Tips on Buying Your Own Laptop

44 73
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

I already mentioned a couple of times about my goal of purchasing my first ever laptop and it was just last January when I finally achieved it.

I just wanted to share some tips or advice with anyone who is also planning to buy their own laptop. The things that I am going to mention here are just based on my personal experience.

1. Plan ahead

A laptop is such a big purchase for someone like me who is still a student and has no stable income. I can’t just walk through a gadget store and immediately purchase a laptop. That’s why planning ahead is so necessary.

How to plan:

  • Know your WHY or your purpose for buying a laptop. Is it for academic or work purposes? Is it for writing articles? Is it for gaming? As for me, my main purpose is for my architecture course, my secondary purpose is for my side hustles such as writing articles here on read.cash.

  • Know what specs you need. For example, as for me, since my purpose is for my architecture course, having nice specifications is necessary because I am going to use architectural software such as AutoCAD, SketchUp, VRay, Lumion, and so on. But if you’re not going to use heavy software, you may opt for mid-range specs. You can search on YouTube to know about different specs because it's too technical for me to discuss.

  • Know how much you need, in short, a budget! As for me, I knew that I needed to have around P50,000 since I was eyeing for a gaming laptop.

2. Pay in full cash as much as possible.

I swear, I considered different types of installments such as bank financing and credit cards. I tried to ask help from my mother to try out this and that but things seem not to be smooth and there’s so much stuff needed like documents, etc. But I guess it will be easy for others who already have credit cards and who already experienced bank financing.

Why pay on a full cash basis? No stress of additional interests. You may also have cash discounts or freebies when you pay on a full cash basis. As for me, because of paying in full cash, I was able to have a freebie of any accessories worth ₱3,000. I was able to get a wireless mouse, keyboard, headset, and 1 TB hard drive. Cool, right?

3. Research from time to time.

Research gadget stores where you can buy your own laptop. I personally searched on Facebook the gadget stores that are near our area because I planned to buy in a physical store. Research and get updated from time to time because some gadget stores may have a good deal or promo. You don't wanna miss that out, right?

4. Purchase in a physical store or a branch near you.

We are all aware that a laptop is such a huge purchase. And I also consider it as an investment because we can do so many valuable stuff here. We can opt to use it for side hustles, work, academics, and so on. It is necessary for productivity.

Because of realizing the essence of it and because it involves a huge amount, my advice is to purchase a laptop in a physical store or a branch near you. I avoided buying online and having it delivered or something because I have seen some negative reviews wherein they had a problem with their newly bought laptop and they can't resolve things right away because they bought it online. And I wanna prevent that from happening because I am scared to put my money to waste.

5. Take some time.

Last but not the least, my personal advice for anyone who is planning to buy their own laptop is to take somee time or delayed gratification. Don't buy in a rush as much as possible. Take your time to assess what you really need, take your time to save up money, take your time to research.

That's all for now. Thanks for reading and until the next blog! ✨


Previous Articles:

For daily updates, let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: March 15,2022

16
$ 4.26
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 4
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

For sure that will be realized to you soon sis.

Same here, I'm really craving of buying laptop because its very important in my work. If I don't have it. I don't think I can work well.

Hopefully sooner soonest hehehe I can purchase one already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Claim it that you're going to have one soon 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis, hopefully soon. I'm really praying for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning dear This is a great article on how to buy your own laptop according to your needs and requirements

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll buy soon sis, but for now iba muba yung priority ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's fine. We have different priorities talaga :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

full cash talaga kasi ayoko ng installment sa mga gadgets. Parang nasasayangan ako sa interest pag ganun kaya tiis muna ako hanggang fully mabayaran ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, but if 0% interest why not diba. Pero if meron, no thanks. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is important to plan ahead than just go directly to the store because sometimes we get convinced with their sales talks and ended up buying the one not suitable for our needs. This really become my habit in buying a gadget also that I should make sure what particular model to buy before actually going to the store.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! I totally agree. The salesmen or ladies are sometimes so persistent when they sales talk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been eyeing an infinix laptop sis. I wanted one so I searched like very advanced, I still have to earn to buy it, but research and eyeing one won't hurt, pretty much like what you have just said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice that you have a specific preference already. Keep on researching and I hope you'll be able to buy one soon. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaah, I'll stick to that for now. Hehe. Anyway, parang suntok sa buwan ynag pangarap kong makabili ng laptop. Gipit pa ako now. K

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as I know about gadgets, unfortunately, I have never purchased a laptop myself. My dad has always been the one buying that.

PS. He is a Computer Engineer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky for you to have a dad who can buy you that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din magkaroon ng ganyan pero sa ngayon, yung unang unang pinaka goal ko muna tsaka na ako magseset ng plans about dyan. Salamat dito 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan mare. One goal at a time <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this. Kung may pera lang ako noon eh baka brand new na ung bili ko and ung isang bagsakan na bayad lang. Kaso dahil di naman ako yayamanin pa, second hand nakuha ko but good thing na nagin okay naman up to now eh maganda performance niya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay lang naman bumili ng second hand as long as maayos pa talaga. Buti naman at parang matagal na yan sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kelangan lang talaga maalam ka din sa specs at kapag nakipag deal ka sa seller, make sure na lahat ng specs eh visible pa or wala talagang damage. nung binili ko naman ito honest naman si seller na ung prob lang ay ung skin ng laptop. medyo madami na scratch pero nung chineck ko ung performace, good as new talaga. swerte na din at HP Pavilion na din sa halagang 9k?.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree! Nice. Diba gaming laptop ang HP Pavilion? Super sulit na 9k.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis pero hindi kasi ako naglalaro ihhh pero goods talaga performance nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaming laptop din sakin pero di ako naglalaro haha for architectural softwares sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kapatid ko is archi din graduate na, gaming din laptop niya pero iyon ay brandnew naman at i7 na din kasi need niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Necessity talaga yan sa course namin eh kaya need pagipunan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukang yung payo mopong bilin ehh hindi carry sis ehh yung pay in full cash, pero yung ibang payo mopo eh sundin kopo yan I really want to have one specially for my daughter. God bless po sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman pong imposible. Pero iba-iba talaga tayo ng situations. Sana magkaroon na ng maayos na laptop ang daughter nyo po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku maraming salamat po magdilang anghel kapo, ay sis tips po in buying second hand laptop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wala pa po akong experience in buying second hand laptop eh. Pero I think get something secondhand na in good condition and good performance pa, trusted seller, and good deal andg price.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy good thing i found this friend, thanks for this, I am planning to save money for this and good thing i got this tips at early time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem. I also have an upcoming article where I will share how I saved up for my laptop :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can somewhat apply these tips, for I am planning to buy a new phone. I guess, its applicable too. As for the laptop, hmmm...I should think about it first, so I will considered the last tip you gave sis.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to help. Yep, I think it's applicable for any gadgets. Good luck on your future new phone <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sa laptop mo po and thanks sa tips about it. I had one before but binenta ko din naman hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. It's my pleasure to share some knowledge :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last year, first time ko bumili ng laptop pero wala tlga akong ka alam alam na what are those right specs that needed. Haha wala akong magawa bsta ung pang encode lng so ayun nkabili ng walang ka alam alam about knowing the background of laptop to be purchase. Hahha ngayon may knowledge na ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Importante talaga mag-research kahit papano sis. Yup, at least now you have more knowledge and awareness :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this sis. I plan to buy a laptop for my sister. This is really a great help. Mas maganda nga pag i- full cash sis nuh para wala ng worries at may discount pa sa iba. Tama sis take time talaga. Wag madaliin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome sis! Hope everything will go well when you buy a laptop for your sis. Swerte nya naman sayo as an ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis. I hope soon I can buy sis. I hope soon this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey. Kaya yan! ✨🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Sana sis soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago