Pretend: Good Or Bad

17 43
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I found this article in my drive while I was scanning some old photos. I am not sure if I have used this post already in other platform but I feel not. 

The title was "Pretend" and the date modified was April 3, 2020. I open the document file and read. So I decided to edit and add more words to make it more lengthy.  

Life is not easy, it is not hard either. Our choices make it hard or easy to live the life we want.

Happiness is a way of life and tough times always coincide with this. We can’t always live a happy life. Challenges and sufferings are ingredients of life in order for us to survive in this world full of hatred and love. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/oTweoxMKdkA

On the other hand, no matter how cruel life is, there is always a bit of joy along the way.

Sometimes when we are used to living the dark side of our life, we pretend not to be happy even if you feel it.

There are also people who, for the rest of their lives, are living happily, pretending not to be sad during tough times.

https://unsplash.com/photos/ww9DO6PsTBE

Pretend – there are several ways of dealing with it. It depends on the person how he/she will act upon every situation that needs pretending.

There has been a quote and I forgot who the author of this line was. This quote is really not that famous.

“The greatest challenge in life is

the challenge to be a good pretender.”

The word pretend does not always need to have a bad connotation. It doesn’t need to be associated with fakes and lies either.

Nevertheless, there’s a danger in pretending if it was used improperly or at the wrong moment.

https://unsplash.com/photos/taQV2u1JM_4

For example, dealing with our kids in some areas of parenting. Sometimes we play with our children and pretend like we are kids. We also do some role playing and pretend like something or someone else.

If we want to ignore a person coming our way, we pretend we don’t see him. For whatever reasons we just keep pretending even if the person is aware that you are ignoring him. More like of avoiding the person.

When does pretending becomes a lie? For example you don’t want to go to work for some reason and you will tell your boss that you are sick even if you are not. You will pretend to be sick. During my younger years, I was like this. I admit that I make excuses not to come to work because I have to date a girl.

https://unsplash.com/photos/2mF-yTUmC5Q

Sometimes we pretend to love a person just to save a relationship, in other words letting go of a person whom you love the most is hard so you will just pretend that you don’t love the person.

There are people who are just good at pretending. You can never see in their faces what they feel. They can be happy to look at but with greatest sadness inside.

A person who is already immune to pain and suffering may always pretend that they are good. Maybe because they don't want their family members not to feel lonely.

We can always practice pretending and it doesn’t always mean that pretending is faking or lying. There is always a good reason to pretend.

How about you, are you good at pretending? When was the last time you pretended? Did you do it for good or bad? Share it in the comment below. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

He Was Lost With His Post

Listen: Do You Want To Know a Secret

Masculinity

Everything Is Relative

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Brooke Cagle

R.D. Smith

arash payam

Austin Pacheco

14
$ 25.40
$ 24.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
+ 6
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko 4 Sisters and a Wedding sa pretending. Dahil sa charades game nila. Hehehe. Pero in reality mas marami na yung nagppretend who they are not. #fake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I commend myself for being a greatt pretender. Like in one specific aspect, I pretend well about what I feel. I think, we all are naman. Especially if ayaw natin magworry ang loved ones natin hehe. But people should know that may limitation ang pagpepretend. Sometimes, sa sobrang pagconsider natin sa ibang tao, nakakalimutan na ntin iprioritize ang sarili natin. Do not always pretend. It is better to be true to others and to ourselves as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretending is I think something that has been learned by people since birth. It is not taught yet we are so good at it. Even no one told us to be secretive of how we feel, we are so pretentious in acting okay even we are not, because it is our way to not burden the ones we love. I can't remember the exact time I did pretend, but maybe it was when I pretended I haven't been notified for a messenger chat, when in reality I just let it be stuck in the inbox, because I don't know the right response.Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and the funny thing about kids crying was that they pretend to cry just to get noticed. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! I don't like certain crybabies po. 😂 I mean those noisy when they cry! Yung palahaw talaga! Lalo pag malaki laki na. Kurutin ko pa singit eh. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in my college days, I'm really good at pretending. Pretending to be happy in front of my friends, classmates, board mates and even to teachers where in fact I'm hurting inside. I even laugh loudly with them as if I don't have this pain inside me for them not to notice that I'm in pain and to fool myself too that I'm happy when the truth is I'm not. So, with that I must say, that I was once a great pretender too. Actually I made an article of that entitled "I hide my Pain with a Smile" https://read.cash/@Janz/i-hide-my-pain-with-a-smile-4104ca32

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One time i was so lonely then I tried to pretend that i was not but it just don't work out..

checking for your post. thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I guess it makes you to be worst instead, because in my case I’ve been into psychological breakdown because of that, so it’s not really helping if we continue to pretend as if were okay, we should at least tell someone about our pain sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan ang tao gusto takasan ang realidad ng buhay kaya mas prefer na mag pretend na masaya kahut hindi namin. Ako minsan , akalain masaya pero sa totoo lang pagod na at nawawalan ng pag asa. Kaya minsan mas mabuti na mag pretend na masaya kasi kahit papano makakalimutan yung nga problema. Haayys

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sinubukan ko mag pretend minsan ng masaya kahit sa loob hindi pero di ko kinaya haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One time nakaya ko po. Kasama ko mga friend ko nun. Bale gusto ko takasan problema sa bahay. Pero nung pauwi na ko, ayun balik na naman ulit sa sad. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magaling ako magtago ng problema, nakangiti ako pero sa isip ko san kaya ako kukuha ng pambayad sa ganito😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, buti ka pa magaling sa ganyan... ako hindi e, magaling lng mag pretend kapag ayaw ko pansinin ang taong di ko gusto haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, klngan lalo kasama ko anak ko di pwede maglungkot-lungkutan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good pretender ako when it comes to love when I was a student lol 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aysus... di ko alam kung madali o mahirap mahalin ang taong ganyan haha.🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahhahahahahahaha muset 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago