My First 2-Week Salary on My Freelance Writing Job

67 167
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Money, Blog, Story

My heart jumped out of excitement when I received a text message from Gcash saying that I have received 4,240 pesos from Gwen, my Filipino client/employer, as payment for the 13 articles I have written for her.

This amount is nothing compared to the earnings of those writers who have been in the freelance writing industry for quite a while now, but let me celebrate this small amount again as validation and proof that my passion in writing will get me somewhere better.

This is the text message I received.

I wasn't really expecting that I will receive the payment today. I thought I will only receive it on November 15th. But I guess it is because today is Friday, which means salary/pay day for regular employees. Does that make me a regular employee too? Haha! πŸ₯³πŸ˜‚

Anyway, I am still over the moon as I am writing this article, because this is my first time to receive a "salary" or payment for the articles I wrote for a couple of days. Aside from the $100 that I received here on readcash, this is my first time to receive this huge amount of money out of writing articles.

Before I talk about the topics of the articles I wrote for her, let me share my story of how I got hired as a freelance writer first.

Last October 17, 2020, when I was browsing through my Facebook account, I read a post from a college student who is looking for a suitable writing job that he can work on even if he is still studying. The post immediately caught my attention because, like him, I am also looking for a writing job. That's why I got into the comment section, and I read all the comments who tried to offer him a job. So I took the opportunity to also submit my proposal to them.

On October 18, 2020, out of the 6 proposals I sent, I only received 1 feedback from a prospective client. I wanted to share how my proposal was like, but I am a little bit embarrassed about it because it was too full of errors compared to my proposals now.

Moving on, her message goes like this:

"Hi, Florie Mae,

Thank you for sending your profile.

To assess your web content writing skill, you need to pass a written test.

Title: 4 Ways to Teach Your kids to love nature during the quarantine

# of Words: 300 (minimum)

Target readers: Filipino parents of preschoolers

Due Date: October 19, 2020"

If you still remember, I posted here on readcash the article that I wrote for the test. You can read it if you want.

4 Ways To Teach Your Kids to Love Nature During the Quarantine

I received that message at around midnight, so I only got to read it by 6 or 7 in the morning. Upon reading it, I immediately searched about the topic and wrote an article about it. Then I sent the file at around noon.

2 days later, on October 20, 2020, I again received another e-mail from her that goes like this:

"Hi, Florie Mae,

We would love to have you in our pool of freelance writers.

Kindly review the attached service agreement for the rate, process, and terms and conditions. If you’re OK with it, please send back the signed copy to me."

And again, my heart jumped out of excitement when I read it. So I immediately signed the agreement.

I thought after sending back the agreement, I will instantly get a topic to write about. I was wrong.

First task: November 3, 2020

It took me 2 weeks before I received an e-mail about the first task that I will write on. My first task was to write a blog post titled "How to Raise a Happy Reader". After confirming that I can write on the topic, I began searching and reading related blogs about it. In just an hour, I finished writing the articles so I shortly passed the file to her.

Second task: November 4, 2020

After a day of writing for my first writing task, I received another e-mail from her about the 2 topics I'll be writing. The topics were "Safe Food Handling Tips" and "Natural Ingredients to Prolong Shelf-Life". The due date for the articles was November 8, 2020, and I easily beat the deadline and sent the files last November 5, 2020.

Third task: November 8, 2020

I was shocked and excited when I received the list of the titles for the blog posts I will be writing for my third task. I was given several writing assignments for this single project, and its due date is on November 17, 2020, but I finished writing the articles earlier and passed it yesterday. The topics were purely about Health and Wellness, so it was just a piece of cake for me, as I am a self-proclaimed "health enthusiast".

Here are the titles of the blog posts:

  • Proper Storage Tips to extend the food expiration date

  • 7 ways to save money on food shopping

  • What to eat after a Workout

  • 5 Healthy chocolates to satisfy your sweet tooth

  • 9 healthy staples to add to your pantry

  • Health Benefits of Turmeric

  • Cooking tricks to save money

  • A beginner's guide to working out

  • Why you should include oats in your diet

  • Importance of Healthy Snacking

The blog posts I have written about have a minimum word count of about 400 words. I find it a little bit harder to write short blog posts because there are a lot of important details to include yet I have to pick the most important and relevant information for the topic.

That's it! I don't know when will I receive another writing task from her, but I am hoping and praying for more writing gigs and projects to come. Cheers!

I know some of you here are also planning to start entering the freelance writing world or freelancing in general. I feel like I am not in the position to say this because I am also just starting my journey in this venture but if you want it, go get it. There's no harm in trying. As cliche as it sounds, "try and try until you succeed."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Follow my Freelance Writing Journey:

An Introduction About How Freelance Writing Works

Sample Test Articles for my Prospected Clients

My First Writing Gig Experience

Other Sample Written Task for a Prospective Client

44
$ 4.13
$ 3.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @z_graeden
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Money, Blog, Story

Comments

This article of your really inspires me and I wish you can give me some gigs too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad to know you were inspired by my article. Sad to say, I can't give you some gigs because I am also looking for one. I advise you to look for some writing jobs on Facebook groups or online sites. You might find one there. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you suggest me a group where I can start to find 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try searching for Freelance Writing or Online Jobs on Facebook, and join those groups that you find.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay thank you β™₯️β™₯️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you from the Philippines? I might recommend a specific group if you are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool. Search for "Freelance Writers Philippines" and feel free to ask if there are some writing gigs available for you. From there on, you can start applying.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats!Keep it up!:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats!Keep it up!:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you po. Sana meron pa sa susunod. Haha 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meron pa yan,tiwala lang 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article to make

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for sharing your experiences for online work, πŸ‘œ, because for those that haven't been successful yet at getting a freelance job, it's more comforting to know that there's still hope. πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­πŸ‘.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh can you share me where you got your gig, I would love to πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great! Your article is inspiring. I started writing on read. Cash 2 days ago. So far have earned $1.56, I love writing. I notice people love reading my articles, even when I write short fantasy stories. With over 5 years experience of article writing. I had been writing for fun, I never thought of using my skills for profit. Until a few months ago.

I'm 100% ready to turn my skill in profit. So far I have submitted request to few private companies. Sadly, known has given me a feedback. Can you link me to this firm you work for? So I too can get paid. I hope they don't have issues with Nigerians. Regards,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galeeng... I just came out alive.. The typhoon drained our battery... Hope i can join it too. πŸ™„ Not this moment... No electricity for how many days.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You writing skill are so good.When i'm trying to leave this article without reading fulky,but i can't.i fall in love into your every sweet able words.You deserve it dear as well you earn this amount.Keep it up and best of luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

of course you deserve it dude,congrats... your writings say it all.. @xzeon maybe you're interested in this site where eirolfeam tried, or was it the same site you told me last time about freelance writing with time for submission?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm. It's "TASKED" but i haven't tried. I think i dont reach the criteria. 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats! Yan din na feel ko nung first pay ko.. Feeling ko, writer na ako kasi me salary na ako sa pagsusulat ko. πŸ˜… I'm sure mas marami ka pang topics soon.. Congrats ulit!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, ate. Hahaha! Feeling ko nga writer na ako, hindi nalang frustrated writer. Haha! Sana nga po. Hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool! You're so hard working talaga! Sana makahanap din ako ng ganto πŸ˜‚ Congratsss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha! I have no choice but to make my time productive. Dami kong free time eh. Thank you. 😁πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

From overseas till now i am a big nature fan. https://read.cash/@Jesus

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Making money from writing is encouraging.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything is fine. Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This interesting. How did you joined?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I discussed it in the article. πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can deserved this so you did.Earning is not to easy.I know you did very hard work for this earning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is awesome !!! GOod for you! =D I am similiar to this as well, but I dont have the guts to post it yet XD you are amazmig!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I encourage you to post your story too. You will never know you might inspire someone just by reading your article. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha true enough!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are so motivational for us. We can learn lot of thing from you. Actually I also trying to work for another blogging site, But I can't found like read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! That's so lucky of you. I tried to get myself a job too some months ago when the pandemic was fresh and beating. But unlike you, I wasn't that lucky. Congratulations dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats 😁😁 laki na yan ah. . worth it nmn ang pagod.. At my new blessings pa..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Worth it nga. Sana magtuloy tuloy na din writing tasks ko. Hahaha 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nman .magaling ka kc. Btw, db nag aaral kpa? Buti na mamanage mo time jan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo. Haha! Kakatapos nga lang ng Midterms exam namin. Yakang yaka. Dami kong time eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nmn pla.. Madali ka yayaman jan 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats Ading. You deserve it. Nga Pala. I saw your YT channel. I know na ikaw Yun hehe. I saw your Sagada Travel and Ipon Challenge there hihi.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

lol na-spot pa pala YT channel ni ateng haha, parang na-research ah haha πŸ”­πŸ˜….

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't see anything wrong with that. We are friends on Bluefire that's why.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

napansin ko lang haha, don't mind me nalang po πŸ˜…πŸ‘.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hallah. OMG. Nakakahiya. Hahahaha πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜‚ Thank you po. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dkopa napapanuod yung iba mong videos hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Naku. Huwag mo na po panuorin. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats Florie!! More clients to come.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers to more clients to come. Hihi πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well deserved! I've seen one posting online that would pay 8k monthly for writing articles. Yours I think is far better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. This is, by far, the best rate I have encountered. Some are offering 5K pesos a month with 1K worded articles daily. That's exhausting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ganun nga kaya maganda yang gig mo.. keep it up you're doing great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow honestly its amazing maybe i could try it too. Laki n ng kita nyo maam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should. Like I said, there's no harm in trying. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Congratulations! That's really well done. You deserve it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you po. Hihi πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More to come bhe! More money more blessings, para happy!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amen. May dagdag na savings ko para sa travel goals. Hahaha πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago