Boarding House Hunt | I'm Moving Out? Live Independently?

15 52
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Since I was in high school, I already have a dream university! I claimed that I will study college at that university. I dreamed of pursuing my dream degree there which is BS Architecture. And I achieved studying in that dream university of mine along with my dream course now. I look forward as well that I am going to graduate from that dream university that I am currently studying in.

However, that dream university is around 1 and a half hour of transportation time from our home. So back then, I have already thought about it. That I am going to kinda move out of our home and live in a boarding house. Just like what my elder brother did when he was in college at that university as well.

I went boarding house hunt only because it's in case of face-to-face classes will really happen next semester...

The Boarding House Hunt!

Last June 24, I and my close friend met in our city at 9 am. We rode a 'libreng sakay' or free ride traditional jeepney going to another city which is around 1-hour travel. When we arrived there at past 10 am, we decided to go to the SM Mall first. I was craving Jollibee spaghetti and chicken joy at that time. I told my friend about my cravings and so she's fine with eating lunch at Jollibee. So we ate our lunch there.

We finished eating at 11:30 am. We decided to roam around the mall first and do window shopping. At 12 am, we decided to ride the jeepney and go around the nearby streets of our campus because it was where our boarding house hunt began!

The Plot Twist

For our first stop, we were in front of a boarding house that a friend suggested to us. But then, along the way, we came across my classmate with her mother. And they said that they were looking for a boarding house as well. They shared with us what they found because they have just been there.

They told us that the boarding house they found was very nice! The landlady was so kind, it has a kitchen, and all that.

I and my friend got curious so we went there and check it out ourselves. When we went there, we were greeted by an old lady, maybe around the 60s or 70s, and she's the landlord or the owner of the boarding house.

She greeted us warmly and let us tour the place.

We then decided to have a reservation there.

Pros about the boarding house that we found:

  • The landlord is so nice! Like you can feel it, no mix of pretentious. She was a retired professor at the university that we are in. She told us that she heats the water every early in the morning for the boarders. She also told us that she gets the hanging clothes outside when it's about to rain and even folds them, so borders don't need to worry about the clothes anymore.

  • Has common areas such as living room, dining, kitchen, toilets, and bathrooms.

  • It has a rooftop too! Where we can hang our clothes and there's also an area where we can tambay or study, overlooking a great view of the town and the Mayon Volcano!

  • All girls only. Which we prefer because boys/men are trash. Charot. Hahaha.

  • Walking distance to our campus! We will be able to save money and time because transportation ain't a problem anymore.

  • etc. (which I will not disclose here anymore)

Con about the boarding house that we found:

  • I can't actually think of a con but I think my only sentiment about it is that there's no own C.R. for each room. It is actually my biggest criteria when I thought of finding a boarding house. Because I personally like to have own C.R. instead of sharing it to many. Haha. Pero mas mahal ata kapag ganun so okay na ako sa common C.R.

Price per Month

The price is ₱2,000 per head if 4 occupants in a room.

Maybe around ₱2,600 per head if 3 occupants in a room.

Maybe around ₱4,000 per head if 2 occupants in a room.

Maybe around ₱8,000 if only 1 occupant in a room.

Nevertheless, the price is negotiable. Because the landlady is really nice.

For the down payment or reservation, I and my close friend only paid ₱500 each. That's so low already compared to other boarding houses wherein the landlords will ask 1-2 months of advance deposit.

Closing Thoughts

If the face to face classes will really happen next semester, it will be my first time to kind of move out of our house and somehow try to live independently. I sometimes overthink about the thoughts of it. I feel confident that I can be able to live independently but the thought of being a little far from my home and frequently not seeing my family (especially my mom) bothers me a lot.

Anyway, that's all for now. Have a wonderful day ahead!

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Monthly Overview Articles:

For daily updates, let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: July 14, 2022

12
$ 6.82
$ 6.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @kushina
+ 3
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Comments

Gusto ko din po magboarding house dati kasi gusto ko maexperience yung pagiging independent pero naisip ko hindi naman po kalayuan yung bahay namin sa University eh hahahha. Kami din po pala parang magfaface to face class na ata next semester if hindi po tumaas yung Covid cases sa province namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haven't ride a libreng sakay since hehhehe di rin naman kasi ako umaalis ng bahay masyado eh.. anyway thats a good choice. In choosing boarding house dami din dapat i consider.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, am just in the same shoes like yours I have not left the house to stay on my own totally, sometimes I think of it, because next week I will be done with university going for service and being a corper how it will be on me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck to our new life challenges po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad for you to have fpund one na malapit sa school! may additional fees ba kung magdadal ka ng mga electric stove ,plantsa at ib apa?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po. Yung cellphone free. Pero if may iba pang dala, 100 pesos per electronic device.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aah okay, ilang oras ba byahe from bahay mo yung school?

ready ka na ba to live independently? Yun laundry, may maayos ba na sampayan sa boarding house mo? yan kasi problema ko noon kasi share2x lang din tapos yung mga gamit kong tuyo na sana tatabihan ng basa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All girls only. Which we prefer because boys/men are trash. Charot. Hahaha.

I love this! Hahaha. But really, it's going to be an exciting chapter of your life C. That's where you discover more of your potential. Human experience, kumbaga 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. I hope so po ate J. Agree. Life experience na may life learnings din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this is a good training for you, you'll be able to budget your allowance for food and other stuff.. plus, you get to have the independence that's totally different when you are under your parent's roof... the boarding house sounds nice...plus it is not easy to find a landlady with that kind of concern to the boarders.. plus point as it's an all-girls boarding house.. where are you located by the way?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with everything po. In Bicol po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love to have my own CR too just like my boarding houses before. Though happy that the price per month before isn't that heavy like nowadays. Our boarding house before cost only 1000 per month with own CR and kitchen. But nowadays its too expensive plus the electric and water cost is another thing too. Though at least, you will learn how to be independent somehow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woaaaah 1000 for that amenities? Super catch na!!! Sadly, most of the boarding house now are too pricey and hard to get one that is nice. Yeah, the leanings I'll get is priceless. Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What if may bumubulong pala ng 'hustisya' jan tuwing hatinggabi. Char HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hoy HAHAHAHHA lagi ko nakikita ganyang memes sa FB

$ 0.00
1 year ago