Honesty stores should be the new trend

21 126
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

It was amazing how small businesses cope with their daily transactions. To put up a new business is not easy at all. You have to think wisely where, what and who's the target of your business so that you have a core. I am not a business minded myself so I don't have a talent or skill in business. I will shoulder and advise you for anything, but not in business-related topics. I have very poor knowledge and very few experiences.

In my life, I haven't had any experience of paying without someone who's looking out. We go to the store, shop for the items we want and pay it in the cashier. That is the usual and common scenario that happens in supermarkets. But what if there's no cashier? There's no one who will look out for you whether you pay for your items or not? That is a problem that might be taken advantage of by the customers.

While I was browsing on Facebook to look for my friend's post regarding his brother's graduation. I saw some very interesting news that I, myself, can't believe happened in Cavite. There was a new store, not your ordinary store but a honesty store. Meaning, the store itself has no cashier or someone you will go to pay for your items. Your integrity and conscience as a person will be tested through this. And I think this is a good store that should be imitated too.

The store I was talking about was called “Rosario Honesty Store” owned by Wilfredo Perlas. He was a resident in Rosario, Cavite. For a brief information, Rosario has many local stores that you can find and it is a busy city from day to night. It is quite a populated area in Cavite and traffic is inevitable. So to read this kind of news was very surprising for me, especially in a place like Rosario.

Perlas opened this sari-sari store because the tricycle he was driving was stop functioning. He decided to open a store with a capital of ₱17,000 ($305.26). I am sure he is betting his savings in this store so that he could still have a source of income. What a wise man! But, what's more fascinating is his intention to make honesty be instilled to people or his customers. That is how his store was made.

But before all of this, there is a famous honesty store in the Philippines that most tourist was fond of. It was the honesty store that was featured in so many blogs and vlogs both local and international. It was indeed commendable because this store was existed since 1998. I was born 2001 so, it means it was 2 years older than me. Just stating a fact and highlighting how long the history of honesty store in Batanes. It was a pride of Ivatan people.

The store was mixed of sari-sari store and coffee shop so that you can relax. Enjoy the view and connect with nature. It was an amazing experience for sure to get there. Batanes was known for zero-crimes rate and no stealing was ever known in this province. The native people here are very generous and their houses are very different. It was ancient, traditional and historic. I think, right now their houses are the few of the rarest house in the Philippines.

I write about this honesty store because I want to remind everyone that our honesty should be applied to any situation. Oh, not at all situations but you have to pay and transact fairly to all of your business in supermarkets. Honestly, I want this kind of honesty store to exist in several parts of Cavite because it teaches people to become honest. But you know, not everyone has a good intention of doing good. It's still prone to stealing and shoplifting.

Also, if you are a store owner, you have to be honest and reasonable to your prices. Do not take advantage of inflation or any calamities happened in your area. I know that people who are honest are the people who has a big heart for others. It's rare if you meet someone who's honest and transparent. Then if you meet one and become friend with that person, cherish and seek advises from him. He will not take advantage of you, not now and not ever.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you sponsors. I cannot believe my sponsors block is like this. It's just good seeing all you there.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

14
$ 2.11
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Dennnis
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Well, that's good idea to test how people can resist of being tempted. How honest they are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honest people have a big heart for others.. Honestly is not just expected from anyone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly speaking honest person's are already rare nowadays, we cannot guarantee that people will reciprocate. You were just lucky if all your costumers are honest in your business.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. You know naman ate ang daming businesses and stores sa Rosario at Epza. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A store like this can never work in my country and my shutdown after a few days. Here in my country, people even try to steal things from a store that has cashiers, if they see one without anybody attending to it, they are going to loot everything in a day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's sad! I think this is a great project but will just be taken advantage by people. Is stealing really like that in your place?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

stealing is very common here because a lot of people are poor and hungry. There aren't any much jobs lying around so a lot of people will steal if the opportunity presents it self

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is my first time hearing about something like this and it's amazing. As I was reading, I imagining the possible outcomes if such stores is to exist in some part of my country, guy it won't just work😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait, is this not possible in your country? Oh, I read Kushyzee's comment. It will be looted just in a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For something like this to happen in a big store like a supermarket, then I think there should be an unknown CCTV watching because if you try testing people's integrity or honesty, some would fail, taking advantage of the moment 😆😆😆

I like this honesty store and I believe people can still cooperate and do things accordingly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But in poor places like I mentioned, there is no CCTV. It's just a matter of pure trust and integrity. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saw this on facebook and oh.batanes! Nasa bucket list ko yan, kaso ang mahal! Parang nag out of the country ka na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang layo kasi ng Batanes ate Haha. Saka baka bet mo ang Babuyan Islands emz. Tuktok na ng Pinas yon. For sure tanaw na tanaw na ang Pacific Ocean.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga, ang mahal.pa..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This reminds me of the honesty store we had in high school. We were sci high students so the teachers had a lot of faith in us.

But I remember that there are students who will go there with no peso and come out with school supplies PLUS "change".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's bad though! I bet these students are quite desperate or didn't understand the concept of honesty store.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

meron na po pala kuya na honesty store ngayon sa rosario? baka hindi yon magtagal, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, nagulat nga ko kasi sa Rosario pa. Haha. Dapat sa mga Tagaytay, Indang or medyo hindi city eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana naman ay maging honest talaga ang mga bbli jan. May napanood na di akong video na paranh ganito ee sa ibang bansa naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako po, yan po ang mahirap sabihin ate. Baka hindi lahat maging honest at hindi magbayad ng tama.

$ 0.00
1 year ago