we are kind or intelligent, we still have to double our efforts just to be noticed, appreciated, and loved.

And just like what Patchot (Kathryn Bernardo) said in Must Be Love, "Mata ang unang nagmamahal." (It's the eyes that fall in love first).

However, the idea that there is a certain standard to be called "pretty/beautiful" should not be tolerated and body shaming must not be accepted.

No one is ugly. We are all beautiful in our own ways. We are all unique and created equal. No one is above or below the other.

Being fat or thin, tall or short, having brown or black skin, having big teeth, and a flat nose. These shouldn't be considered flaws and imperfections. They are you and nothing is wrong with that.

Love your body. Embrace it. Accept it. Flaunt it. And don't be frustrated if people will laugh at you for being you. Remember, you can't please everyone.

9
$ 5.46
$ 5.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

It seems to me that cosmetic surgery should be performed on people who need it for any condition. First we must accept ourselves as we are, as long as my loved ones accept me the rest does not matter. Whoever loves you should love you as you are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I like that. Everyone's opinions shouldn't matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, we are unique in the way we are, and we should be grateful for what Almighty has made us. No one has right to criticize anyone. I really don't appreciate surgery because we are beautiful in our own way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. We are all fearfully and wonderfully made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit anong pambubully ng iba talaga never akong nasagi sa isip kong mag pa opera. Yung palitan yung kahit saang parte ng katawan ko. Kasi binigay yan ni Lord eh eto yung binigay nya saken at ayokong sayangin lang 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Un nga ung point ng article na'to. Hahaha! Tsaka magastos magpa-surgery. Pambili nalang ng mga needs o pampatayo ng bahay kesa gumastos jan kasi lahat naman tayo maganda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I honestly have lots of insecurities but I will never change any part of my body. I love my flaws and imperfection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Again, they're not flaws and imperfections. They're you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No i will never change the face God has given to me. Though i do have many insecurities but no never in my mind i mind to go for surgery just to look pretty? Nono

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of there's one thing I wanted ro improve it will mt attitude not my physical appearance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet you don't wear make-up at all. That's good to hear from you. Yes, attitude is better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think only women can really be interested in such but I don't think it's advisable because of some cancerous tumor that could occur in the process.. but I'd like to see someone on one

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's easy to find women who had undergone cosmetic surgery already, because most are popular actresses too. Lols! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para sa akin Ayoko na retoke, this is my own opinion Kasi bukod sa Mahal na masakit pa Yung tipong kalal mo sobrang ganda mo na dahiil naretoke kana yung pala Yung ilong mo tabinge na😁😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some people resort to having Cosmetic Surgery to uplift their confidence, and if you don't like it, then don't do it to yourself. Wala namang pumipilit sa'yo. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta Kathniel, ikaw na amg unang naaalala ko. May napublish na din ako noon about plastic surgeries pero dahil naman yun sa napanood ko na vlogger na nagparhinoplasty. As in dinocument niya yung post op niya. Hindi ako mahina sa mga surgeries or duvo dahil dami ko ng napagdaanan na opera pero hindi plastic surgery. Hehe. Pero yung sa face kasi nakakatakot talaga lalo malapit siya sa brain. Tsaka kailangan magiging maingat na kung magpaparetoke. Eh paano kung biglang masagi yung ilong or dibdib or ano pa man. Kailangan lang talaga natin tanggapin na we are uniquely beautiful and we are imperfectly perfect. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yieh. KathNiel fan eh. 🤣 Si Coles Vidal naman po. Lagi siyang nag-aupdate dati about sa Rhinoplasty operation niya. Un nga po. Naalala ko si RC Muñoz, nasagi niya dati ung ilong niya dahil sa pagbabanda kaya pinaretoke nya ulit, ayun parang nasira na. Totoo po. Full acceptance lang talaga ang kailangan. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not against surgeries to improve appearance, that is good up to a certain limit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, me too. Just know when it is too much already. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang nakakatakot mgpasurgery. Tatanggapin ko na kung ano na ung binigay ni God sakin hehe. Para sakin di ako pabor haha para sakin lang un sissy ayiee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Hihiwain po kasi ung mukha eh. 🤣 Aww. I get your stand po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iniisip ko palang ung hihiwain word, ouch huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would only consider it if it would limit me in living my life. Like some people have their eyelids corrected because it is blocking their view. I wouldn't do it to make me prettier

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand. You do what you think is best for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't consider it and I've never really imagined having one. We are who we are with our imperfections and that's the beauty and the uniqueness of life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I see. Yeah, we are who we are and our features shouldn't be called imperfections, because they are a part of us that makes us unique.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly... That's what makes us who we are... We are perfect the way we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having problem with my nose. I got accident when i was young. I'm willing to surgery on my nose. I've to do Rhinoplasty . Society yelling me everytime.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. Sorry to hear that. Don't do it just because society is telling you. Do it if you want to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron din po akong problema sa ilong ko pero hindi ko po siya ipapagawa dahil wala naman po akong pera😂baka palayasin rin ako sa bahay kapag nakita po nila akong may black eye ang mata at may band aid sa ilong 😂btw favorite korean drama ko rin ang My ID is Gangnam Beauty,dyan kopo nakilala asawa ko si eunwoo 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Mahal din kasi ang magpa-nose job eh. Nasa 80K to 150K daw price. Pambili nalang yan ng lupa. 🤣 Wahh. Ikaw pala kabit ng asawa ko. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHHA totoo po😂 tsaka bawi nalang sa next life,malay po natin mayaman na tayo nyan 🤣sorry pero ako ang legal na asawa ni eunwo nag kasundo ang aming mga magulang noong nasa tyan palang ako ng aking ina😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago