Be good or be better than

83 121
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, beautiful people of Read.cash.

For a couple of days, there has been a word around my mind Competition. I've been talking about it with my son. And I thought it's a good topic to write about.

We live in a society where competition is present in almost all areas of life. The idea of ​​comparing ourselves with others, wanting to have what others have achieved is part of life. It doesn't matter if we are competitive by nature or not. And that's good. The desire to improve is what motivates us to be better every day. To set our goals in life and go for them.

"You have competition every day because you set such high standards for yourself that you have to go out every day and live up to that."

Michael Jordan

The problem is when competition leads us to feelings such as frustration and some other unhealthy feelings such as envy that instead of being motivating can become destructive.

And that leads me to think about how we face the competition that life brings every day. And how in that sense, we can be competent or competitive. And this is something that we shouldn't confuse because they are actually very different concepts. There is a big difference between being competitive and being competent.

And how I see these two concepts. Being competent is having the ability to do something and do it right. In the work arena is to have the appropriate skills to perform a job. But also to have a good performance on doing that job. Whereas being competitive is having the desire to do things better than other people.

Image by Sasin Tipchai from Pixabay 

The main characteristics of these two different traits of people as I see it are.

Competent people

  • Personal goals are set. And those goals seek personal fulfillment.

  • They seek to improve their skills and abilities.

  • They are usually people who like teamwork.

  • When it comes to celebrating achievements, they can share their success with others.

I am, as I've said, merely competent. But in an age of incompetence, that makes me extraordinary.

Billy Joel

Competitive people

  • Personal goals are set based on exceeding someone else's results.

  • They hardly give up trying to achieve their goal.

  • Sometimes they are not good at teamwork.

  • They don't like to share their achievements with others.

I play to win, whether during practice or a real game. And I will not let anything get in the way of me and my competitive enthusiasm to win.

Michael Jordan

Is it better to be a competent person or a competitive one?

I don't see them in an excluding way. And I think that both have their advantages. A competent person can be competitive in some circumstances. Competitiveness can be a great motivating agent. And competitive people pursue their goals with great determination, and this is without a doubt a strength. However, highly competitive people can sometimes go to extremes. And can cross the fine line that can separate what is ethical from what isn't.

How I see myself. Am I a competent person or a competitive one?

I consider myself competent rather than competitive. Although when younger in my professional career, I was a bit of both. But in a good way, because I've always liked teamwork and sharing my achievements with those who are part of them.

In life, I have met many competitive people. Some have been an inspiration to bring me the aim to be better myself. But others have gone to extremes and have succeeded in harm me. But that has also been lessons learned.

But over the years, I focus more on my achievements. On myself, on developing my abilities and my skills. In learning and in being more collaborative with others.

And what about you? Are you a competitive person or a competent?

To you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

Thanks to all my wonderful sponsors! I encourage you to visit their amazing articles if you haven't done so.

Images credits on the caption

All writings are my own unless anything different is stated.

© CoquiCoin  

#ClubBrokeBCH

#BetterSeptember

Until next time! ;)

September 4, 2021

36
$ 9.79
$ 8.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 21
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

For me, being competitive destroyed my mental health and sanity. That's why i tried to improve myself to be a competent person who can help others rise instead of competing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't like any longer to compete. And I only do it against myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be a competitive person is always good for our success. Competitive people always serious about their work and its a good sign for our future. You did really well in this article dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see myself as Competitive because I dont really like sharing my Achievements lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can say that I am competent. I like to achieve success and share my blessings to others. I don't like going to extremes just win over someone. I prefer to compete with myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good, challenge yourself and compete against you ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masterclass writing ✌️ We have to decide ourselves that who we are. You narrated and explained it perfectly. Wow! Ask me... I will answer that I am a competitive person, chasing my dreams.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm flattered by your words. And wish you to achieve those dreams you are chasing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes, I used to be competitive. If you've read my When I Was a Kid article you'll know what happened. Haha.

