If I Don't Graduate From College!

39 57
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

If I don't get to graduate from college, does that make me an unsuccessful person? Have I considered a failure?

I consider myself an achiever when it comes to my education because of the awards I have received when I joined school contests during my Elementary days, the medals and ribbons that were given to me every Recognition day, and the honors that were bestowed upon my name during my Graduation days.

When I was 6 years old, back in my Kindergarten days, I graduated as the 2nd honor or Salutatorian of my class. There were more or less than 20 pupils in my batch but I made sure that I excel in class. I became a competitive pupil from Grade 1 to Grade 6. I always belonged to the top pupils who were awarded every Recognition day. I was always one of the representatives of our class to join the Math, Science, and English contests in our district. Sometimes, I got the highest score on most of my exams in Elementary, especially Math. And in Grade 6, I again graduated as the Salutatorian among the 2 sections with more than 60 pupils.

Then I stepped my foot in High School. There I got to meet a lot of students who came from different schools in our town. I belonged to the cream section from Grade 7 to Grade 10. In our class, there were 5 Valedictorians, 3 Salutatorians, and a lot of pupils who received Honorable Mention from their respective schools. The pressure was too heavy for me to carry because expectations arise from left and right. I had no choice but to be competitive as much as I can and to also excel in class. With my dedication, I landed as the 7th honor in Grade 7, 2nd honor in Grade 8, and the 3rd honor from Grade 9 to 10. And I received With Honors in Senior High School, Grade 11 to 12.

Before I graduated in Senior High School, greater expectations were passed on to my shoulders- from choosing my course in college and making sure that I graduate with flying colors to bring honor to my Alma Mater.

Then I had to make a choice- the course I want to take in my 4 years of stay in college. Some teachers were expecting me to take Accountancy or Education, but I took a different path and am now taking BSBA- Marketing Management.

I know some were disappointed with my decision as if it was too easy for me to take because most of my batch-mates who also graduated With Honors are taking up Education and Engineering. Because of this, I was told that I need to graduate at least as a Cum Laude on my College Graduation Day.

It is actually one of my goals to graduate from college with flying colors and bring honor to my parents and my Alma Mater. However, sometimes, I am too pressured by the high expectations of my previous teachers, friends, parents, and relatives that I would think of just quitting my college journey.

I was in my 2nd year when I thought of dropping out of my course and stop studying already and choose to take a different path- to look for a job in our province or foreign countries. I was determined at that time that I thought of many backup plans just in case my original plan doesn't work out.

I was enthusiastic about my studies, but there always came a time where I would think that I am just wasting my time in college, especially whenever I am reminded that I don't have plans to pursue a career related to my chosen course. Yes, I dreamt of working in a company or bank but I don't want to be a so-called "Corporate Slave".

Now, I'm already in my last year in college. I don't know if it's just in my mind but I feel like greater expectations are passed on me once I step out of the University and start a new journey in the real world.

However, I am facing a huge fear and a lot of what-ifs.

What if I don't get to graduate from college with flying colors? Perhaps most of my previous teachers from Elementary to High School, and even some of my relatives who love to compare me with my successful cousins will look at me with a frowning face.

What if in my final year, I don't get to finish the final requirement, I don't get to defend my thesis study, and complete my On-the-job training?

What if I don't get to graduate from college at all?

With this question, I get to visualize the common reaction of the people who don't even have a great contribution to my life but have unrealistic expectations from me. I bet some will say "Sayang" (a waste) if they will hear the news that I just dropped out of college. Some will even conclude that I won't get to succeed in life and achieve some of my goals and dreams anymore because I did not graduate from college and have my tertiary diploma which won't land me a job.

Every time I think about it, I want to prove them wrong and break the stigma that just because someone did not graduate from college doesn't mean they will end up unsuccessful in life. And just because you have a college degree does not guarantee a successful life.

There are a lot of successful businessmen and wealthy individuals who are college dropouts and did not need a college degree to become who they are and have the success they are enjoying now.

And at some point, I wanted to be like them, not because I don't value excellence and education but because I wanted to make myself proof that I can be who I want to be, go where I want to go, and still be happy and successful even if I didn't graduate from college.

I'm already in my final year in college and these thoughts are still haunting me.

I cannot predict the future and nothing is certain yet but what I know is that I am a person with strong determination, and I have high hopes that some of my dreams and goals will become a reality.

I will not back down and give up on my goals but I will keep moving forward to reach the top with or without my college diploma.


I drafted this article before I enrolled for the 1st semester of my 4th year. Now, I don't have a plan to drop out anymore (that would definitely be a waste if I do) but what I'm planning now is the path I want to take after I graduate from college. I still have less than a year to sort things out but what will be, will be. πŸ’«

15
$ 4.95
$ 4.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Nakaka pressure yung mga relatives na ang taas ng expectations at standards haha. Pero ate, ang swerte mo na pong makagraduate ng college. Kayang kaya mo yan. Successful ka na ngayon eh kahit di ka pa gumraduate. Paano pa kaya kung gagraduate kana. Andaming blessings and opportunities nag hihintay sayo kasi andami mong skills and potentials. Go lang po! God bless!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. Akala mo naman eh may ambag sa pag-aaral mo. Hahaha! 🀣 Kakayanin. Dalawang kembot nalang naman. Haha Sana nga madaming opportunities ang naghihintay. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not my intention to discourage you, you started a university career and you have to finish it, you don't have much to do. Successful people with degrees or without degrees, there are more people without degrees and there are many unemployed people with degrees. I am an engineer with a Master's degree, and I make more money on the internet than as an engineer, I could tell you that my degree is worthless, but I am proud to have it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, I have to finish what I started. Aww, I hope I get to make more money on the internet too than when I already have a job in the future. Lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Turn that negative thoughts into your inspiration sis. Isipin mo na lang na dapat hindi mananalo ang mga negativities na yan. Kaya mo yan sis. Though hindi kita kilala ng personal, pero I know kayang-kaya mo yan. Konting push na lang at gagraduate ka na. Wag mo muna isipin kung ano ang magiging trabaho mo. Focus ka muna sa pag-aaral. At kapag naggraduate ka na, tsaka muna haharapin ang bagong challenge sa buhay mo. Kaya AJA! FIGHTING πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. Yes, one step at a time, one problem at a time. Hahaha! Pero kakayanin po. Fighting lang!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sus sisiw lang sayo yang college na yan, kaya yan.. ikaw pa ba. Ako nga di rin naka graduate, I felt sad but that's life. Education is important but diskarte is importanter hahaha.. at meron ka sa dalawa na yun and I cannot see you'll never be successful, you are born for that.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha! Sana nga sisiw lang. Pero true din, mas importante talaga ang pagiging madiskarte. Hahaha 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times we make plans but life surprises us with wonderful things that are nothing like what we have in mind and it makes us change our mind.What matters is doing something that we really like that makes us happy and fulfills all those expectations. of life that we have .. feel happy in what you do if you do it from the heart.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. That's true tho. Life is full of surprises. And yes, we should do what we love and love what we do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya mo yan. Don't succumb to the pressure coming from people who don't matter. Carve your own path and just make sure na you're happy with what you're doing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kakayanin po. And yes to that. I am the captain of my ship. Haha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don’t say it dear. I have faith in you. Just focus on it dear. You are a fighter. You will make your parents, teachers & every other person proud. Relax.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww. That's so sweet. Hihi Thanks. I hope so. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you success in the future. I think you have the goal and determination to succeed. Study better. Achieve something good in life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you. I wish the same to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tayo sis.. Nasa second year college din ako nung binalak ko mag shift ng course.. Wala na talagang motivation that time na ituloy ko yung current course na kinukuha ko that time. Pero ayun.. Nakagraduate naman din.. Hehe..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Bakit kaya sa 2nd year, nawawalan ng motivation sa course? Hahaha! Anyway, congrats po. Hihi 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis anoh?.. Tandang tanda ko talaga yun kasi dapat mag shift ako sa educ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam ko makakaya mo.. Ikaw pa. Pero with flying honors or wala..ang importante jan ay makapasa. Madaming cum laude na jobless ngayon..so it doesn't matter tlga.. Nsa sipag at tiyaga yan pra maabot ang gusto mo sa buhay...plus talino kpa. Ano pb hahanapin mo? 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. True po. Basta makagraduate, ayos na un. Hahaha! Basta may tiyaga, may nilaga. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pakain sa nilaga kpg naluto na. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super talino mo pala, kaya expected na yan na nakaline up kana sa mga trono ng gagraduate, wish ko na makamit mo lahat ng hinahangad mo but only God knΓ²ws everything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hindi naman po. Masipag lang noon. 🀣 Sana nga po. Excited pa naman akong magfill up ng application for graduation. Hahaha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magagawa mo yan, sa galing mong yan no doubt un

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see success in your future, you have the goal and strong determination to succeed. Wish you more achievements in your studies, good luck maam☺️.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yieh. I hope your vision is correct. Thanks. Cheers to more achievements in our lives. πŸ˜ΉπŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That for sure to a person like you who has that strong determination. Cheers!☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang talino naman po pala:)siguradong makakapag tapos ka,tsaga at sipag lang ang kailangan,huwag papapekto sa mga sinasabi ng iba,wala lang yan magawa πŸ˜‚πŸ˜„

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hindi naman po. Hahaha! 🀣 Oo. Kailangang kayanin. Laban lang. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the spirit! You don't owe other people anything so just ignore them when they try to compare you with others we have different successes and that should be understood by those people. The diploma doesn't define the success of the person. It's what you achieved and you are happy and contented about it :) You can do this! You got this girl!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay. I agree with that. Contentment with the things we achieve will bring us genuine happiness. πŸ’« Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang talino naman talaga... Just do tour best beh and wag masyado mapressure. Ienjoy mo lang. Talo ka kapag nagpadala ka sa mga sinasabi ng iba

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Opo. Hihi Totoo din yan. Kaso ang hilig ko din minsan isipin ung mga sinasabi nila eh. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa talino mong yan marami na mararating mo even hindi ka makapag tapos, pero syempre tataposin mo yan ikaw pa ba Bigtime! πŸ’– Sa susunod mababasa ko na dito na hindi kana namomobrelema sa school mo sa boss mo naman at co workmates kasi tapos kana nun, yiee HAHAHAHA πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ™

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay! Tatapusin. Hahaha! Baka problema muna sa Job hunting tapos about sa boss at mga co-workers ko na. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will but if you won't it doesn't mean it's the end of the world. You can still succeed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww. I agree with that po. Habang may buhay, may pag-asa. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama! May mga officemates ako dati di nakagraduate pero nangapromote dahil may leadership skills sila :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago