Masculinity

27 51
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Men have different ways of how to become a man

How do you define a man? What does it take to become a man?

I will tackle the characteristics of a man in today's topic as I myself is one of human male species.

https://unsplash.com/photos/wKOKidNT14w

I just find it interesting to talk about it because I can’t find any related articles about male, man or masculinity posted here on read.cash. I found one article that was posted eight months ago but it seemed that the post was a copy-paste article. 

I might not be perfect in describing a man because even I myself can’t completely explore the physical capabilities of my body. I am not sure if after all these years, I might have hidden talent in me that is just waiting to be discovered.

When I was just a kid my mother would always remind me to avoid vices when I grow up. However, my father used to go home drunk and sometimes would hang out at home with his friends even if there was no occasion. They would drink up to midnight but there was no incident of messing up from one of his friends. Father knew how to pick a person to befriend.

https://unsplash.com/photos/a4GyFMh5FCw

Yes father had vices like drinking and smoking.  My mother also told me that he used to gamble when I was just an infant. Unfortunately I never saw him gamble once when I was starting to have my intuition.

Somehow I think to myself, are those really needed to become a man? You know one characteristic of a typical adult male in PH particularly in the provinces is the habit of drinking even if they lack finances.

Yes my parents are not rich and I always mention in some of my posts that I was born poor. But my father was rich with friends and almost all the people who have motorcycles in our place knew him because he grew up in the street and he is a mechanic. So father almost always drinking free of charge because his friends paid the liquors. But I'm not really sure, perhaps he might have gave his share too.

Does having so many male friends make a man?

https://unsplash.com/photos/tysecUm5HJA

When I was in high school one of my classmates urged me to join a fraternity because he just joined and was initiated recently. I asked him what will I get if I join a fraternity? He answered that frat members will help me in times of trouble. Then if I don't join, no one would like to be friends with me. I am an introverted person and clumsy though sometimes naughty during my younger years, and I just said to him, that’s okay, I can live with no friends at all. I still have my brother and sisters. 

I graduated college and earned a lot of friends, most of them are frat members but I still did not join nor even attempted to join. 

Back in the 90’s fraternity groups were famous. That if you are a member of such a group of frats, you are untouchable. Yes, fraternities and sororities back then were eminent. However some members tend to recruit youngsters and seem to fail to explain to them the mission and vision of their fraternity. These new recruits seemed to feel like, heck, I’m a frat member, I’m a real man. Nobody can touch me. 

Does joining a fraternity make a man?

https://unsplash.com/photos/AZMmUy2qL6A

I have nothing against these fraternities, in fact I admire one frat group in our place. They have this kind of community service every Sunday. They would go round the area with cleaning materials on their hands. They would sweep the streets and gather all those dirt and put them in sacks to be ready for pick up when the garbage truck would roam around.

I started drinking and smoking during the last semester of my college years. No one teaches me. Every college student is curious about what it feels like to have alcohol and smoke inside his body. No wonder that a lot of college students fail because of these curiosities. Worst was that some were fatal and some girls got raped. Seriously, the moment I became sober, I felt like I was a real man. Yes I am no longer innocent. But seriously, drinking just bring me almost to hell. 

In my post Mistakes And Misery, I mentioned how alcohol has given me so much pain. Not only me but my parents especially my mother felt like she was in agony.

But what does it really take to be a man?

In my own perspective and based on my own experience, raising a family is one attribute of a real man. To become a responsible parent and become a good role model for your kids makes a real man. Respect begets respect, that makes a man. It doesn’t really mean that you become a saint in order to be a man.

https://unsplash.com/photos/dUP2G2ZxvNA

You don’t need to build muscle to become a man, you need not have to have a tattoo either just to be called a man. You don't need a lot of money and girls too to become a man.

Real men face their fears. Real men fall into tears.

*Wala naman siguro maghahamon ng suntokan sakin dito,haha. Anyway these are just ways of thinking. We can look at things differently. As long as we don’t harm one another then we are good.

If you find some words that you feel uncomfortable with in this post, please let me know in the comment section so we can talk. Who knows, we might enjoy beer together someday.

I know some of you are tired of reading my stories about real life experiences. But you must understand that we are in a blogging platform and mine is more of my personal life blogging. It is just good to know that some are inspired and motivated with some of the stories I share. At least they can relate. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Everything Is Relative

It's Not What You Think

Mistakes And Misery

The Homemakers

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Brooke Cagle

Jubaied Munna

Papaioannou Kostas

Norbert Buduczki

Kimson Doan

14
$ 24.22
$ 23.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to your experienced of drinking alcohol .Some are good and some are bad haha.. Yan ang nagagawa ng alak . But those times being drunk taught me a lot of lessons about life and many more. When I'm drunk I can express every single bit of emotions that are continously consuming me. I cry when I'm drunk especially when talking about personal things and I also cry when I'm not drunk. It's not that bad to cry , it's just a proof that I'm a human and I'm alive.. Nakakataba kasi ang pag inom hahaha😂some are hiyang and some are not.lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have so many lesson learned from drinking and I'm kind of done with that. Kapag nagkakapamilya ka na kasi magbabago na ang mga bagay bagay. But I still drink, only occasionally. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last paragraph 💣 I don't know where I have heard or saw it but there was a line that real men wear pink.

Independence day naman. Yung iba feeling nila lalaking lalaki sila if marami silang girls. May naalala lang ako. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may nakita rin ako sticker sa car dati, real men don't wear tinted.

o baka nagkukubli sila sa mga girls ng totoo nila kulay haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very well said kyah. Madali maging ama pero mahirap magpakatatay. That's my definition of being a real man. Yung kaya mo maging mabuting tao at maging responsable sa pamilya mo. may mga kilala kong kagagandang lalaki tas nang abanduna ng pamilya. (g n g ako)char haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha.. kalma lang.. hayaan mo sila, hayaan mo sila na mag habol syo. chorot 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'Yung mga lalaki sa amin na ka-edad ko po o mas matanda lang o mas bata sa akin ng mga ilang taon lang, laging nagyoyosi at nagbubulakbol. Habang ako, tamang taong bahay lang haha. Yes po, tama po kayo. /Respect begets respect, that makes a man. It doesn’t really mean that you become a saint in order to be a man./

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sabi nga, do good, look good, feel good. That makes a man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you have shared is all true and I would agree to it. I mean I am a woman and I don't put high standards to men. I look up men who do good did and positive outlook in life, and men in vices is not attractive to me, even men with abs or have great muscles. I appreciate men who are not afraid to show their emotions and not afraid to be judge. I could define real men the way they treat us -women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, indeed. Thanks for your views.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do agree to you. Well, there's nothing wrong with drinking, joining frats, having tats and so on and so forth but what isn't right sometimes are the society's view regarding those things.

With or without those, you guys can be real man as long as you're being a nice citizen, a role model, a man of value and principles, a good provider to his family (of ever that they have one).

*just my opinion. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes truth.. gumalaw lang ng tama.. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yep. Just don't mind the society coz they'll say what they wanna say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could not think of any physical attributes of a man. As long as you are born biologically as a man, think as a man, then you're good. No need for muscles, or that 'macho' image, they all fade when old age comes.

The best way to prove though is how a mam respects a girl. We all know it. When you don't know how to respect a girl, don't even think you are enough as a man. Period.

Don't worry sir, personal experiences make this blogs unique to each other. People like me likes to learn from articles out of personal experiences, because we get to realistically learn from them. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed. I remember my father would always said, respect all women that you met. Respect begets respect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The society we live in, if you don't have a girlfriend you are not a man. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah!! that's kind of frustrating dude. 😂 thanks for reading anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite deep and practical. I enjoyed reading it, brother.

Indeed, muscles, frats, drinking and smoking doesn't make a man in fact, they sometimes make a fool of a man.

You have rightly said it and I would say that responsibility makes a man. You made mention of having a family and all. Yes. A man is a man who knows his responsibilities then gives himself to fulfilling them alongside his dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the support bro... keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem, at all. Thank you, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, kuya! I'm not tired of reading your stories.

What makes a man man? Real men wear pink 😉😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yay.. avid fan as always.. my pleasure. 👏😊

Haven't tried wearing one. hehe.. I'm gonna try buying pink shirt one of these days, I think its kind of cool 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gorabels, kuya hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A man here, But not sure of being real haha charoot lang,

Yeah raising a family made a guy a fully man at all. Wlang masama sa lahat ng nabanggit mo bro. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yow Men. No big deal. 😁

Thanks for the support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihih Your welcome bro😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago