Preparing to Move Out for College | Living Alone

28 61
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

In my previous article, Boarding House Hunt | I'm Moving Out? Live Independently?, I have shared there about my boarding house hunting with a close friend.

Then in another article, My Thoughts on Face-to-Face Classes, I shared there my thoughts on the upcoming face-to-face classes. Some of them are "Will I get along with my roommates?", "My independence will be tested.", and so on.

It was just like yesterday when those things happened. When I was just looking for boarding houses and having thoughts.

Because recently, things are slowly coming real. A day from now which is tomorrow, August 29, I will be moving to an unfamiliar place with other unfamiliar people, and my thoughts will also have some answers.

So, in this article, I would like to share how I prepared or how I am preparing to move out of our house for college life. And this might also help for others who are going to move out as well.

Photo on right side is from Pinterest

Making a checklist

On my Notes app on my phone, I created a checklist there of the things that I need for moving out. Some of them are these:

Essentials

  • drafting table - much needed for my course

  • medicines and vitamins

  • scissors

  • eco bag or tote bag

  • laundry bag/basket

  • umbrella

  • mattress

  • pillow

  • blanket

  • bedsheet

  • mirror

Toiletries

  • toothbrush

  • toothpaste

  • shampoo

  • soap

  • skincare essentials

  • comb

  • nail cutter

  • dipper

  • basin

  • pail

Kitchenware

  • spoon and fork

  • plate/bowl

  • mug

  • lunch box

  • pan

  • pot

  • knife

Clothes

  • tops (for home and for when going somewhere)

  • bottoms (for home and for when going somewhere)

  • undergarments

  • hangers

  • clips

I might have missed other things but it's all up to the one who's going to move anyway. Haha.

Packing

After making a checklist, pack the things needed.

I have an advice when packing the clothes though... what I do is to create an outfit of tops and bottoms already and I fold them together. I don't know if you get it but, to say it in Tagalog, pinaplano ko na kung ano yung magandang suotin na top and bottom, both pambahay at panglabas, para bibihis na lang ako at hindi na magiisip ng susuotin, kukuhanin ko na lang. Hihi. Hope I explained that clearly. 😅

Another piece of advice I could give when packing is to have different compartments to separate your things. For example, eco bags are for clothes, plastic box is for foods, small bag is for skincare and toiletries, and so on.

Buy things you don't have yet

If you don't have the necessary things you need yet, you can buy them at physical stores or malls around your area or if you have time before you move out, order them online.

As for me, the things I only bought online are bedsheets (pillowcases, blanket, bedsheet), and lunch box. The other things, I just bought them in a mall or stores in our city. Some of the things, I just found it in our house. As much as possible at kung meron naman sa bahay, yun na lang para iwas gastos sa pagbili.

Fix

Fix your things and organize them as much as you can. Organizing can help in saving up space and time too, so you won't have to find where things are.

Go!

And now, after all of those, maybe I am ready to move out? LOL. I don't know if I am ready or not, but I have to be because I got no choice.

My parents, I think, will help me tomorrow to bring my things to my boarding house.

Closing Thought

Best of luck to me tomorrow. Hope I will get along with my roommates!

For those who have already experienced moving out of their parents' house, what are your pieces of advice and what are your experiences? I am curious to know. Feel free to share through the comment box. 🤔💬

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!

P.S. I wanna extend my sincerest gratitude again to @itsmeCguro for renewing sponsorship. Take care always sis~ 🤗


Previous Monthly Overview Articles:

For daily updates, let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: August 28, 2022

11
$ 1.06
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @WanderingMedStudent
+ 3
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Comments

Best of luck and I'm sure you will succeed. You are very organized and just apply those skills to your studies and you'll be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bed spacer ba kinuha mo or room talaga be? nako ha goodluck and always keep safe. Don't forget to bring some pepper spray ha alam mo naman mga bad guys eh kung san san meron yan. Dito samin ayaw nila mom and dad namin na aalis kami sa bahay- to board a house kasi meron naman daw kami non and isa pa, malalapit kami sa mga schools. so no choice tlga, asawa ko na kukha sakin dito sa bahay hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bed spacer lang po sis. Thank you for your reminders! Really appreciate it. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh nako ingat ingat sis ah lalo na pala bed spacer and uupahan mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Thanks for your concern~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best of luck po sa lilipatan nyong boarding house and sure naman po yan na makakasundo nyo mga roommates nyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming salamat po 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless you, and may you enjoy your college life! Take care and always do your best. It's a good thing that you learn to organize all the things that will help you in your everyday life during college. Keep safe!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much po ma'am 💓

$ 0.00
1 year ago

such a brilliant article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Put double lock on your door, mahirap na ngayon. Huwag muna lalabas masiyado lalo na when it is unnecessary. Always bring din protective gear or kahit pepper spray lang. And discuss things out with your roommates kung ano yung gusto nila sa hindi to avoid future conflicts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great. Thank you sa advice~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to do that din, yung nakafold na yung set ng susuotin for the day para hindi nagugulo lalo yung gamit. Good luck and enjoy your college adventures!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Less hassle. Thank youuuu!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nkakamiss nmn nyan. Excited tlga ako pag fixing things na tsaka move out. Dun na sa boarding house mag stay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh nag boarding house ka din po pala?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang laki ng help pag may checklist sis. Tama lang ginawa mo para wala ka makalimutan. Naalala ko tuloy nung college pa ako. Nag iisip ako kung sino mga ka roommates ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow nag board ka din pala noon sis. Panay talaga ako isip kung sino pa iba kong roommates.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis kasi sobrang layo ng school namin. For sure mababait yan sila sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis nameet ko na sila. So far, mabait naman sila~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti naman sis. Ang sarap lang kasama yung mga kind people sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chrew~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best advice yun pinag sama mo na yun damit para Di ka na mag iisip Kung ano susuotin. Saka very organize ka talaga sis, tama yan ginagawa mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! That's something I haven't done when I was in college. Haha. Good luck sa college journey mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ~

$ 0.00
1 year ago