To my fellow read.cash community members

52 284
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Monday, July 20th, 2020

As of today, we are now 11,000 users strong, but that's still less than 1% the size of Steem (another crypto-based blogging platform), and let's not even try to compare the size of read.cash to that of Reddit or Twitter.

Of course that doesn't mean we can't one day compete with those communities, but in order to even have a chance to grow to those levels, we need to stop thinking small and start thinking big.

If you are on this site squabbling about your daily points and a few cents worth of BCH, you're thinking way too small. Stop focusing on your daily fund payout and start focusing on building your brand and building this platform all at the same time.

Let me paint a picture for you. Imagine a day in the hopefully not too distant future where read.cash has as many users as Reddit. According to emarketer.com, Reddit is projected to earn over $250 million in net ad revenues in the year 2021. That's net of money spent on traffic acquisition costs. But you also have to take into account that Reddit has nearly 500 million monthly active users, and 11 million daily active users, though I think it's safe to assume that the vast majority of those people are simply going to the site to consume content and not to create it.

I don't know about you, but I've never earned a dime from Reddit. And if I was given a choice between using a version of Reddit that doesn't pay me and one that does, even if it's a small amount, I'd definitely choose the latter. Now what if you happen to be a popular content creator? Let's say $100M of that $250M gets put into a fund that is paid out to users based on their participation on the site much like the read.cash fund. Some quick back of the napkin math tells me it could be very possible that some of the more popular users could easily make tens of thousands of dollars a year, if not more, just for writing short articles like this. And I'm not even taking into account the fact that read.cash makes it easy for you to get direct sponsors on the site where you take in 90% and read.cash gets 10%.

You could even have specific community funds. Imagine if the read.cash TV & Film community became a hot place to go for film lovers to see what everyone's watching. Why wouldn't movie studios pay to place ads on the articles posted to that community, a significant portion of which can be paid back to the members.

Sure there are people today who successfully monetize their Instagram and YouTube accounts. But those people are few and far between, and I'm guessing that 99.999% of users don't earn a dime. Most of the profits earned by those sites go to pay their employees, their overhead, their shareholders. But because read.cash is built on Bitcoin Cash, it allows for a new business model where every user can be a profit participant on the platform. Because we're not just users, we're members.

And this is just the beginning. Because the site is built on Bitcoin Cash, I predict the cheap, fast, and reliable transactions made possible with BCH will allow for new features we haven't even considered yet.

But first we need to grow this community. I believe we have a huge opportunity here to do something that's never been done, but in order to reach such heights we need to start by making the read.cash experience a unique value proposition.

We do this by first creating and curating good content. Stop wasting your time trying to earn a few pennies by spamming articles or writing useless comments. Stop trying to game the system with upvoting rings and getting your account flagged. And if you do see someone that appears to be abusing the system, flag them or use the downvote button because those aren't the kind of people we want dominating the read.cash culture.

I'm sure this article is going to rub some people the wrong way, but in my eyes if you're not adding value, you're taking it away, and if those people outnumber the ones that are contributing by writing thoughtful articles, or reading articles and helping to curate good content, we're never going to reach millions of users.

Speaking of thoughtful articles, the other day I came across this article by @Myt.24 and he said something that I thought perfectly encapsulated what I've been thinking. He wrote:

"So,Β let's learn the basic way of socializing.Β 'Coz that's how this platform works."

I think he hit the nail on the head. Who wants to go to a party where everyone is trying to talk just to get their literal 2 cents in? Who wants to attend a party where the only reason people are there is because they hope to make a few pennies for stopping by?

Let's make read.cash a place that people come to because you can find others who share your interests, where people engage with one another like real human beings, where you can get constructive feedback, or encouragement, or make new discoveries, all while making a profit at the same time. But also don't be afraid to spread some of that profit around. I'm not going to tell you what to do, but I would love to see people tipping one another left and right for articles they enjoyed, even if it's just a few cents, because it would spread that enthusiasm and excitement of what it's like to earn your first BCH.

Like Myt.24 said, let's learn the basic way of socializing, cuz that's how this platform works. Even though our real world seems to be falling apart all around us, that doesn't mean we can't build a better, global, digital community right here on read.cash. One that is more giving, more thoughtful, and more rewarding.

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of Cain
empty
empty
empty

114
$ 1.16
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.06 from @Dangerous_Fly
$ 0.03 from @Omar
+ 5
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for sharing sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Socializing here in read cash can help those people who have an Introvert personality. At least we help them to express their thoughts and emotion even it is virtual. It is helpful also because we help them not by physical but the benefits of Technology.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Read cash is a great platform. Specially for new commers whon want to earn from online Its can be a good opportunity for everyone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

read cash is a platform that help all of its member in its community. I think this platform would be a great help in developing oneself and the other. A community where you gain new information, knowledge and even a profit. This article clearly states the function and goal of read cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like shaking hands and social distancing? Sometimes we are not allowed to talk or say something.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, although I am confused. I still love read cash and can't stop using it even without points. I will stay and keep writing and still do basic socializing 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello sir. I am not really good in socializing even in real life. Well virtually maybe 65%. I am not really good in english. Sorry. "Of course that doesn't mean we can't one day compete with those communities, but in order to even have a chance to grow to those levels, we need to stop thinking small and start thinking big." This statement caught my attention. Yes, this platform have a really big potential, I am looking forward for its future because it has very big future as a community of writers. This is a very advantage to all users because everyone earns here but in a right way. Unlike other communities only few ears those who are famous earn more. Here even small and silent writer can share and earn. It is very unique. It's future will be recognize by many people and writers as well as the BCH.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know what your native language is, but this site supports just about every language, and nothing is stopping you from writing in whatever language makes you feel most comfortable and marketing the site to people in your country. For me, I just like writing so I started writing here when there were less than 10 users with the hope that I can help bring more users. I'd love to see read.cash become popular in many different countries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow sir. So amazing you been here since readcash just started. Wow! I've been become a user here maybe weeks, via invite of friend and I also invite friends in our country and my friends I invited also invited their friends too. It creates a domino effect. I am continually sharing this. Nice knowing you sir @Cain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I'm speechless. If I read this on my 1st-3rd day here in Read.Cash, I'd probably be hurt and leave the platform. But thankfully after seeing people enjoying and commenting on my articles, telling it helped them, motivated them and even love the movie I'm reviewing, it made me happy that someone can appreciate my work. Recently, I learned to love talking to the users about their articles and their lives. I'm glad I realized that this platform is more than something where you write earn a penny. And I hope others will start too. Read.Cash is such a great community over all, too great I felt guilty taking it for granted on my first few days here. I hope your article would touch a lot of user's minds and hearts. Thank you so much for the effort you did.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Glad you weren't hurt! I like to think I'm saying these things thinking of everyone's best interest on this site =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you're not wrong for some. And thank you for speaking out to tell others. Also I didn't expect the upvote. Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course yes, the thinking about our points shouldn't be one thing we should care more about in the platform. Although , it might be some of us our mean of survival as of now but I think as your article clearly suggest we should put the development of the platform first . I always comments on the article or comments of people that seem not to add value to the content because creating quality contents can be the only good way to help the community because I think quality contents is what will attract more people to Join and even cause them to invest or donate their money

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always worth reading. I really enjoy every single one of your articles. Helps me a lot. The influence you give me in every article is unbelievable. This message should be read by all readcash users. I will encourage this in my short post. Hope everyone listens.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

I'll love this platform, I don't know what I'm saying. I can't stop using it even with or without points because this is how I love this site.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

It means that it is okey in read cash to have a movie review. I hope otaku soon will Invade Read Cash and starting writing articles related to the anime. I can't wait it..