It is so much better to be competent but in the usual/ordinary office setup people actually step on competent people. Perhaps due to insecurity or whatever. Sad when it happens.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, people who are highly competitive in the business environment usually choose competent people as their benchmark. And if competitive people are toxic, they can do a lot of harm at work to competent people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I consider myself competent. I always celebrate the achievements obtained through teamwork.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also like teamwork and sharing my achievements. Thanks for stopping by, friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I'm a competitive person but when I see other people's achievement I become competitive but when I realized I cannot keep up with others, I slow down and get back to the competent stage where I only set goals for myself and when I cant achieve it, no worries

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's okay because it means that even if you can't handle competition, it doesn't lead to feelings of frustration but rather to improve on your own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am competently competitive or is it competitively competent 😁

I am both , although I am nowhere near as competitive as when I was younger. Only thing now I am competitive about is to do with Rangers. So I will say I like being competent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like more competitively competent, Ed ;) Oh yes! The Rangers. We've already noticed that. LOL. No Surrender!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe No Surrender have a great night Eliana 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good night to you, Ed! For me is still early afternoon ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I know, I am still alive and kicking, am exploring hive, my goodness there is so much there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Have fun! I was just thinking about what to post there. There are so many dApps, it's overwhelming. I have days without publishing anything. But Pantera told me to try to focus on one of the dApps. And I think I will lean towards Proof of Brain or Leofinance if I dare to write something about cryptos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is like a maze haha, I am lost 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being competitive is totally fine. I am a competitive person until now. But in a good way. 🙃

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good. I think being competitive challenges yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here i see myself as competent. Being competent makes me value myself based on what i have learned from the experience regardless if i fail or not. Being competitive is stressful. Its like you are basing your worth based on other people’s view of you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being competitive serves to challenge ourselves, but I agree with you that this creates stress. And that is why at least in my case, as I have matured, I care less about the achievements of others and I focus only on mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been a competent one ever since. And is competitive sometimes depending on the situation I am in.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good, BC. From my point of view, we should try to be competent. And competitive when is needed to challenge ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was competitive in my school time but now I'm too much changed and i always try to be competent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I believe that most of us, as we advance in life and mature, we tend to prefer to be more competent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although competition is good to keep us going while we struggling to achieve our goals but we should take it in positive way and there should not be any attention to harm others to get our means.I prefer to be a competent person because I always try to improve my skills and abilities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, we must see competition from a positive point of view. Otherwise, it can do us a lot of harm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young, I can say that I was competitive. I want to do things beyond others in many aspects. I don't want to be left behind. I want to excel in many things and I was not good at teamwork especially if there are people who won't cooperate, it is better to work with myself. But as they say, age gives us wisdom, when I become mature, I change my perspective to be competent rather than competitive, maybe I was tired of being competitive and I love to share with people right now and I understand fully how life works. Maturity gives us so many realizations about life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always look for ways to become a competent person and being competitive is not my thing. I just let everything slide while minding my own business. I don't want to be someone else's source of insecurity and envy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

way back when I was in High school, I was a very competitive one to the point that I'm starting to become toxic. But luckily I'm not that competitive right now, I just go with the flow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank God you took another path because being competitive to the extreme of being toxic not only makes you hurt the other person you compete against but yourself too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The goal is always to be better than. By God's grace it will be possible for me. Because competition will never end in this world, all you have to learn is to be competent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been competent but not competitive. I think it was instilled in me early on to just do what you can and not worry about your standing. I can be competitive sometimes though :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For me, being competent and trying to improve every day by ourselves is the best. And when we have to compete, do it with a positive attitude. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's it. Have the right attitude all the time :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Honestly when I was young I can say that I am a competitive person but now I think I've already changed. I considered myself now as a competent one. I am not into competitions in life right now. I set goals and dream bigger but I don't see life as a competition with other people so I want to achieve my goals in my own way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree we can be competent and competitive, but realistic too. We fail sometimes and we must learn to accept it. Forgive and move on to another challenges. That's life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, the worst thing we can do is get stuck in something. If we don't succeed, we must move forward and go for a new goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Competition may be a good push for people to aim to be more competent so it goes hand in hand I think

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, if we have to compete, we should try to improve and be more competent. But sometimes highly competitive people forget about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am competent at the same time competitive 😅 because we need both in different cases..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, in the work arena to be successful, we need both.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you right, but it's depend on us how we handle those competition, in my own i compit my own self, I do it to better person every day, to do something better than yesterday,

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

I think i'm in both too but in a good way i'm just in time to achieve everything and focus, but i don't want other people down. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Being a competitive person helps you improve and do better in every things that you do but you're right that people with high competitiveness is more likely to lead in a negative result which affects him or the people around him. As for me I'm more competent but there are times that I can be a competitive person, depends on the situation hehe :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The same happens to me. I'm more competent. But I can compete if an opportunity presents itself. And that also helps us to improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer being tagged competent than being tagged competitive. Being competitive comes with some negativity. Wanting to win at all cost...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, when you want to win at all costs, the competition can get toxic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to think that I am a bit of both, but I believe that I am more competent than competitive, and if I am competitive I am with myself and not with others, and I always try to learn from experiences, good and bad, and to support and help others.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And you are in an environment that is very competitive like that of music. But where it is evident that being competent has great value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to believe that I am a competent person. I don't like to compete with other people for selfish desires. Although I think there are healthy competitions, one where I set myself a benchmark through another person's achievements, mainly to push myself to do better.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Comparison and want to achieve what others have achieved can be a way to improve ourselves. A healthy competition seems good to me. And as you said, it's good to push ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's right too :) It really depends on how we go about them, or our purpose, I think :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I am more competent than competitive, but I have a little of both. I like challenges and competitions for the sake of participating and striving to win.

Two words that can be confused and you have explained them very well, thank you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome. I used to be a little of both too. But with the ages, I've become more competent and only compete with myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say I am both competent and competitive because I see competitive as a way of improving myself and also a space to work very hard and not to hate on anyone at all and by that, it makes me competent in that area I wish to improve myself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say I am both because I see competition as a way of improving myself and also a space to work very hard and by that, it makes me competent in that area I wish to improve myself. Many see competition has something hurting but we shouldn't at all rather we should use it to our best.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, the competition can definitely be a motivator for us to improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's better to take both and be in the middle. Being competitive takes some ambition. Being competent requires maturity. When the two are combined, they bring both motivation and success.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agree with you that both together could bring a good balance for been motivated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am trying to be competitive but I, myself, didn't want to cooperate..Just kidding. I had an ex-friend who wanted to compete in all aspects of life. Literally, like from the shampoo that you use to the brand of your things..Competition is healthy but we should know its scope and boundaries.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that's the point. Some people push the competition to such an extreme that it can become unhealthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unhealthy and toxic. I usually walk out when I am people like that, I just can't stand it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the best we can do when we run into toxic people, ignore them and go our way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I should be classified competent or competitive, cos I have characteristics from each set according to your illustration above. I set personal goals, and at the same time do not appreciate teamwork, neither do I give up easily.

I think I'm a little of both.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're a bit of both, and that's okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing I have learnt is that being competent is the best at all times because you will always bring in that missing piece whenever you are called upon. For me, I see competitiveness as a poisonous thing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, competitiveness can become toxic if taken to extremes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weighing it, I can see myself competent instead. I feel that I must only compete with myself...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good. Now, I only compete with myself too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

competitive person is always good for success in work. But sometime some of them do it by harm their colleague to success. And It's really disappointed things.I am also competitive person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I believe that being competitive is good as long as you don't get to the point of harm the other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only compete with myself, Coqui!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lately, I'm like that too, sis. It's me vs me. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago