My Experience as a Filipino First-Time Voter

33 64
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

May 9, 2022 was the national election here in our country the Philippines. It is the day that everyone is looking forward to. It is also the only day that the citizens have the power to vote for the next president, vice president, senators, governors, mayors, vice mayors, and other political positions.

It was also the day that I cast my first vote. I am one of the first-time voters along with my fellow kabataan and other citizens.

Photo from Office Holidays

How did my May 9 went?

I woke up at 7 am. I went straight to our dining area and ate 2 boiled saba bananas and sipped on my favorite coffee. After that, I did some preparations, change my clothes, and all that jazz. When we are all ready, me and my parents, we went to our precinct at 9 am.

Papa, although he's still very strong but already a senior citizen, separated from us because he took the line for senior citizens. The line for it is of course much shorter that's why he was able to cast his vote immediately.

Meanwhile, me and my Mama lined up for two hours or so. We got to cast our votes at around 11 am. Naunahan pa namin yung isa kong Kuya who went there earlier than us at 8 am ata, natagalan sila kasi sira daw yung vote counting machines (VCMs). Which is so sad kasi nabalitaan namin na marami talagang nagaganon, hindi lang sa precinct namin kundi pati sa ibang lugar. Which was so suspicious.

Before we went straight to our home, we went to the house of our lola first and catch up with our relatives for a while. After that, we drank coke and bought a pack of Yakult, my favorite drink.

Afterward, we went home and ate our lunch. I can't remember the specific ulam we had for our lunch but it was somehow similar to sinigang, and it tasted so good. It was cooked by my youngest brother.

I spent most of my time that day on my phone browsing updates about the election. And marami talaga ang balita na maraming nasisirang vote counting machines (VCMs). May mga nakita rin akong nagpo-post ng pictures at videos ng kanilang election ballots at vote receipts, which I know is against the law. Sana lang ay aksyunan iyon ng COMELEC. Nagsilipana rin ang mga posts patungkol sa vote buying at mga namimigay ng sample ballots sa oras ng botohan. May mga nangangampanya rin kahit noong May 7 pa ang huling araw ng pangangampanya. Nakakalungkot lang.

I slept before 3 am at that time.

Closing Thoughts

I was actually having election anxiety all throughout that day and even days before the election. This national election is big deal for me and I know I'm not alone in feeling this way.

As a first-time voter, I can say that I will forever be proud of the candidates that I have voted for. Win or loss.

Wala pang official results hanggang ngayon, pero ang masasabi ko lang...

Sa huli, ang tanging hinihiling ko lang ay magkaroon tayo ng mas maayos na gobyerno. Gobyernong tutulungan ang Pilipinas at mga Filipino na magkaroon ng maganda at maayos na sistema.

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!

P.S. I reached 5000 views last May 4. I forgot to mention this. Thank you so much to everyone who read my articles! I will consistently try to publish quality contents. 😊


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: May 11, 2022

20
$ 9.54
$ 9.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.02 from @Jeaneth
+ 8
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Comments

First time ko din sana kaso naalanganin yung uwi ko. Next time na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awts. Di po kayo nakapag-vote? Bakit pa ganun?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko kasi nailipat rehistro ko dito sa Maynila kasi akala ko makakauwi ako before election.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congratulations on your first ... more to come! and indeed, we would only hope for the best for our country!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never experienced voting before and I don't think I want to. I hear it's a bit stressful and sometimes it's not always worth it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish all people have the luxury to be apolitical as you are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will also cast my first vote next year. I wish there was an earlier election.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh your country will have national election next year and you're already eligible to vote? Good luck! Be wise in choosing candidates. Please research facts as much as you can. No no to fake news.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With my co deso technician yan din ung mga problema na encounter namin dahil sa paper jam. Medyo manipis lng kasi ung paper unlike nung fts na mdyo thick. Kaya tuloy ngkaproblema ung flow sa pgboto dhil sa pagload ng machine. Sobrang loading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my experience, okay naman po. I just don't understand bat may mga nagkaganoon. Nakakalungkot pa na maraming ganoon, di man lang iilan lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nawa'y maging maayos talaga ang pamamalakad sa gobyerno natin sis no. Sana talaga gawin nang mga nanalong kandidato ang kanilang tungkulin sa ating pamahalaan..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same candidate ba kayo ng binoto sa family C? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate J. Same with family and friends kaya I'm so lucky.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope whoever wins will do their responsibility to our country. Good job for voting sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree. Thank you sis! 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me kung sino man manalo sana makakatulong siya to improve our economy. Yun lang naman 😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations for making that decision to get registered and vote! It is as any elections go, we won't always have our candidate win. But still walang stand ang nasasayang jan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming salamat po! I agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taas noo pa rin ha? Much to look forward to, to learn and to observe. Praying we look forward to the good that is in store for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taas noo pa rin ha?

Opo. Same here. "Ang namulat ay hindi na muling pipikit."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So happy na madami tayong mga first time voters ngayong election. Hoping na sana yung mga nanalo is iprove nilang karapat dapat sila sa position na gagampanan nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I woke up so early that day to cast my vote because I don't want to fall in line for so long. However, nagka aberya naman ang VCM namin. Hays. Pinauwi muna kami since 2 hrs pa bago dumating yung bagong vcm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, di ako nakagising ng maaga since late talaga ako matulog. Nakakalungkot na nagkakaproblema ang mga VCM. Dapat sinisiguro nilang maayos ang lahat since months ang preparation ng election as far as I know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis kung sino man manalo. Congratulations para sa lahat. Praying for the country. Di ako makarelate sis. Di ako bumoto ngayon. Praying sa ikaunlad ng bansa and for the peace sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Praying for our country po talaga. Awts sayang po ng chance para bumoto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Oo sis di ako nakaboto kasi andito ako Manila now sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh. Okay lang po yan, there are next times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basta ako, binoto ko yung mas qualified na candidate. Good luck na lang talaga sa Pilipinas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here. Good luck talaga. 🇵🇭

$ 0.00
1 year ago