$ 0.25
3 years ago

Some articles here are very helpful to are daily lives. Just keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Mr.cain can u help me to reach this community? And invite otaku friends here to read cash.

https://read.cash/@Hiecho/anime-community-7ba2a9b3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well stated, read.cash is indeed a gift with the opportunity to earn from being active. Imagine something like facebook you people always very active on iit daily, posting contents and pictures and all thereby consuming their data and getting nothingg back iin return but i believe if we invest that amount of time into read.cash we would definitely grow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi sir I been using read.cash for more than one month. And this past few days I really didn't receive higher points like others but even tho it's happened I didn't stop here, I am still here and still proud of being here in this site, your right that we need to create our brand name. This platform a have a big future. And I am happy if I am being part of it in future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well said everything you said is true and accurate :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe that our platform have a great future ahead and the ones who complain about few cents aren't here to help in the growth of the platform, that are just chasing few bucks despite using that time to argue about points they could definitely build their brand and with that creating a passive income for life, those one must wake up and learn how to succeed!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes!! This is perfect avenue for people like me, interested in things with value. I think this is a good reminder to continue do the best of writing article that helps to encourage everyone and learn to live life in a beautiful platform like read.cash, lets get it on. Thank you for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi sir @cain, this is my 6th day here in the platform and all I can is it has good future, even some of us here are not real writer including me they still pay me. I like the way you think in this post this is really Inspiring to read especially for new user like me. You are since from the start and now the user still running 11,000 users, wow , it's really great platform, I want to make a brand here where viewers want to come here because they want to see it not because they just want to earn.

I hope I can do better here and make a name like you and other big user here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've said a lot, but I've noted just one point and I think I'll take my chances on that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imagine if the read.cash TV & Film community became a hot place to go for film lovers to see what everyone's watching. Why wouldn't movie studios pay to place ads on the articles posted to that community, a significant portion of which can be paid back to the members.

Exactly... The more people engage, the more it is to be part of something big. IF that happens, advertisers who are willing to pay more will be advertising in this platform. We all need to think what we can contribute for the future because it will eventually benefit us all.. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being on read.cash for almost 6 weeks, I found joy in writing again. I feel like socializing here is much better that on the actual social media sites.

Honestly, when I wake up and use my phone, first thing I do is visit my brave browser and check read.cash. I'm glad I was able to join this platform. Even if there are a lot of changes, it's okay. I enjoy what I do and for me, that's what matters most. 😊

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Yeah the people need to understand. If read cash becomes very popular we the members will be on the gaining side. We can get the exposure we need in our different businesses so they should stop complaining about points. By the way I'm a graphic designer, feel free to patronise me😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if there's still people in Steemit after the fork.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. 😱 Did I read it right? Did you just mention me in your article?? What an honor to be mentioned by you... Thank you very much for that. πŸ™

$ 0.10
3 years ago

READ CASH IS BEST PLATEFORM FOR NEWS AND REVENUE

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I discovered readcash three weeks ago and I didnt focus actually on gaining more since I know there are lot of users in this platform. But the fact that I meet and talk to diverse people here and share the same thoughts, ideas and beliefs is more than enough. I learned as I read interesting articles and always thinking that points are just a token of appreciation of being here and appreciating the platform. I hope that read.cash community will grow for future.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

That's what i always said that read.cash is not an earning site. instead it is a Learning site😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well said, i don't bother checking the points either, however I do think read.cash should try not to punish good writers along with bad actors in future updates. It's like punishing all your kids when one does something bad in an attempt to make all of them good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am socializing over 10 hours a day here. I leave comments to encourage people, help them to write better. I upvote those and tip writers who deserve it. I do think big but you know what? I am punished for it and as a thank you I lose my rights on what I write. It doesn't sound very social to me. All those I follow I read, comment but did it bring me something? I don't mean points but some engagement, social aspects, appreciation? I never been on Reddit and I do not care about it. I joined this platform because I like to write, because they told me it would be a platform for good writers. Just like what happened on Steemit by what is Hive now good writers are not wanted, appreciated.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I don't understand exactly who are you against with, and for what. You really are a committed person, but have some anger issues. I also am fucked up in many aspects, but seriously, chill a bit, this is a voluntary platform.
I don't understand what is your quarrel.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The quarrel is about upvote cricles. Those I upvote are punished for it and if I receive an upvote those people are punished too. Why? Because according to the bot we join an upvote circle. This means it's pointless to follow those you think are good writers, you are not allowed to upvote them because they are good.

