Do you value the correct spelling?

39 68
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Before I write in read cash, I am now writing for Hive first because Hive is quite a complex one. I read the rules, do's and don'ts of each community I think is suitable for me. It was difficult to compose in hive editor because I haven't explored it yet. But thanks to the guide book written by bro @Laurenceuuu, he explained some tips on how to compose and edit your article more beautifully.

I am happy right now because finally I joined a writing prompt from The InkWell community. The prompt was about impressions. You will make a short fiction story about a character who made an impression on something, then develop the character from that impression. I wrote and finished my article. I already submitted it to their community. I don't know if it's good enough, but I did my best. Besides, it was my first writing prompt challenge I joined in Hive. For sure, I will learn more from them.

As a writer and blogger, I want to ask you how important it is to write with a good and correct spelling? A correct spelling means you write the word correctly as simply as that. But, what if you mistakenly write it wrong, will it affect your blog? I think for me, it will not affect much if there are only a few misspelled words, but if you have too many from your blog. Then I think that will clearly affect your blogs because in some cases, it will bring down your views.

Do you care when you see a misspelled word?

Yes, I actually care about misspelled words. Although I care, I didn't tell anyone. Like, yo bro, you have few misspelled words here. Kindly edit and change these words. It was quite rude and the writer would feel unmotivated to write if we do that. I know that even if we don't tell them, they will know that they have mistakes. Thankfully, here in read cash we don't have rules that when you make a misspelled word, it will affect your earnings.

Since I grew up writing, I purchased two technical writing books on Book Sale before. It helps me a lot to enhance my writing skills and my ability to write in the right way. The composition of grammar is a bit tricky but when you finally grasp the basics, it will be easy for you to understand the whole concept of grammar. Well, I think the day I purchased the two technical books, I studied it for months. Yes, literally for 3 months and so.

Does your spelling matter?

Of course, spelling matters especially if you are pursuing writing. How could we afford to make mistakes when there are many readers who are ready to critique your blog anytime. Spelling matters when you start to appreciate and embrace that I have to write something correctly because I love to write. There should be a space in your heart and mind to sharpen your writing skills.

Spelling matters when you continuously make a misspelled word and it already affects your blogging career. I believe that as a blogger, we also need to check if we have misspelled words. Don't need to check the grammar, just the words. You know sometimes, I also make mistakes in spelling especially when I have no time to proofread my article. I will write and then publish it later on.

My experiences in Journalism pushed me to become aware of my writing efficiency. It allows me to determine whether I am writing effectively and what are the things needed to improve. I am actually happy when people are criticizing my essays and articles in Journalism because it reshapes me over and over again. It will lead me to create more powerful and effective articles to read. Especially, when you are in news and editorial writing. I was there before.

Why did I write this blog?

I actually wrote this blog because I saw communities in Hive that don't allow too many mistakes in grammar. For example, The InkWell community reminded users and writers that they have to double check their story before publishing it. Checking the grammar, especially the right use of pronouns because some are still confused about using he, she, his, and her. I think that's a good thing because writers will be pushed to study the grammar at some point.

My heart is happy looking forward to what my journey in Hive will be. I am finally discovering a whole new challenging blogging site that will bring out my potential as a writer. I am just sad about my course because I think I am loving more writing than programming. However, it will not stop me from doing what I love now. Let us cheer for my batch mates in Hive.

New blog on Hive!

The Ink Well Prompt #73: The Diluted Soul


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you sponsors. I cannot believe my sponsors block is like this. It's just good seeing all you there.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

18
$ 2.67
$ 2.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 13
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

I value spelling as much as I value my self worth. I'm exaggerating, just telling the truth. Haha! To be a writer is my dream, though I'm striving to be enrolled in BS Info System. Sorry naman, walang journalism sa Negros. Like, how can you claim you are a writer if you have misspelled words, right? It's an embarassment!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a jologs blogger. I myself don't proofread kaya my posts sounds like article sa kanto lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awiee. Ikaw pa po ba ate? Ang galing mo nga pong writer eh. Hihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas okay sa akin na may pumupuna sa mga mali in that way may matutunan tayo. Goodluck Marc sa hive journey mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako rin po ate. Very open po ako sa mga criticism at correction kasi need naman yon para mag grow tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am conscious of my grammar and spelling kasi minsan, isang letter lang ang kulang e nagiiba yung meaning ng sentence. Well, I cannot avoid overlooking errors sometimes but I try my best to make sure that I have a good grammar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahha. Same ate. Very conscious ako sa grammar kasi nga po nakakahiya talaga. Ang dami ditong professionals eh. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A correct spelling and grammar saken. Kakahiya rin naman kapag blogger tapos wrong grammar. Minsan if unsure ako sa spelling, gumagamit pa ako ng google 🤭. kasi ako mismo sa sarili ko, hate na hate ko talaga nakakakita ng wrong spelling. Tsaka malaki ang impact sa readers mo kapag mali mali spelling and grammar

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama po te. Parang kapag blogger ka, understood na yon na dapat maayos ang pagkakasulat lalo na yung mga word choice at sentences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow nasa hive ka pala ako di pa talaga nakatry.. hmm correct spelling is needed but since we are imperfect we could have some mistakes and sometimes nalilito tayo sa spelling. Me personally nalilito ako sa receive.. but thankful sa lumalabas na word sa ibaba when typing... ehhehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Hive pa more. Whahaha. Ang saya po don ate pramis. Ang dami namin kasi na nagsabay sabay so suportahan nalang din po

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First I didn't value it and thought it's not important, but now I pay attention to it. I use sites to check my spelling, but now I make less and less mistakes and my writing is much better and faster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good though. It means you are developing and growing in writing. Just continue it and you will be a master.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I myself isn't bothered with the misspelling, as I am guilty to commit such a crime always. It will be either with my mobile device or my keyboard. But if I caught myself in a trance and been writing content that I think I should submit to other communities I always check every nook to see if it is error-free and this is why Grammarly is my best friend. Great job in the story btw, read that too earlier when I was curating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't use grammarly kuya. I just use Google Docs and some of my technical writing books as my references. Haha. Thanks kuya. I need to apply some formatting next time and cover photo as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each time I see a misspelled word, I assume it's a mistake and move on, because like you said, it some demotivate the writer if you point it out often. I know it's a way of correction but it doesn't go well with some people's emotion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I don't mins misspelled words from other blogs, but I cared a lot when it is mine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I am bothered by it too, but I got used to seeing errors on some written works. Though nakakahiya magsabi, hahaha. Lalo dito sa Pilipinas eh minsan mamasamain yung pag-correct mo. Baka masabihan pa akong nagmamagaling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate. Nahihiya din ako magsabi. Para kasing ang rude lang din non, baka ma block ka pa. Whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As someone who has typos a lot of the times, I can say that I care more about the composition and grammar of a sentence or article than the spelling of the words. But only in a casual setting such as this platform, I actually don't care for grammatical errors here as well since I know everyone is trying their best.

But when it comes to research and academic papers, I used to be the one people asked to review and put remarks on their drafts which I read carefully, and repeatedly to ensure the quality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, some people really don't care much about grammatical errors, but too much like in a one blog. I think it's bo super okay. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing naman career na career eh, ako medyo aware din ako dun pero minsan talaga may hindi sinsadya na wrong spelling minsan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahaha. Alam mo naman po ate.. Walang sinasayangna opportunity. Ang ganda rin kasi ng hive platform.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayos yan habang may free time ka pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nakakahiya din po kasi kuya kapag may mga misspelled words ka. makikita mo din yon kapag binasa mo ulit kapag napublished na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, minsan mapapansin ko lang ba meron akong misspelled word(s) kapag na publish ko na. Hahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing.. Sabak agad sa contest.. Hehe.. Mganda yan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Papalampasin pa ba yang opportunity. Hahaha. Charr. Para matututo po agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for downloading my e-book! Can I screenshot the part of it and use it for the feedback? Or maybe you can send me a dm for a feedback if you want. Anything you want.

Inkwell is a good community — the people are engaging and supporting each other. But sadly, I think writing stories is not my niche.

I am not a perfect writer, but it is a “turn off” for me when a blog and article is full of misspelled words. Your blog is a good reminder for all writers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes bro, I'll dm you in Telegram about my feedback. Your book is really helpful, like legit helpful especially for me as a newbie in hive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ng marami. Madami pang di kasama diyan since madami pa akong di alam sa Hive hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga basic html pala yon. Kaya na yon hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spelling matters for me especially on my own work. I sometimes misspelled some words that's why we really have to double check our work before publishing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true ate. We cannot avoid to have misspelled words eh. Kaya double check nalang after matapos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes need talaga e double check

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations. Your journey in Hive seems to be going well and fine. All the best in the incoming days and weeks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po ate. Nakaka excite lang din makipag interact don even though limited lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remain very curious about correction of spelling when I found red line below any word I tried to make it correct

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, me too. It means you have misspelled ot something wrong in your grammar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago