I Bought My Own Gaming Laptop (So Expensive!)

24 55
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Laptop

I have been planning to purchase my very first own laptop since before I entered college, so I probably thought about this since 2020. I am eager to make it happen and the thing to really make it happen is by having money so I could purchase it.

I saved up money by having different side hustles. I made an article about the different side hustles that I did since I was 17 year-old and up until now, here it is... I Earned XX,XXX Money: Side Hustles Changed My Life.

I dedicated a bank account solely for my laptop savings which I call "Laptop Fund", I put it on my CIMB UpSave because it has 4% annual interest. The money that I saved up from having side hustles were put into my "Laptop Fund" and fortunately, my Mama also helped me to save up for it.

So last Tuesday, January 18, 2022, the long awaited purchase has been done. I finally bought my own gaming laptop! It is the ASUS TUF Gaming A15. Here are the specifications:

  • AMD Ryzen 7-4800H 8C

  • 2.90 GHZ, up to 4.20 GHZ Max Boost

  • 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD

  • 4GB NVIDIA RTX 3050

  • 15.6" FHD IPS 144 HZ Display

  • Windows 10 Genuine 64 BIT

The SRP (suggested retail price) is ₱56,995 / $1,139.9. However, the Octagon Computer Superstore has a promo of less ₱3,000 until January 31. Aside from the promo, it also has freebies of accessories worth of ₱4,000 if the payment is full cash.

So, the price when I got it is ₱53,995 / $1,079.9. And since I paid in full cash, I got to have freebies of accessories worth of ₱4,000. I'd like to think that I saved up ₱7,000 because of the promos.

I am going to share photos of how everything looks like just in case someone is also interested to purchase one.

Disclaimer: The photos may be different from how it actually looks in person because of the lighting.

Here's what the primary box looks like. The bag and the laptop are all here:

This is the free bag!

This one is the secondary box where the laptop is placed along with manual guide, sticker, warranty card, and charger:

When you open the secondary box, this is what it looks like:

Here's the close up photo of the stickers:

I find the designs so cool! However, it is not my personal style so I guess I will give this maybe to my brother of my nephew because I noticed that they like stickers like these.

When the laptop is removed out of the box, you can see the manual guide, and warranty card in the middle. The right side and left side is where the charger and port are placed.

The right side contains the charger while the left side contains the port.

Finally, here's the laptop! Sorry for the fingerprints. Huhu.

Meanwhile, this is how it looks like at the back. It has honeycomb shapes for ventilation.

Here's the 15.6" screen

And here's the backlit keyboard. I can customize the colors of the keyboard through the "ARMOURY CRATE" app that's installed on the laptop. I personally just want my keyboard to have white light most of the time, then I change it to color cycle that change into different colors sometimes.

Once again, sorry for the fingerprints. Huhu. Now you know that this laptop has fingerprints marks. I don't mind it that much so it's okay. But if you're someone who's bother by it, then maybe this laptop is not for you.

Because I paid in full cash, here's the freebies of accessories that I picked worth of ₱4,000 in the Octagon Computer Superstore:

  1. Wireless Smart Keyboard and Mouse

    I am currently using it! Yay. I liked it so much because it is wireless. Clutter-free! The only thing that I don't like is that the keyboard is too noisy and somehow bulky, it makes my hand get tired when typing for too long.

  2. Headset

    I regret choosing this one because of the ports! The ports for microphone and speaker are separated! It seems like it's only for PC. Huhuhu. How I wish that I could turn it back in exchange for other things but I don't think it would be an easy process, and also because it is only a freebie, I am shy to return this and change into other accessories. Haha.

  3. 1 TB External Hard Drive

    It's not in the box anymore. I'm sorry. I just found the box after I took a photo of it. Haha.

Closing Thoughts

Thanks to my parents for this and also thanks to myself. ❤️

This is my biggest purchase so far next to my phone.

Months before buying this, me and my other 2 girl best friends discussed about the laptops that we are going to purchase. We considered so much stuff especially the price! As much as possible we all just want to buy laptops that costs around ₱50,000. Because other gaming laptop costs ₱55,000-₱100,000, we don't have money for those that has such huge amounts. Hahaha.

My purpose for purchasing a gaming laptop is not intended for gaming because I am not a gamer and I am not fond of it (but I have a plan to play SIMS hahaha). Kidding aside, this is for my studies. My course is BS Architecture and so we have to deal with different software that requires a good specs. Also, this is very helpful for me in writing articles for read.cash. 😊

Thank you for reading and until the next blog! ✨


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: January 20,2022

12
$ 8.13
$ 7.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Laptop

Comments

Yong second laptop ko now dito sa France nabili with the help of my husband at sa papa nya. 900 euro naging 700 euro na lang naka sale. May na save na ako 300 euro dinag dagan na nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You could have saved at least US$100 if you had chosen a Laptop with FreeDOS operating and then installed a GNU/Linux operating system. Watch my articles on GNU/Linux and open-source software.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I didn't know about that yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you have a little time, have a glance at my post - "Linux Reduces Your Computer Price" https://read.cash/@Unity/linux-reduces-your-computer-price-3ae7260e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah, same tayo ng purpose why bumili din ako ng PC, gusto ko mag play ng SIMS. Hahaha. Byt anyway, congrats on buying the laptop ❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Apir! Hahahah. Dati nung available pa yun sa FB, yun talaga nilalaro ko. Kaso naging software na at need ng maayos na specs ang SIMS. Maglaro tayo soon sis. 😂 Thank you!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my goal too but somehow the funds that I got from noise. cash and read, I bought sweing machiNe for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay. You still have a chance to save up for it. Good luck!

Congrats with your sewing machine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goshhh, inggit na inggit na me sa mga nakakabili ng lappy talaga. Me want to buy too but I set aside it muna palaguin ko mina ang ipon ko. Anyways, Congratulations ng malala 🥳🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya mo din yan! Need lang talaga mag-ipon. I'm sure talaga kaya mo yan ate. Hihi. Thank you din ng malala! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng laptop sis! Congrats po! Pati yung bag na freebie ang ganda hehe! Deserve na deserve!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy congrats! 🎉 Gagi kainggit at parang want ko na din magkaroon nyan 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Kaya mo rin magkaroon. Need lang talaga mag-ipon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy congratulations! 🥳 Alam kong matagal mo na ding gustong bumili since you mentioned it in your other article. You deserve it and it is also a necessity for your course. May nabalitaan pa nga akong naka 3 palit na ng laptop for his thesis since hindi na daw kinakaya ng RAM. Make the most out of it. Happy for u! 🥳😄

Anyways, where did you but it? From octagon gaisano ba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat! Natakot naman ako sa 3 palit ng laptop huhuhu. Wag naman sana.

Bought it in Octagon Tabaco, pinakamalapit samin. Parehas lang naman kasi sa ibang branch kaya sa malapit na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyyy thank you rin kasi mas na inspired akong mag ipon to buy myself a laptop. 🥺❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck sa pag-iipon mo! Advice ko magdedicate ka ng wallet or bank. Gumawa kasi ako ng "Laptop Fund" ko kuno. Tapos nakaka-inspire pag dumadagdag yung ipon. Kaya mo yan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice congrats! Isa din sa pangarap ko magkaroon ng laptop eh gusto ko din sana maging live streamer pero wala akong gamit kaya sa omlet arcade lang ako nag lalive. Deserve mo yarn marengs pinaghirapan mo din e ❤ Sana ako din makapagpatayo na ng bahay this year or sa next year 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Kaya mo din yan mare, need lang talaga mag-ipon ng pambili. Wow! Bahay omg! Dream ko din yan. Ilang taon ka na nga ulit mare?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your laptop🎉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! <333

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh, congrats sis. I also wish to have one soon❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis! You'll be able to have it also. You just need to save up first :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago