How much for your time

83 192
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Write, Time, Blogging

How are you awesome Read.cash readers?

Today I have a question for you: how much do you value your time? Time is without a doubt one of the most precious things we have in life and we always hear that we need to learn to value our time. And that doesn't just include the activities we spend it on or the people we share it with. When we do a job, valuing our time is also associated with the compensation we get for it. Just yesterday, I read an article by @foryoubtc09 about this My time is valuable! My time is cheap! What category are you in?.

Well, it isn't only important to value our time, but also that of others. My husband has done freelance work in the audiovisual world for as long as I have known him and I never understood his complaints about the valuation of work until I started to experience it myself. Many clients will try to squeeze as much as they can out of you and underpay you. But for me now, an alarm trigger when we are asked to do a job and in the first meeting, usually virtual, the potential client comes out with the phrase "how much is it going to cost me, because I don't have much money". They almost pretend to ask you to work for free. And I don't think this happens only here.

Image by michaelform from Pixabay

This came to mind since this morning I was commenting with my husband on a thread we both read yesterday on Twitter with a great anecdote precisely related to valuing the time of others. The anecdote is about a conversation between film director Brian de Palma and actor Bob Hoskins.

The thread is in Spanish but the anecdote is this.

Anecdote of the day:Brian de Palma sent the script of "The Untouchables" to Bob Hoskins. A few days later he called him on the phone and met him at a hotel bar:

- Did you like the script?

- Very much. It's fantastic.

- Well, I'd like you to play the part... Al Capone.

- Yeah, that's great. That's not a problem.

- Actually, it is. Look... I don't want you for the part, I want de Niro...

- Ah...well, I'm glad I came along.

- I'd like you to be available because he's a very sought-after actor and he might isn't available for the job.

- Okay, I'm out of work right now. I'll wait.

They said goodbye and Hoskins didn't hear from the director again until he read in the press that de Niro had accepted the role of Al Capone for "The Untouchables."

A couple of months later, Hoskins...

He was having breakfast with his wife as he opened the mail and found an envelope containing a check for $200,000 and a note from Brian de Palma: "Bob, thank you for your time. Love, Brian" Bob Hoskins then phoned the director:....

- Brian...next time you don't want me to do a movie with you, call me. Count me in. Anytime. Anytime.

Beyond the Hollywood touch. It certainly feels good when someone values ​​our time. Don't you think? Do you think your time is well valued?

By the way, have you watched the movie? It's a classic, and the stairway scene remains one of the most famous in movie history.

That's all for today my dear readers. Thank you very much for your time if you made it this far reading. I value the time of each of you who read and comment on my articles. I appreciate it very much.

Thank you to all of my awesome sponsors, you rock! And specially to @King_Gozie for renewing the sponsorship. Thanks Gozie from the bottom of my heart!

Image credit on the caption.

All writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 11, 2021

49
$ 14.61
$ 12.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 33
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Write, Time, Blogging

Comments

I'm really surprised Bob got paid, but that's the way it is, time is worth, time doesn't come back. Recently my couple did a song for an American person, even though the song is very well done, the person doesn't like that it was rock-pop, so he paid him for all the effort he invested in making a song, but he wants the song in another style.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many people do not value the time of others. I have had many students who have paid me extra for time, and they have all been American, as well as students who don't want to pay and are Venezuelan or Colombian, there are also people who want a cheaper price or free classes. I can lower the price of the classes, but I can't give them for free, I need the money to go to the person's house. It's really hard to be good at something and they want to pay you less or want things for free, especially in the art world. They want a concert, where you put lights, sound, they play several groups, but they don't want to pay. It's really sad that this happens.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It happens a lot, and particularly Latinos have that bad habit of wanting others to give their time for free or cheap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree of saying time is valuable and important not to wasted. That is why I am on and or ahead of time whenever I will other people for any reasons for I know how important it is. I am too particular to it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well written.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate my time and the time of others. That is why whenever I have a plan to go out with a friend, I'll make sure to stick on the planned time of meet up to make sure both of our time will not be wasted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you, being punctual is a way of showing that we value other people's time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. And it shows respect as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspiring post. It has provoked me to write about the time and about the evolution of time-concept (It is very interesting and particular). Thank You CoquiCoin!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, Loucy. I'm flattered for inspiring you with my post :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate my time. If we learn to value our time, we will value others as well. I hold music classes and it is very important to me to start and finish the class on time, to get to the next one. It's simple

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Time for me is precious. It will allows me to do things that I wanted, like enjoying my life to the fullest with my family and friends. But at some point, I would say that I forget to valued it. I sometimes used it for unnecessary matters... Aigoo .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all do it, at some point, we waste our time. But we must learn to value it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dear. We really should..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I would have also called him to tell him to look me up when he needed someone, haha. I love that scene, I lost count of how many times I watched that movie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That scene is impressive and despite the time that has passed, it's still amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muy buena anécdota y tienes razón el tiempo debemos de valorarlo con la persona adecuada para que sea un tiempo de calidad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

'Time is Gold' and it must be valued, that's why we should treasure every moment and second of our life so that we won't regret everything in the near future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, the time is non-refundable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is money until I realized how much I wasted it. Hahaha I didn't watch the movie though but enjoyed the scene.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The movie is a classic. I recommend you to watch it if you have the chance ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time can never be replaced and lost time is never got. Interesting Anecdote. The actor is paid for jst listening. The director knows the value of time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To value our time means giving importance to ourselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish someone would also call me like that. LOL. I would not mind being proposed a role and chosing another actor eventually, as long as I get paid for meeting the director. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wouldn't mind either 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is one of the most valuable element in life for me, wasting even a bit of it makes me worried and guilty, I always thinks that I should always use my time in a productive way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wasted enough time in past. But I must say those odd timing taught me a wonderful lesson. Now I think my time is worthy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you learned a lesson it wasn't a completely wasted time ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me as a mother my time is very valuable. I need to finished my household chores everyday plus baby hehehe. Then I need to update all my online earnings as my extra time. Time is gold to me and i dont want to waste any minutes without nothing to do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For me, this is a real problem. But when I start to list problems that the companies of my future clients present and I always receive the answer "I have always done it that way, I did not know it was wrong, nothing has ever happened to me" LOL. They want to let me know that I'm just looking to close the deal and that's it. Over time I learned to discard these types of people because I know they will be a real problem.

For now, how much for your time? 10 Chocolates. LOL 905 in... hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is better not to have those people as clients, we learn that with the years;) Waiting for my chocolates, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going out on my pink Vespa. You may not know me from the unicorn helmet I am wearing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness! now I need to see you with that helmet on 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A BCH and I'll sell you the photo LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Time for me is very valuable to me, hence needed to spend well and I appreciate people who share theirs with me in any way. It feels great knowing that someone cares and makes you feel so by sharing their minutes with you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, sis. It is so valuable to know that others are willing to share their time with us. Thanks for yours, amiga!♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, my friend,

Thanks for such a valuable article. Yes, time itself has no value, but the vital energy that can be expressed in each one of us.

Yes, your life is too valuable to waste. At the other extreme, there are also those who overvalue their own vital energy, wasting it in trying to take on many activities at the same time. Every minute of your life has a fair value that you must discover yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment, and I agree each one must discover the true value of our time, and that isn't necessarily a material value. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome film it is Eli! For me time is precious and valuable, and who we give it to means a lot too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, Ed, who we dedicate our time to means a lot. Thank you for your time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And thank you for your time Eli especially taking the time to help me, I really appreciate that 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always a pleasure to help you, Ed! 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My time is precious for me and I value it a lot. Good morning, Cocola 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi B Champ! Time is one of our most precious belongings :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is money. Even if i don't know before, my recent involvement in the digital world has taught me that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Time is gold. Spending our time on what is more valuable is important like what I usually do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everyone's time is valuable and should be well compensated. I am accepting commissioned arts and part of my basis for the price is how long did it took me to finish the arts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My time, wow my precious treasure. I value it too much. Time makes me create, work, and live. I´m the kind of person that can reject any job because it can "damage" my time, but not always was that way. There was a moment my time was for others so I said: No way, and now, more relaxed, I can surely say I value my precious time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear that. Because sometimes we are the first to not give the fair value to our time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do think that time is valuable, whether it is mine or someone else's. I also like to reward "effort" wherever possible. For example, I tipped my landscaper who laid the base for my pool an extra $100 for doing a timely and professional job. I tipped an HVAC guy $100 once for making an extra effort to slot me in for some emergency work. I tipped a realtor $100 for walking through and providing a detailed analysis even though I ultimately decided not to list the property with him. A little goes a long way, and I think sometimes a lot of people tend to forget about that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a wise way to think "A little goes a long way" and I agree, people tend to forget about that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My time is so valuable to me that I don't joke with it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How much do I value my time? Thats a good question. I never feel I have enough time and am often annoyed with myself if I have wasted my precious time. We can never get time back once it is gone. Of course we should also value it when people give up their time for us. Their time may be even more valueable than ours.

I wonder if it is possible to put a price on each persons time? I guess the value of my time equates to my hourly rate of pay at work. If I think having time to myself and with my family is more precious than earning as much as I can then it makes sense to work a little less, just as long as we have enough to provide for our families.

Precious time with the family you can't put a price on!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree, the time we spend with our family and loved ones is priceless. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

time is so precious and it is fair for everyone... i value my time too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My time is very valuable and I make sure to spend it on things that are going to be beneficial to me. I have heard some of my professors speak on how much they earn just to give an hour long seminar, they are getting paid for their time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good to always be aware of the value of our time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, time is money, and like money, time is often worth saving. But is it always worth it to pay for expediency?

I also experience this in my work place they almost pretend to ask you to work for free. Which is really annoying

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agree, it's so annoying to work where or for those who don't value our work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My time is probably the most valuable thing to me after of course my life and my family. There is a saying “be careful what you spend your time on because you can never get it back” that saying speaks a lot of meaning

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great saying with much meaning. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes time is valuable but some situations and people makes us feel like it's not worth it sacrificing our time. Nice article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is money and gold that cannot be taken back once wasted :) Thanks for your time my friend in being my sponsor and supporting my articles :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, time is gold. And my pleasure to read your articles and be your sponsor. Have a great day Glaiza :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels really good when our work is appreciated. Very good anecdote to recreate what it means.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes my friend, it feels good when others value us. Happy afternoon! saludos :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is the most precious thing I can offer!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know, thank you for your time stopping by ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True.. I appreciate those who value my time.. Although sometimes I don't value it 🤭.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also sometimes make the mistake of being the one who doesn't value my time well. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is very valuable and there's even a popular saying that time is money. We need to use our time productively.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still believe time is gold, it is really a precious one. So make the most of your time with your loved ones, the one that makes you happy :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, time is gold!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bitcoincash:qrhr4jgxzzs7qkuyufrpg084727gdlm74clnjvmnyv

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess this is a subliminal message, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to treasure the time. It should have a task set time. Don't waste it. Treasure every moment, time runs. We need to value and it must be balance. God bless you ma'am CoquiCoin.🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Blessing to you too and thanks for your time and for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much maam.. you're always welcome maam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think now my time is valued because every day I am making my day productive, not wasting time on social media while useless videos. Nope, I haven't seen that movie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The film is a classic from 1987. So it's no wonder you haven't watched it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago