Finding Me

18 42
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

How many times do you look into the mirror in a day? Are you self conscious? Are you talking to yourself when you look in the mirror?

There are people, mostly girls who just can’t resist looking at anything that reflects aside from mirrors. Forgive me ladies but some men do that too. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/C44h1ZmlFF0

I have heard girls commenting about mirrors saying,

I’m kind of beautiful in this mirror, it tells the truth.

Funny it may seem but I'm sure you experience that too. You know sometimes when you go to the mall or go to a friend's house then you use the washroom. You may even spend more minutes staring at your perfection in front of the mirror. 

At home we have one mirror attached to the closet, one small one in the bathroom, another small one hanging in the kitchen, exclusively for my wife's usage only, (laughs). Then another small mirror she requested to attached beside the window.

I used to look at our mirrors only when combing my hair after taking a bath and shaving my moustache and beard. When I was in my teenage years I didn't want to see my face in the mirror having acne and blackheads.  Although my skin face is not that sensitive to air dirt, I have thick skin (laughs).

Bjorn Identity

https://unsplash.com/photos/mnYSDdwunVY

Seriously when you look at the mirror, do you sometimes tend to look at your inner self? Aside from seeing the reflection of your physical identity, do you see your personality in the reflection? Well if you do, you are very good at knowing yourself I guess. 

A person’s character and personality often reflects in our words and actions. We can not literally see it in the mirror or on any surface that has the ability to reflect images. Sometimes it can be seen in other peoples deeds.

If we want to look at our inner self, we need not have to look in the mirror. On the contrary we can look at it with our eyes closed. Mirrors don’t tell us about who we are. If we want to know more about ourselves we do not use the mirrors. Knowing our inner self is to know our purpose, goals and beliefs. 

When you look into the mirror, what Identity do you see? Do you see yourself as an engineer, a doctor, a writer or as an A-hole? We may have so many identities but mirrors can’t tell whether you are a good person or not. 

We have different types of friends. For example, in my early 20’s I had three groups of friends that I used to hang out with. The first circle of friends I have was more like adventurous people. They like mountain climbing and always wanted to go out swimming in the beach and rivers and falls. The next group of friends was more of a music enthusiast. I was in a teenage rock band so I kind of hang out with them playing our favorite metal music in different places in our area. The third circle of friends was more like nocturnal who used to go out at night and sleep during the day.

https://unsplash.com/photos/ZDUXvlyU_iI

So I have had different identities for these groups of friends. I was an adventurer in the first group and a heavy metal  in the next group then a party goer in the other group. But when I looked in the mirror, I didn't see any of those identities. I only saw my physical identity. A guy with a firm jawline and large mole on the right side of my forehead near the ear.

In every identity we have a set of purpose and beliefs. However your inner self can’t be identified by any of the identities you have. Every person is unique, that is why no two people have the same exact fingerprint. 

I am a father to my kids, a husband to my wife, a brother to my siblings, a friend to anyone close to me and or a storyteller to my readers. Those are just titles and I can be more than that. The real me is a person who can not be identified by these labels. 

Soul Searching

https://unsplash.com/photos/1bjsASjhfkE

At some point in your life when things don't seem to turn out right, have you tried pausing for a while and looked at yourself in the mirror? Have you tried communicating to yourself in front of it? For sure you don't do that. It's kind of awkward. 

Searching for our inner self is a lifelong process. For example myself, even at this very moment I still don’t know who I really am. I’m still searching for meanings and answers to all the questions about life. But somehow as I grew older there are things that lead me to knowing my inner self

If you are asking about your purpose in life then you are starting your way to know yourself. What are your beliefs and values? What motivates you? Our passion, our visions and aspirations are the things that lead us to knowing ourselves. In the same manner if we keep on learning and ask questions then we are also making way to know ourselves. 

In other words we should have self awareness. As we grow older our minds get broader because we learn a lot of things. You also know what you want and what you need. You will get more control of yourself. You become more self-aware.

I wanted to tackle more things about this but I don’t want you to get bored. Or just maybe you have been really bored reading my post talking about life experiences. Anyway I have to end this post and continue at some other time. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

The Why's And How's And What if's

Rules: Obey And Disobey

We Learn To Live

Overkill

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic CryptoBabe CryptoMax 

scottcbusiness FrieLincs JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Taylor Smith

benjamin lehman

Kind and CuriousKind and Curious

Michael Dziedzic

Resource:

Personal Excellence

12
$ 10.34
$ 9.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nice one Kuya Lars! Parang mas napalawak mo pa yung reflection article ko. Hehe. Yung bang hindi ko maexplain eh mas naexplain mo. 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe, siguro kasi graduate ako ng education,, kaso di naman nag tuturo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We usually look in the mirror just to see how we look and whether we look good or bad before we leave the house. When we are walking and we see our reflection it is more of the same, it can be said that it is something we do for vanity. But in the end, we don't look at ourselves, we don't stop to see our inner self and what we really are. It is as you say in your example of your two personalities when you are in different groups, it is like getting up and saying today I want to be the adventurer or I will be that person. Many people, and I include myself, very rarely look in the mirror and say nice things to themselves, everything is to criticize ourselves, that if we have hair like this, that if I got a pimple, that if I have a big nose, that if I have a big nose. I think that if we would change our dialogue with ourselves it would be different and instead of falling into an existential crisis of who I am, be what we really are, noses, bad hair and stop counting. greetings

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Agreeing on the "life-long process part". Experiencing existential crisis most of the time, and to be honest it's stressful always looking for yourself. In that we tend to overlook the joys in life that make our lives meaningful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Food for thought, I do like looing in the mirror though haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for whatever reasons... 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With or without mirror, I always reflect and think of what I am. I can sometimes call it existential crisis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know that. thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, kambal mo pala si Papa P kasi may nunal din sya sa right side ng eyes nya..hehe I only look at the mirror when I prick those white heads on my nose😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mine is buhay na buhay. sabi nga nila. matigas daw ulo. yong iba naman matalino. haha whatever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do find myself without over obsessing or becoming self-absorbed about it. I reflect by understanding the world I'm in and the people who surround me. I don't have a mirror in the house though. Not needed :D I don't talk to people anyway :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you know that when you take a selfie you are mirroring? Just a trivia. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what is selfie, kuya? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Girls be like: Mirror, mirror on the wall, who's the fairest of them all? 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah. It's Cinderella. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think Finding one's self is a lifetime process. We can only evaluate our inner self when we try to uncover those masks we put on as identities in front of different people. I usually do this alone, through a prayer, without distractions. It is a healthy activity, too, soul-searching.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, indeed. it really is a life long process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago