Overkill

17 46
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Today I will share a short story about a forgotten relationship. This is not a romantic love story with two people living between continents. Not a long distance relationship either.

I will post this in plain text as I wanted you to take more attention. 

The story happened only recently and it is not only about relationships, it has something to do with the current system with the Philippine government and some people serving the government.

I kept thinking to myself if I'm going to share this because I don’t want some of my fellow Pinoy to hate me for this or some read.cash users from other countries would be disappointed about the system with some government agencies.

Let’s name the woman Joy (not real name). Her son and my son are classmates in Junior high and even in grade school.  She was an OFW and was separated for quite a long time.

The kids were kind of close friends because they were classmates for a couple of years now so my wife and Joy became friends. In short they are kind comfortable with each other telling secrets and some personal problems. 

Last week Joy told my wife that she has been chatting with a European guy. She told my wife everything like they were having a conversation for two months talking about life and everything. And that they were talking over the phone and she sent him her ugliest photo but it looks fine with the guy. 

Do I sound like a gossiper here? Wife was telling the whole story until the end of it all which you may raise your eyebrow at the end of the story. I’m sharing this to you because as a Filipino citizen I felt embarrassed by the actions made by those corrupt people in the position. 

So it appears that both parties were good and planning for the future. The guy has one child also and was divorced, according to Joy. 

To make the story short, last Tuesday (June 15) the guy went to the Philippines to see Joy. She always tells my wife for every update of their current status. The guy arrived at NAIA 3 at 2PM said to Joy. I told my wife to just let them have some time.

By 6PM Joy sent a chat to my wife and wanted her to go with Joy at the terminal because the guy was held by Bureau of Custom officers at the terminal. He was questioned about his purpose in traveling to the Philippines. 

So I let her go with joy and when she gets to the terminal I keep checking her for any unexpected circumstances. 

Here is the whole story my wife told me when she gets home at 11PM on Tuesday night.

The guy is a businessman and was about to go home to Europe from UAE but dropped by the country to see and met Joy personally. The reason he was held by the Customs was that he was carrying a huge amount of money and some blank checks. The guy told the Customs official about his purpose in travelling to the PH but they won't believe him. So they told the guy to call someone he knew and ask to come over so they would know the real reason for him to travel here in our country.  

The BC officials won’t let him go until the guy would give money amounting to 31, 000 Pesos. So when Joy arrived, she explained everything but was devastated because the BC officials were asking money for no reason just to let the guy go. In the end the guy gave the BC officers more like 600 bucks. So they let him go.

My wife met the guy and she told me how he looks. Yes, he was good looking but I am more good looking than him, my wife explained (me clears throat two times). The guy looked drained and starving. Imagine the tension with BC officers inside the airport. 

My wife didn’t dare to talk to him, she cares about her nose bleeding (laughs) but she can understand that guy who was saying to Joy like,

I hate your country. If you will be my wife you should not live here.” 

Then he gave Joy a hundred dollars for their transport fare going home and the guy went straight to the hotel. 

 The next morning Joy sent a message to my wife saying the guy wont answer her calls or reply to her chat. Then the next hour she told my wife that the guy replied like, “Do not pretend or do not expect anymore.” And only this afternoon my wife told me that Joy said the guy completely flew back home. He was so disappointed and hated the Philippines for what he had experienced at the airport. Then forget all about what was between him and Joy. 

Upon knowing the whole story, I felt so sorry for Joy and ashamed at the same time for what the BC officers have done. I wanted to rant here but I guess I will just need your opinion. You know, the personality of the guy and how he treated Joy and the action done by our fellow Filipino who was supposed to be our role model. Please share your views in comment so we can interact. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Corporal Punishment

Color It Black

Smile Was Enough As Gift

Forget About Your Girlfriend But Not Your Wallet Password

Pretend: Good Or Bad

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source


8
$ 17.17
$ 16.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 2
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Bakit kaya noh? When we can choose to do good things, pero bakit yung iba hindi kaya? Bakit yung iba nanamantala? I just hated the system, the people involves, and the greed. Fvck them! May they rot in hell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganon talaga siguro kapag nakakaita ng malaking halaga ng pera ang ibang tao. Madali silang masilaw dito without realizing na nasasalalim sa kanila ang imahe ng mga kakabayan nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Urgh!!! System sucks. Ito yung moments na kinahihiya ko kapwa ko pilipino eh. Lala talaga ng korapsyon sa bansa, kaya di tayo naunlad eh. Haynaku.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes and the worst part is that kahit isa lang may error damay yong iba sa kabaluktutan nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Graaaaabe! Hindi na talaga mawawala yang mga ganyang sistema pero siguro kahit papano nalessen ngayon but still iba talaga. Kaya hindi na tayo umaasenso dahil sila lang mga nasa posisyon umaasenso eh. Hindi sa nilalahat ko sila kasi meron pa din namang ibang matitino. Nalungkot tuloy ako para kay Joy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

damay damay talaga kahit mga gumagawa ng mabuti. pati magandang kapalaran ni Joy doon sa guy, naglahong parang bula. ang masama na generalize ng guy yong judgment nya kaso ngyari na e, tsk. 🙁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These kind of scenarios are not new to us, Kuya. It's just that there are many people either from our country or outside who are being disappointed from it. Maybe we are just good for travel matters (as we have many tourists attractions here) but in other aspects? We are really bad and lacking. And, it saddens me that instead of improving those things, it seems like being more and more poor as days passes by. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes walang problema sa mga tao. sistema ang my problema.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Upon reading this I feel sorry for ma'am joy and nakakahiya yung mga yun na taga BC. The foreign guy should file a case against them. They deserve to be put behind bars. and also to get rid of those kind of Officials in BC .🙁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakakalungkot lang.. nakakahiya sa part ko, parang ako ang nahiya don sa tao kasi ganon yong trato sa kanya ng mga taga BC.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako nga din po parang nahiya din po ako..Kac parang ewan naman ung mga taga Bc na igaganon yung taong inosente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry for Joy. This story is actually similar to the problems faced by countries which are yet to be developed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed, one thing that saddens me here was that the impression to the country where I live was disappointing to him and it was like in general even if the case is isolated one. I couldn't blame him for what he feels, I mean what if it happened to you or me going other country with this kind of circumstance. I would feel the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me this is the major issues a citizen of underdeveloped country faces. I live in Pakistan and we face these culprits here too. And not only here but our neighbors India and Bangladesh have also these types of corrupt people who become the reason of defamation of country. Hate those guys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess even the most developed country has corruption because it became their business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True

$ 0.00
2 years ago