Regretfully Yours

17 44
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I wish it never happened. I wish I had never met her. I wished I never did. I wish I never said. If only I could turn back time.

Have you once done something bad in the past that still lingers in your mind? Have you met a person before who turns out to be a mistake and still haunts you?

In the past we have experienced bad situations be it failure or mistake. Sometimes these circumstances are still flashing in our minds that we wish it should be erased in our memory.

https://unsplash.com/photos/BXOXnQ26B7o

We wished to go back in time to correct the error so that we will not have this feeling of regret.

Today’s post I will talk about regrets although I have searched here for some posts about it but I wanted to make my own version.

Regretfully Yours

Before I started writing this, I read some of their posts and it appears that almost all of them have regrets about the things that they have done wrong. Few regret the things they have not done.

A month ago, I posted  Mistakes And Misery article in which I talked about failures. The time that I was experiencing terrible things in my life because of my own actions. I regretted it because it hurt my parents feelings and was a shame for my relatives and friends.

Things like that can’t just erase in our memory. Even if we have forgotten about them it will flash again when we see things in the present that will remind us of the past.

However as we became older, we realized that we should not always regret the things we have done. We should also regret the things we have not done. 

For example, acquiring a driver license in PH these days can cost you more than $200. But in the past it only cost less than $20. So I regretted that I ignored my privilege to own one 15 years ago.

If only I had done it in the past, I would not be disappointed in acquiring a license to drive four months ago. No, I don’t have a car yet but if BCH would give me a very great opportunity then why not purchase one for business.

Another thing was, I really wanted to have a masters degree and I regretted that until now I am still not enrolled. Last year in February, I went to a University and enrolled myself for Masters of Business Management. I have already submitted my TOR and some other requirements and then they gave me my class schedule. Unfortunately this COVID came and locked us down in March 2020. So, all my hopes of finishing a masters degree are gone.

You see, it’s not only that we should regret the things we have done. But why should we regret the things we have not done when we can still do it while we live. We can still correct those mistakes while we still have time on earth.

https://unsplash.com/photos/rmKkZqnVtk4

Regret only makes our life miserable. It is a negative emotion and we should not let those negativity control us. There is more to live than living with regret, remorse and disappointments.

When I am kind of feeling paranoid about something like my conscience is killing me, I sometimes think, what if our brains could be reset. Just like mobile devices which can be reset to its factory settings when it’s internal memory becomes crowded with unnecessary cache. Or like hard drives and flash drives that can be formatted so that we can erase all the information we want to remove.

In a sense human brains and PC/Mobile phone memory disks are similar but humans have conscience and computers don’t have that. So they don’t recognize regrets but they have the undo command.

Can you regret a circumstance even if you are not involved in the situation?

Yes, of course. If the action is unintentional or was not done on purpose. For example a person jumps on a rail then was hit by a fast train. The driver will not be responsible for his death. Remember that trains already have their own way of travelling and it’s only foolish to be hit by a moving train. However the driver may still feel regret about the death of the person.

But mostly the regrets we feel are not really regrets. It's all remorse. You must not be confused. We can regret things even if we are not responsible for the actions done but if we feel responsible for what had happened then that is we feel remorse.

Most of our mistakes we regret actually are feelings of remorse and disappointment. But neither regret nor remorse felt, we learned lessons to improve ourselves and move on.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

The Free Unlimited Browsing Technique

Is It Luck Or Just A Result

We Are All Successful

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, thank you.

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Aron Visuals

Annie Spratt

13
$ 15.11
$ 14.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @marblely
+ 5
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I had a lot of things that I regret in my life and some of it were the mistakes and failures and also some are the opportunities that I did not grab. But there was really that one incident in my life that I really regret and you are righr, I cannot erase it on my mind. Even with the effects of anaesthesia, I can still remember it. But the happy moments that I have spent with someone has slowly fade. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know regretting is such a huge waste of time, and it brings nothing but negative feelings, still, I can't stop thinking of the 'what ifs'.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should accept our mistakes rather than regretting on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes regrets can make our life miserable but we must change it into positivity. We must don't give up but continue to reach the highest paths in life.

God bless you Bjorn..🙏❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dear, more important is we fight to survive and live life to the fullest. keep safe. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Bjorn. Keep fighting!💪❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only time I've regretted things is when I didn’t listen to my guts. The rest are lessons and I am grateful for those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

life is a never ending learning process, those lessons are what shapes us as a human being.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course,some things we wish had never happened might be so difficult to erase, because they'll always be there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always there, a part of every peoples lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right Bjorn. We could regret the things, that we have not done. When we missed out on a great opportunity, that will not come back anymore. We say this boat is gone! Opportunities are always there, but big ones are not so often. Great article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

precisely. But opportunities come and go. we just have to be wise enough for the big ones.

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"We wished to go back in time to correct the error so that we will not have this feeling of regret" I felt that. Lol. I've been wanting to go back in time when I met someone who loved me so much but then I just make him miserable. I want to go back and choose not to get close to him so I would not feel this guilt inside of me. It's been haunting me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only thing we can do is to accept the fact that it happened then move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. I guess that's our last resort, to move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your getting a driver's license is quite an expensive regret. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, definitely the most expensive regret in my life. I never expected that the small piece of PVC card could cost that much. almost 15K 😬

$ 0.01
2 years ago