You may call this anger issues I call this injustice. I am the last person on this platform who let herself buy by others, who says what people like to hear and will not give and upvote if it's not deserved.

Yes, I do have issues with this rewarding system. I do invest and volunteer a lot on this platform and I do not like to be accused of something which isn't true. You don't need to like me, I don't need to like you but if you write something good, no matter if it's a comment or article, I will reward you. These days are over. πŸ’•πŸ€

$ 0.10
3 years ago

What has read.cash replied to you when you messaged them about this?

I mean, I believe you follow your own mind and heart. So if read.cash has the bot saying that, they really shall look into it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

100% correct

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was perfectly what i was thinking about! Why not keep improving as a writer here and have some patience? in return when this platform become more popular you will be earning good if not great amounts from it. Then you will feel like you hard work is finally paying off.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used readcash for 6 weeks I think, it comes to a point that I want to quit here, not because of the points but with some emotional decision but then I miss it and I back, the points is nothing compared to the bondings that we experienced here. I always comment to different article that I am related and I write an article that I love and I want to share with other. I am happy when they like it and they commented. My boring life in our house makes exciting because everyday I learned different ideas here. An inspirational article regarding your self , parenting, lovelife and many more. A science matters from @Hanzell , I love that! A different face of poem from @eybyoung , a photography of @aminul and a worth to read article of @dangerous_fly that I always wait on my notification 😊 There are more writers here that I love and through this platform I lessen my usage of facebook πŸ˜…

$ 0.10
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oh my, I'm surprised to be mentioned as one of the daily things that make your day πŸ˜… I'm happy you enjoy my science facts every now and then ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! because I love science :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Weldon sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dude this is so accurate. I've been an user for a week now and already brought my two friends here. I want to see read.cash grow as big as reddit in context of platform. And the paragraph where you pointed out that you'll always choose the platform who gives a few cents for writing short article rather than a platform which gives you nothing. I feel the same. And believe me, it's just not me. Other people too think the same and that exact idea is going to bring tons of people to this community. Once enough users are on board, we'll definitely get sponsors which will to better interface and what not. It'll take time but it will happen for sure ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please can you elaborate on steem?, I don't know about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Building a perfect community helps to foster unity and strengthen ties as well. I have invited some friends here. Sharing the links through other social media platforms and im getting positive results though it's not that an expected one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sir for sharing this, you enlightened me enough to do more about writing my travel articles here in read.cash Complaining or bothering about gaining more points instead im writing more about my travels to share with all people here in read.cash, in that way and in a little way I make them enjoy the beautiful places I've been to and they can also get relax looking beautiful places here in my hometown

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Accurate

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For some reasons, this is pretty much 1000% accurate for most people here. And I guess that's one reason why somehow, people are complaining about the new point system. And according to what I read the other day, from read.cash's short post, many a ton of users where emailing them complaining as to why they were not receiving "enough" points. I just hope that people would understand what read.cash really is. So much so, new users would understand as well what the site really is and what kind of users are here. Socialization I think is not the right term but it's the fruitful interaction of the users that engages with the authors' articles here and I guess that is enough so much so, it will not be saturated with "nonsense" words or articles. I don't know. I'll be with read.cash, with you and the authors I follow, whether or not I write articles or even earn for a day. Thank @cain. I just hope this would get people to understand what this is about. ❀️

$ 0.10
3 years ago